We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Hotel Astor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great choice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Picked this hotel for its convenience to all of the main attractions of Pisa and easy walking distances. A good choice for a no frills value for money hotel.
Would stay there again!
Great location.
Clean rooms.
Helpful staff

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    36
    57
    25
    26
See reviews for
32
73
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Pros-
1) Near to train station
2) Cheap

Cons-
1) Internet is not available in rooms. You have to come out in lobby.
2) Mosquitos in room
3) English staff was not available during night. Communication problem.
4) Room was small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Unwittingly we arrived in Pisa at a busy time so relied on the Tourist Information Office to find us a room for the night. Having tried the more popular places, they booked us into Hotel Astor, a 2 star hotel not too far from the station. Our room was on the ground floor and both the bedroom and bathroom were very small. Functional but not a problem for one night, but we wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer. The room was clean and quiet. No breakfast is included in the price, but there are plenty of places nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pawl tat-Targa, null, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I start by saying that we booked this hotel in April for a 3 day stay in september but when we arrived they only booked 1 twin room when we were a group of 10. We had to spend the first night 8 in a room of 4. The next day we were given another 2 twin rooms without a bathroom when we had paid for rooms with bathrooms. The cherry on the cake came when we went to settle the bill because they refused to give us the refund for the rooms we had paid for (which had to have bathrooms). Instead of apologizing for the mistake which was entirely theirs they said that they were doing us a favor by giving us 2 twin rooms. please stay away from this hotel we did not expect luxury because we know that we did not pay for it but at least a bed on which to sleep yes.

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The place is conveniently situated very close to the old city center, 15 minutes walking from the Tower. Coming by car, you can enter the closed center without being fined by giving the reception your car plate after the check in.
We stood in a 4 beds room with 2 small children. It was simple but well equipped, with a perfect shower, air conditioning and TV. The stay was quiet, nice and completely hassle free.
They have a small bar, where I got (for free) some warm milk in the evening for my 2 years old child. Breakfast is nothing special (croissant, coffee, milk) but very cheap (you pay only what you actually take, we spent 5 € for 3 croissant and 2 coffees. We had a problem with our car in the morning, and the man at reception was helpful and very, very kind (and also very patient and sweet with the tired and getting-nervous children...). Surely this will be my place next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked a quadruple room for a family of four through Easy To Book for a one night stay before we flew home the next morning. It seems either the hotel never got the confirmation or just double booked. Either way our room was not available. To be fair they did their best to accommodate us in two doubles (not connecting or even next to each other) and reduced the rate to something approaching our original deal...not ideal having to have a child each in bed with us in seperate rooms on our last night in Tuscany though.
As for the hotel....looks modern enough and the reception area is ok. The rooms are a little tired to say the least though. One of our rooms (109) had very unreliable air conditioning (took an age to get it to work and then woken up in the middle of the night by loud clanking sound, so turned off)...2 of the 3 electrical sockets were hanging off the wall in a dangerous manner and the private bathroom down the corridor had a leaky toilet and a shower door that fell off with ease. The other bedroom (107) gave off a bad smell....think it was coming from the bathroom but cant be sure.
On the plus side, decent location for airport, station and Duomo/Leaning Tower within resonable walking distance. Staff were friendly enough and the complimentary beer for the mix up was most welcome on a 40 degree day!
In short...I'd book elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I had an excellent week away in Italy in July & would recommend the Hotel Astor as an ideal place to stay. We spent seven nights there & we were very well looked after. Its location is very close to the town centre & only a couple of minutes walk to all the restaurants and shops. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful in giving advice on where to eat and places to visit & the wifi in the hotel was most helpful too. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Astor to anyone looking to stay in Pisa. Many thanks

Matt & Sarah, Belfast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#15 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#33 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#43 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#17 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring Pisa
Hotel Touring Pisa
#31 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.