We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. After staying in the hotel, I agree with them and think some reviewers are being too picky. The B&B rate is excellent value, our bed was very comfortable & an extra pillow was provided when requested. The hotel is very handy for the station & we did walk it with our luggage one time, but asking the hotel staff to call a taxi is easier! They recommend walking through the old town to the Leaning Tower, etc. & it was useful to see the river & other sites, but we used buses the next day, so that we could enjoy everything in the 'Field of Miracles' & ride back to the hotel. We found all the staff to be very pleasant - they remembered our room number when we came in & also our preference for breakfast beverages (tea came with a teapot & cold milk). The cold buffet had plenty of choice to suit all tastes. I particularly liked the extra seeds & nuts to add to the excellent muesli. The staff also recommended a local restaurant, 'Lo Sciacchinochi', where we dined every evening. One day we took the train to Lucca - well worth the trip. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    295
    58
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
379
26
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panaji
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I think we got upgraded to the suite, our room has a big balcony. Unfortunately, the weather didn't allow us to enjoy a cup of coffee on the balcony.
I think location is perfect, its only 5-6 minutes walk from the train station, living at this hotel and doing a up-down to Florence works out way cheaper than staying in Florence. The leaning tower is around 15 minute walk and is through a very nice pedestrian shopping street. The only reason this hotel doesn't get a 5 star rating is because they do not recycle their towels, you get a fresh towel every morning.
Breakfast was decent, nothing fancy but good nutritious food for the start of the day. The coffee is one of the best we have had,truly Italian.
There are signs everywhere which says login to wifi using social media, you can't actually login, you have to get the code from the reception.
The staff was a mixed bag, the person manning the night reception desk was okay neither rude nor welcoming. However, the staff at the breakfast are and the day reception desk were very friendly.
I will be going back to Pisa and will stay here again, it helps to stay in a quite residential area away from tourist trap.

Room Tip: If you want to go the airport, just take the train ..its a 2 euro 5 minute train ride from the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very handy for train station and airport but slightly removed from Pisa's main sights. Everything in Pisa is pretty much walk-able from HAdS's location. Room was of a high standard however the bed was two singles which kept separating and resulted in a man-sized-chasm in the middle of the bed. Reception staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was cracking - definitely a good option if you are in Pisa 1/2 nights and then hopping on!

Room Tip: I don't remember a swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Location is not ideal apart from being a few minutes to the railway station, but in a scruffy part of town. I was given the wrong room because they mixed me up with another guest (for which the receptionist blamed me, even though I handed over my passport for him to read). Asking for a wifi password produced a huff and a delay like it was a big effort. Breakfast was poor value for 9 Euros and I thought the room overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Tower is about 2km walk through pedestrian walkways. Room clean and spacious. Staff friendly, when we got back at night, the staff member seemed put out when we asked for a drink from the bar. Breakfast was continently, thank god they had English breakfast tea.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a very good value for money hotel, the airport and the station are close and the tower is walkable. Breakfast was good and the coffee was the best we had on our entire visit. I had a great big suitcase so was pleased to have a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here, Republika Srpska, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I dont normally bother doing reviews, but this hotel was so nice, so friendly, so welcoming, it deserves a mention. They could not have been more helpful and I firmly recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting the lovely town of Pisa. Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.