We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, but you could do better in Pisa!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Milano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pietro Mascagni, 14, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cheap, but you could do better in Pisa!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just had to sleep one night in Pisa before our plane home the next day.

We chose a cheap hotel which was located near the train station, so we did'nt expect anything nice.

If you are staying here for other reasons, e.g. to explore and enjoy Pisa - then go somewhere else. The area near the train station is not the nicest (not crappy and really scary, but..), so I would reccomend a hotel more in the center of Pisa.

If you are going to stay here, avoid the ground floor. The street is noisy and it kept us from sleeping. AND, the room with a double bed and a private bathroom on th ground floor does NOT have air condition! ..which made it almost impossible to sleep.

The room it self was spacious and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a room an the second floor, less noise from the street. ASK for A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
18
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mora, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Took my daughter (21) away for a short break to Pisa. Stayed 2 nights. Booked via booking.com - I clicked in for 'Twin Room'. The hotel sent me a personal email to confirm the booking but failed to mention the type of room. I sent them two emails asking them to confirm the twin room booking. No replies. When we got there it turned out to be a double bed. My info had not been passed onto the hotel. Staff very friendly and apologetic. However in the room we discovered by ourselves that the armchair could be unfolded into a camp bed. The hotel did nothing wrong even if they could have replied to my emails or explained about the camp bed. It is on a nice street but avoid the side street between station and hotel. We saw drug deals and a heroin addict injecting into his arm. Cheap hotel and we got what we paid for in the end but it's my last ever booking with booking.com. If they are going to take bookings they need to be more specific with doubles and twins so there is no risk of a wrong booking.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

When I arrived in Pisa I didn't know what to expect but when I saw the hotel and the room I was more than satisfied. First of all, the hotel is just opposite the central railway station and the Tower of Pisa is 20 minutes far on foot, everything is near. We booked the double private room with its own bathroom. It was in excellent condition, clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff very friendly and helpful. I don't know what the other room types are like but I consider this a decent hotel and I would totally recommend it! However, be sure to inform the hotel about your arrival time because the reception is not open 24 hours.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Located a few minutes walk from the train station, this hotel was a great deal for €55/night. The staff at the desk was incredibly friendly, and took the time to explain the city map and point out the sights worth seeing. (Not an overly large list in Pisa). The room was clean and comfortable, and the shared bathroom was equally clean with good water pressure. (Shower was fairly small, so fortunately the shower head was of the handheld variety). We did have a chance to see one of the rooms with attached washroom. Unless you desperately need to have your own bathroom, it's not worth the extra cost IMO. Bedroom did have a sink and bidet. Sink was useful for getting ready in the morning... bidet not as much, however I guess it could double as a water fountain in a pinch? Since Pisa tends to be a "passing through" type destination in Italy, the hotel's proximity to the train station combined with the cost made this an excellent choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent Location as its only 2mins from the Central station. Staff is very friendly and stay was comfortable. Some rooms don't have attached bathrooms.
About 20 mins walk to the Pisa.
Breakfast was good compared to other destinations in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We booked a room for 2 adults and a child, when we arrived after 8pm (no staff after 8!) we only had 1 bed. When querying this next day, just got a shrug and "no beds for children", despite the fact some rooms do have double beds + singles. Glad we're only staying 2 nights, bit scruffy, although it is convenient for the train station, the area is a bit of a dump.
There are better hotels to be had, avoid.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
checco2110, Proprietario at Hotel Milano, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We have read your comment and we are very sorry that you have not been completly satisfied in our hotel.
We offer a variaty of rooms with private or shared bathrooms from single ones to quadruple ones. So of course we have room with 1 double beds and 1 single bed- a triple room. You have booked the most economic one , double room with shared bathroom with just one double bed as described on our expedia profile. Also as described at the moment of reservation , children under 3 years are for free in case they stay in double bed with parents in this kind of room. So we are sorry but it has been your choice.
We would be happy to give you even a free upgrade to triple room but we were fully booked those days as we explained to you.
The information about reception openening hours are well described and written also in our confirmation email.

Kind regards
Barbara and Francesco
Hotel Milano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two days and we were very satisfied. The position is perfect just few steps from train station and the city center. The staff was very friendly and room clean and comfortable. Really good value for the price, we would here stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Via Pietro Mascagni, 14, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Milano 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.