We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Pisa
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a quiet area, but near to the train station. The staff was very helpful. They recommended some very good restaurants nearby. And the breakfast was very good and served outside in a lovely garden setting

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    266
    51
    10
    11
See reviews for
75
350
23
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our introduction to Italy, and it couldn't have been better. The rooms are modern and quiet and the staff is wonderful. The breakfast selection is great--we were delighted to have salami and cheese for breakfast! There also is quite an assortment of breads, pastries, cereals, yogurt, and the like--quite a spread, really. You can have an espresso or cappuccino with breakfast and even hang out a bit if you like (we each had 2 servings!) Angela is delightful, as is her daughter (did not get her name), and all the staff were cheerfully helpful and welcoming. You can get a glass or bottle of wine in the afternoon or evening and relax in the courtyard after a day of seeing the sights. We got great recommendations for dinner-a wonderful introduction to "real" Italian cuisine and atmosphere. There is a lot more to Pisa than the tower, so ask the staff for recommendations on other sights. Do Rick Steve's walk to the tower, but don't be constrained by that--explore! The Hotel is close to lots and lots of stuff, and the walking is a great experience. We never felt threatened, even at night, though there are some folks peddling their wares on the streets. Plop down at one of the bars on the street and just take it in! Or have a gelato at Piazza Garibaldi. Spend a few moments on Ponte di Mezzo watching the river and life. The Hotel is a 5-minute walk to the train station, and easy to find. If we return to Pisa, this will be our first choice! We heartily recommend it, and will refer our friends and family as well. You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

A short walk from the train station and also a short taxi to the airport. After 2 weeks on a campsite the rom € shower were welcome treats! Owners very friendly. Recommended a local restaurant that was excellent - we were too hungover to have any breakfast! In short a very god last night for our holidays.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is located on a short walking distance from the railway station, in a safe and quiet area. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the staff helpful and personal. We had a great stay and a good breakfast buffet in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very close to the Airport/train/bus stations . As soon as you go through the doors the hotel itself is amazing. Well decorated with beautiful furniture and furnishings and spotlessly clean. There had been a mix up by easy jets description of the rooms stating all rooms had a terrace/balcony which is not the case as they only have two. Pio who gave us a warm welcome on arrival informed us that they had managed to get us a balcony room We were given an early check-in at no extra cost and he provided us with a very handy street map. The room itself was very spacious with a large bathroom which again all very clean and well furnished. Our room looked over the pretty courtyard which was a bonus .The bed was very comfortable the A/C worked very well and the room was cleaned on a daily basis.The mini bar is well stocked at very reasonable prices. All rooms have electric shutters which block out the light and heat which was great. No carpets in this hotel beautiful marble and wood floorings.We ate breakfast in the lovely terraced gardens. Breakfast itself was plentiful and fresh with lots of choice. Angela who was amazing was on hand to offer you hot drinks and any information you may require.All staff were very friendly and polite and spoke very good English. We even forgot to lock our safe on occasions and left out gold rings on bedside table [silly of us] but we had nothing to worry about as all staff are very trustworthy .Many shops in the immediate area and good places to eat and only a fifteen minute walk to the main attractions. Pio and Angela were extremely helpful printing us bus/train times and recommending places to visit and eat. They are so friendly that they make you feel like a long lost relative and you feel like helping to do the washing up. We would love to return to this hotel and personally think it should be rated number 1.Its a small 16 room family run hotel and they go all out to make your stay an experience to remember. This hotel is full of character and charm much more than you would find in a chain hotel. only downside is you have to leave.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear look over the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We found this hotel an ideal option for an overnight stay en route from Pisa Airport to Florence. This independent hotel has much more character than the chain hotels, and at a more reasonable price too! Service is friendly, and the abundant complimentary breakfast buffet provided an ideal start for a day of further traveling. Only downside to note is that, as is seemingly unavoidable in Italian hotels, the double beds are really separate single mattresses pushed together.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Actually only five minutes walk from Pisa Central Railway Station a first class, fairly spacious and comfortable air-condition roomed, beautifully clean, and friendly staffed hotel. The staff were helpful and efficient. We liked the courtyard type breakfast area outside and the clean and tidy continental style help yourself breakfast counter. We also very much liked coming in after dinner (the receptionist can recommend some pleasant restaurants in the area) and enjoying a late night drink in the small but comfortable lounge area. Well done, we will certainly go back if in Pisa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.