We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect for one night stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Hotel Milano
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pietro Mascagni, 14, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“perfect for one night stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Milano when we stopped in Pisa to see the Leaning Tower. The staff were very helpful with directions and suggested restaurants. Since we arrived late in the day, it was handy that the hotel was just across the street from the train station, and we were able to walk to the tower from the hotel. A good breakfast was served before departing the next day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
19
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

Hotel was in perfect location, 1 minute walk from train station and easy access to town etc. People were LOVELY and very helpful. Very clean and comfortable, aircon was great for the middle of summer! definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We only stayed at Hotel Milano for one night and had minimal time actually at the hotel. It worked great to be able to walk from the airport to the hotel and from the hotel to the train station. Our room was very basic and felt clean, but don't go here if you're looking for something fancy. A decent breakfast was included with the room.

All of the staff we encountered spoke enough English to communicate with us, which helped since we didn't really know much Italian. If you're only staying one night in Pisa (which is definitely enough time there) and are a low-key traveler, this place will work fine.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

Stayed one night after flying from Paris, heading for Florence. Chose based on proximity to train station (head immediately left out of station, follow last street northward 50 m to hotel). Neighborhood seems shaky, hotel curfew late enough not be be concern given there is nothing save a few cheap restaurants around it. Clean room is typical size, great hot water and fantastic matresses and pillows (what a surprise). Staff distant but not unhelpful. Bus to Campo dei Miracoli leaves from in front of train station. No great value for money, but if you want convenience of being near train station, you could do a lot worse, I'm sure and perhaps not much better. Would look elsewhere if I were staying in Pisa for any length of time, but did not see anything to lead me to believe that such a stay would be warranted. Lucca would be where I would head if I wanted to spend 2 days relaxing before tackling Florence.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

This hotel was perfect for what we needed. We stayed one night before a morning flight from Pisa to Stuttgart. The hotel was a 2 minute walk from the train station and easy to find. The staff didn't speak much English, but were helpful all the same.

We didn't opt for the hotel breakfast, but found many good cafes very close by. Cappuccinos in Pisa were the best we had in Italy.

We would stay here again. It was a great value.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We picked the Hotel Milano for the Pisa leg of our Italian honeymoon because we wanted a basic hotel near the station (we wanted day trips in Florence and Lucca) and Hotel Milano had received recommendations on this website and in the 'Rough Guide' to Italy.

Boy, were we misled.

The hotel had a bad feeling from the moment we arrived. The porter was unfriendly and constantly grumbled, seeming most put out that we'd actually arrived a little earlier than the time of arrival we'd given.

When we got to the room it was a bit tatty, although basically fine and we thought it would be a reasonable base to explore Pisa and the area. Unfortunately, after getting ready for bed we pulled back the sheets to find a number of semen stains along with accompanying hairs on the sheets. We also found a foot-long tear in one sheet.

I got dressed and went down to the porter to explain the problem in my faltering Italian. He came up to the room, saw the sheets and then disappeared (grumbling all the time). He returned a few minutes later with new sheets and told us to make ourselves a new bed and to strip the old sheets off and throw them in the corner. He then left.

We proceeded to make our own bed but as we put the new sheets on we noticed more stains - I prefer to think that these new stains were coffee or tea but they could easily have been blood. This time my wife and I took the sheets down with us and asked for another room. He told us this wasn't possible as the hotel was full (this obviously wasn't the case) and he claimed that the marks were "ironing stains". After grumbling some more he unlocked a cupboard, handed us another set of sheets, locked the cupboard and then walked off. We took these sheets back to our room only to find they were for a single bed.

By this point it was past midnight and we were exhausted so my wife and so we stretched the sheets across the bed as well as we could and went to sleep. Unsurprisingly, we checked out from Hotel Milano first thing the next morning.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

This was a very clean hotel. The room had everything you want with good bathroom and air con(although we did not need it). Very close to the station which is great for travelling but be aware that this is not one of the best areas of town so be careful if arriving after dark. On the whole we were completely satisfied. Regarding other posts which mention the old chap on the desk . We got on with him fine having taken the advice to start off with some italian language. We left mid afternoon having left luggage with them during the day. The sign on the wall said hotel closed 1am-6am. There were 2 people negotiating to leave at 5am at the time and they seemed concerned that there wouldn't be anyone to let them out (perhaps they read previous posts) but they were assured there would be no problem. We paid 75e per night cash. The implication was that it would be more for a card.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — coming back after dark
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milano

Address: Via Pietro Mascagni, 14, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Milano 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milano Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.