We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Excelent hotel, walking distance to the tower. I got the special room, very very big, all in marble, it was really nice.
The staff was helpfull and they offer some parking spaces for few cars. The breakfast was good and u can sit outside.
I wish I had stayed more nights in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    280
    54
    11
    11
See reviews for
75
359
24
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

A lovely little hotel in close proximity to the station, shops and various eateries. We stayed in a triple room (three single beds) for one night. A very comfortable stay indeed, wish we could have stayed a little longer. Our room was very spacious with a large bathroom and balcony which overlooked a small breakfast courtyard downstairs. Very helpful and friendly staff too...many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

As usual, we used TA to review where we would stay and plumped for Allesandro della spina. We stayed in Pisa for 7 nights and although after 24 hours we wondered if this was a mistake - it wasn't! Granted, not a whole bunch of stuff in Pisa except lots and lots of lovely Piazzas, cafes and restaurants. We were there early August and it was hot, 38-43 C dropping to maybe 25 at night, well by 0400 next morning. We intended to do a day trip to Florence and Siena but after going to Lucca decided it was too hot and we would do those another time. We went to Lucca twice and obviously the tower. Lucca is 20 mins by train and about €6.50 return per person. The old town is just a 5 minute walk. It is great ill do another review for that. We went out in Pisa in the morning walked about, shopped, ice creams and visited cafes, ending up at Borsa in square up from station. Back to Allesandro for siesta and back out in the evening. The hotel is B&B and breakfast in the courtyard was fine. Angela and Pio are lovely and extremely helpful. Wifi fine and as I don't do Facebook just asked for a pw. No problem and provided at reception. Air con leaked/dripped one night and we told reception. A man came out and fixed in the afternoon. It was a Saturday. We had no problems at all, shower fine, air con fine, food fine, room and bathroom very clean. All in all a great experience, thank you Angela and Pio.

One last think, do NOT go to cafe Gambrinas - it is a real rip off place on their charging. No prices displayed which should be a warning. Look elsewhere on TA for those reviews. There are lots all very bad. Be warned, don't go there. It is near station.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I highly commend this hotel to all; young, old & in between! Angela, her husband (in fact all the hosts we encountered at hotel Alessandro) are warmly, cheerfully friendly, so welcoming - the hotel itself most comfortably hospitable, picturesque, breakfast in the garden a daily delight, great value, perfect location for both exploring Pisa by foot and the region by train (as 2 minutes walk from the central station), quiet, clean - perfect. Thank you to all involved, sincere best wishes, Catherine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago, and thought it was nice, so I booked two rooms for three nights. The hotel is very convenient to the train station.

I'm not a fan of silk flowers, but the common areas are otherwise tastefully decorated. Our room was fine. We had a small patio, and the French doors to the patio and window in the bath let in lots of light. The room that our family friend and daughter shared was not too great. When you first entered the room there was a huge (~3 x 4 foot) stain on the hardwood floor. It definitely affected the attractiveness of the room. The one window was small, and overlooked the parking lot.

When the ladies took their showers, they discovered the reason the floor was ruined. The shower leaked profusely no matter how hard they tried to adjust the shower-head to make things better. This was stressful, and then after their showers, they had to spend quite a lot of time mopping up the floor. Obviously, because of the location of the ruined floor (just outside the bathroom), the shower has been broken for some time. They charged the same for both rooms, which seems quite unfair. When I mentioned that the shower leaks terribly, a staff member said, "Oh, we'll fix it", as if he was unaware.

Breakfast is served in a lovely courtyard. The coffee is great, and the breakfast is very good, with one exception: canned fruit. This is the only hotel in Italy during our 16 nights that didn't serve fresh fruit.

My next complaint is for TripAdvisor. They show various booking places with price comparisons for hotels, which is great. This hotel's web-site says breakfast is included. When we stayed here before, breakfast was included. But when we checked in, they asked if we were going to have breakfast, and told us there was a 7.50 euro fee. Sure enough, in very small print, at the bottom of my Booking.com receipt, it says there is a charge for breakfast.

I think to fairly compare the different booking sites, it should be apples to apples, not apples to oranges. If two of the sites show the price per room with breakfast, then the other site should also show the price with breakfast. Booking.com showed that parking was available, but said for a fee. It didn't say anywhere that I saw that there would be a fee for breakfast. For 4 people, for 3 nights, it is a 90 euro difference.

Room Tip: unless you like very flat pillows, ask for an extra pillow. two would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on recent trip to Tuscany. In total 4 nights. This is the best small hotel I have stayed at. Rooms are good size, very clean and both rooms used had air-conditioning. This is a must when you stay in Italy in July. Angela and her husband are so helpful and friendly and the next time I fly to Pisa I will definitely be booking into the Allessandro. The hotel is a short 5-10 minute drive from the airport. Close to the railway station in walking distance approximately 10 minutes stroll. Excellent breakfast. Terms bed and breakfast, no restaurant however Angela was able to recommend restaurants close by where food excellent. which were superb. Galileo and Osteria Bernardo (well worth the visit) Book this one with confidence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for one night to take in the famous Leaning Tower. You only need a half a day to do this really, so a hotel near the station was ideal. The station is very convenient for Pisa airport also, only a 5 minute trip.

The room was fine, comfortable and relaxing with free wifi and air conditioning. As others have said the wi-fi access procedure was a bit weird, but got there with a little help from reception supplying a password (perhaps this should be given out at check-in?)

But no complaints - staff very friendly, English-speaking and professional. We had a lovely breakfast in the hotel garden - really lovely for our last morning in Italy. Many thanks :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.