We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Bromborough, Merseyside
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“What a gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed on two occasions during August. Our room was very good and on our return we were even upgraded to the junior suite without asking for it. This room was truly palacial. The breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. The staff were very friendly and were always ready to help and advise. Our only gripe was the 10 euro charge per night to park our hire car. Nevertheless, I would certainly recommend this hotel to other travelers.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    270
    50
    10
    9
See reviews for
72
325
23
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived on a late flight.. The hotel was a short 11 euro ride from the airport. Good triple room very clean although aircon not great. Breakfast god buffet.. They let us leave our luggage as we headed off to see the tower which was about a 25 minute walk. Would stop here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I wanted a good hotel near the train station, which also has a bus stop direct to the airport for only 1.2 euros, since I needed to stay 3 separate nights in Pisa interspersed with train and bus trips elsewhere in Italy. This hotel is a 10 minute walk to the station and a 20-30 minute walk to the Cathedral and Leaning Tower. Of course one can take a cab or shuttle to the airport directly, if one wants. The staff are accommodating and provide all the information one needs regarding tourist matters. The breakfast is delightful , with a wide range of cheeses, cold cuts, pastries, juices and fruit, and can be taken inside or in a lovely garden setting. It's a small place with only ten or so rooms, all of which are on the 2nd floor (called 1st in Italy), accessible by elevator or stairs. There is a nice lobby with a good selection of coffee table books on Pisa, Italy, Art, etc. The rooms are quiet, very clean, hardwood floors, great A/C, and good sized bathrooms. Wireless is good and without charge. I would stay here again if I come back to Pisa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excelent hotel, walking distance to the tower. I got the special room, very very big, all in marble, it was really nice.
The staff was helpfull and they offer some parking spaces for few cars. The breakfast was good and u can sit outside.
I wish I had stayed more nights in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A lovely little hotel in close proximity to the station, shops and various eateries. We stayed in a triple room (three single beds) for one night. A very comfortable stay indeed, wish we could have stayed a little longer. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom and balcony which overlooked a small breakfast courtyard downstairs. Very helpful and friendly staff too...many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

As usual, we used TA to review where we would stay and plumped for Allesandro della spina. We stayed in Pisa for 7 nights and although after 24 hours we wondered if this was a mistake - it wasn't! Granted, not a whole bunch of stuff in Pisa except lots and lots of lovely Piazzas, cafes and restaurants. We were there early August and it was hot, 38-43 C dropping to maybe 25 at night, well by 0400 next morning. We intended to do a day trip to Florence and Siena but after going to Lucca decided it was too hot and we would do those another time. We went to Lucca twice and obviously the tower. Lucca is 20 mins by train and about €6.50 return per person. The old town is just a 5 minute walk. It is great ill do another review for that. We went out in Pisa in the morning walked about, shopped, ice creams and visited cafes, ending up at Borsa in square up from station. Back to Allesandro for siesta and back out in the evening. The hotel is B&B and breakfast in the courtyard was fine. Angela and Pio are lovely and extremely helpful. Wifi fine and as I don't do Facebook just asked for a pw. No problem and provided at reception. Air con leaked/dripped one night and we told reception. A man came out and fixed in the afternoon. It was a Saturday. We had no problems at all, shower fine, air con fine, food fine, room and bathroom very clean. All in all a great experience, thank you Angela and Pio.

One last think, do NOT go to cafe Gambrinas - it is a real rip off place on their charging. No prices displayed which should be a warning. Look elsewhere on TA for those reviews. There are lots all very bad. Be warned, don't go there. It is near station.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I highly commend this hotel to all; young, old & in between! Angela, her husband (in fact all the hosts we encountered at hotel Alessandro) are warmly, cheerfully friendly, so welcoming - the hotel itself most comfortably hospitable, picturesque, breakfast in the garden a daily delight, great value, perfect location for both exploring Pisa by foot and the region by train (as 2 minutes walk from the central station), quiet, clean - perfect. Thank you to all involved, sincere best wishes, Catherine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.