We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Astor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Craiova, Romania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Clean, modern enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed only one night in this hotel and we found it very clean, with a nice bathroom. The room was equipped with mini LCD TV, hair drier, soaps, shower gels, telephone. They accepted out late arrival.
As drawbacks: bad view on the window, no free Wifi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    51
    19
    24
See reviews for
26
61
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked directly through the hotel back in August for a one night stay in October, the booking was confirmed via email.

Upon arrival, the front desk staff told us that there was no room for us as they have got the date wrong (expecting us a day before we were due to arrive). However, the front desk staff was not sounding apologetic at all and was very rude to us, asking us to 'go stay somewhere else', he even had the door open asking us to leave!

I suspect they double booked themselves and was refusing to take any responsibilities. Definitely worst then terrible. BEWARE travellers, book somewhere else as this is a scam!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sal76s, Direttore at Hotel Astor, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
Even if the book was made in the wrong day,we have placed clients in a hotel (3 stars, same property) at the same price!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel was basic, the stuff was helpful, the location was good- however the rooms were a bit small and weren't tidied that often by the staff. In my opinion, Astor Hotel is alright for travellers who wonder around during the day, however I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people who would go to Pisa to relax and would prefer spending some more time in the hotel. To be honest the prices were quite low in relation to other hotels in this area, so what you give is what you get!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, Ca. USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have no major complaints, just not a very exciting or charming place to stay. We arrived in Pisa at 11PM (having notified the hotel several weeks in advance) and there was someone there to greet us. The room was fine - a bit dingy but clean enough. The location is very good - about midway between the tower and the train station, easy walk to both if you have a map. I would not stay there if I planned to be in Pisa more than one night however. I've stayed in much nicer two stars: from my experience the stars are more about price and services than about quality or the experience you have.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Basic Budget hotel - clean with absolutely no frills but needed a quick overnight stay without booking so for us was perfect. Wouldn't recommend longer than one night. Very helpful reception staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Typically a budget hotel, rooms are a bit dull and a few things don't work i.e the TV and bed side lights. We had a double room with a shared bathroom (2 single beds pushed together). Air conditioning works well, shared bathroom is a bit grim as it is a toilet / shower wet room. Only 2 per floor i think, and one of them you had to hold the shower head. Its clean and close to the centre of Pisa and its main attractions, also walking distance (even with a heavy backpack) from the station.
The owner recommended a wonderful local restaurant to us, and it was fantastic local cuisine.
OK for one night on a budget.

Room Tip: Pay extra for private bathroom if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011 via mobile

I'm not sure what the hotel rooms are like, but we booked the apartment for 4 people and it was horrible!

To start, it's in a private building separate from the hotel. Then, it looks like there were renovations made to the room but they've been done to a very cheap and dodgy standard. For instance: there are unfinished holes in the walls and the floor is unstable and one section just next to the bed that caves in when you stand on it! Very dangerous! The furniture is very cheap also.

The nicest feature in this suite is the kitchen - which is "forbidden" to be used!! There are not even any cups. We were very unhappy about this as the advertisement specified the room as having a kitchen, and led us to believe we could have full access to it.

The location of hotel Astor is good. Within a short walk to the leaning tower. But this hotel is advertised as being 'cheap'.. and that's what it is.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni, 22, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astor 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.