We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Hotel Astor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked a quadruple room for a family of four through Easy To Book for a one night stay before we flew home the next morning. It seems either the hotel never got the confirmation or just double booked. Either way our room was not available. To be fair they did their best to accommodate us in two doubles (not connecting or even next to each other) and reduced the rate to something approaching our original deal...not ideal having to have a child each in bed with us in seperate rooms on our last night in Tuscany though.
As for the hotel....looks modern enough and the reception area is ok. The rooms are a little tired to say the least though. One of our rooms (109) had very unreliable air conditioning (took an age to get it to work and then woken up in the middle of the night by loud clanking sound, so turned off)...2 of the 3 electrical sockets were hanging off the wall in a dangerous manner and the private bathroom down the corridor had a leaky toilet and a shower door that fell off with ease. The other bedroom (107) gave off a bad smell....think it was coming from the bathroom but cant be sure.
On the plus side, decent location for airport, station and Duomo/Leaning Tower within resonable walking distance. Staff were friendly enough and the complimentary beer for the mix up was most welcome on a 40 degree day!
In short...I'd book elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    35
    56
    24
    25
See reviews for
30
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My girlfriend and I had an excellent week away in Italy in July & would recommend the Hotel Astor as an ideal place to stay. We spent seven nights there & we were very well looked after. Its location is very close to the town centre & only a couple of minutes walk to all the restaurants and shops. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful in giving advice on where to eat and places to visit & the wifi in the hotel was most helpful too. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Astor to anyone looking to stay in Pisa. Many thanks

Matt & Sarah, Belfast

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel was ok. The cleanness should been better both in the sleeping room and at the bath/ shower. Service was ok. We had just little contakt, and that was ok. Just 10 minutes to walk to railway station. It was also easy to walk over the brigde and follow the streat to the tower, ca 10-15 min to walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Comfortable central hotel easy walk from station and pleasant walk to the tower. Staff friendly and english speaking. Restaurants nearby, parking is ok in street.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed only one night in this hotel and we found it very clean, with a nice bathroom. The room was equipped with mini LCD TV, hair drier, soaps, shower gels, telephone. They accepted out late arrival.
As drawbacks: bad view on the window, no free Wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked directly through the hotel back in August for a one night stay in October, the booking was confirmed via email.

Upon arrival, the front desk staff told us that there was no room for us as they have got the date wrong (expecting us a day before we were due to arrive). However, the front desk staff was not sounding apologetic at all and was very rude to us, asking us to 'go stay somewhere else', he even had the door open asking us to leave!

I suspect they double booked themselves and was refusing to take any responsibilities. Definitely worst then terrible. BEWARE travellers, book somewhere else as this is a scam!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal76s, Direttore at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Even if the book was made in the wrong day,we have placed clients in a hotel (3 stars, same property) at the same price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel was basic, the stuff was helpful, the location was good- however the rooms were a bit small and weren't tidied that often by the staff. In my opinion, Astor Hotel is alright for travellers who wonder around during the day, however I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people who would go to Pisa to relax and would prefer spending some more time in the hotel. To be honest the prices were quite low in relation to other hotels in this area, so what you give is what you get!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.