We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Save Saved
You added Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Milano
Via Pietro Mascagni, 14, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Port Elgin
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Arriving at the train station we were within walking distance to the Hotel Milano. Very close to the train station and 15-20 min walk to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. When entering the hotel you can tell that it is kept very clean and the woman at the desk was very pleasant. The only downfall is that there is no elevator. We had a room with our own bathroom and everything was very clean. Rooms are an average size and very simple so don't expect any frills for 75 euros a night. The small breakfast room had a simple continental breakfast but the staff in the hotel made your specialty coffee. I would definitely recommend this hotel - good value and clean with a great location. Thanks for the wonderful stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    27
    9
    8
See reviews for
16
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This Hotel was amazing and great value for money, Spotless was the rooms, shining floors and mirrors gleaming Huge space lovely balcony too,Shared facilities which were simply next door. The breakfast was plentiful, The lady at the front desk was so very nice, helpful too! All in all we could not fault this Lovely hotel in any way. A great Place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The owners are nice, but English ability is limited. Located conveniently to the train station and a short walk from the sights. The room is nothing special, but its a good value. There is a free breakfast, but we almost didn't go into the breakfast room because of the service counter (we thought we had to pay). There aren't many choices for breakfast, but they will make a hot beverage for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Our group of four spent our last night of a three week Italy trip in May in Pisa and chose the Hotel Milano for its proximity to the train station (we came from the Cinque Terre) and the airport. We spent most of our one day in the area on a day trip to Lucca via bus -- riding the ramparts on bicycles was great fun! On returning to Pisa, we spent a couple of hours at the Tower, etc, and then ate a good meal (large inexpensive salads and tasty pizza) at La Lupa Ghiotta, very convenient to the hotel.

The positives about our Hotel Milano experience: It was easy to make online reservations, they were quick to reply to emails, and it was inexpensive. The desk staff allowed us to leave our bags prior to check in time, saying that one of our two rooms was ready and the bags could be stored in there. Also, they arranged for a taxi reservation for early the next morning and our taxi did indeed arrive at 5am as scheduled. It was a very short ride to the airport, 5-10 minutes.

The rest of the story: I want to preface this by explaining that the four of us are accustomed to world travels, we are comfortable with small spaces and tiny bathrooms and lack of air-conditioning. We were not expecting more than an Italian one star hotel.

Our two rooms were next to the front desk, a triple and a double for use as a single. The windows were permanently closed due to proximity to the street. As a result, the rooms were stuffy and very hot, and the street noise was quite loud. The front desk attendant said the A/C for the building was not on yet (though this was the very end of May and the weather was quite hot per our Italian friends) and he did not have access to any portable fans. We sweltered and were unable to sleep.

I wish we had checked the room thoroughly upon arrival and discovered the situation with the permanently shuttered windows, and had insisted upon switching rooms at that point. As it was, we arrived back at the hotel late at night and there were no other rooms available when we discovered the problem.

Room Tip: windows do not open in two rooms next to front desk; this is a problem in non-airconditioning season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Had to make a reservation last minute while traveling around Italy.
They were quick to respond to emails, and were a great help.
Friendly staff & clean rooms.

Room Tip: *ask for room away from street*
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

We walked to the hotel from the train station. Easy to find. We stayed here for 1 night after staying in Venice and Florence. The room had just been cleaned so we were able to go straight in. It wasn't the biggest of rooms but that was because we had a double bed and a camp bed in there. We were on the ground floor so kept the shutters shut. The room and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast in the morning was coffee and prepacked croissants but ample to set you up for the day. All the staff were very friendly. The hotel locked the main door at 1am. The hotel was about 15 mins easy walk to the tower and all the other tourist attractions. The airport is about 5 mins bus ride from the station which is 2 mins from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Milano for one night in April, 2012. Many reviewers have described Milano as "OK/good for one night." I might even say that it's OK for 2 or 3 nights. It's not your "romantic holiday hideaway," but we got a quiet room, small by U.S. standards but probably average for Europe. My wife and I were comfortable and not tripping over each other. What's good: quiet, perfectly clean, plenty of hot water, large shower stall. small flat-screen TV with remote, phone, firm (quality) bed with no lumps, dips or hard spots. Very pleasant, accommodating staff. Great location: perhaps 80 meters from Pisa Centrale station and a city bus terminus (including the LAM "Rossa" line - 5 minutes to the Piazza di Miracoli -- buy your tix. in the train station -- 1.20 Euros good for 70 min.). Also, walking: about 10 minutes to the river, and another 10-12 to the Leaning Tower/Duomo/Baptistry.
Many eating options nearby, from caffes and train station snack bars to fine dining (we enjoyed La Lupa Ghiotta, via le Bonaini 113, less than a 5 minute walk from the Milano- very moderate prices, great food).
In all, we were please with our choice of Hotel Milano and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for the second floor. NOTE: 3 of the rooms have a shared bathroom. I think one room does not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
Room Service, C...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#20 of 83 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.8 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#6 of 83 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Quiet, Independ...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#29 of 83 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Indepen...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Cecile Hotel
Cecile Hotel
#40 of 83 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#10 of 83 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Quiet, City Cen...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Royal Victoria Hotel
#22 of 83 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Via Pietro Mascagni, 14, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.