We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all rooms are not created equal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 82 hotels in Pisa
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“all rooms are not created equal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel a few years ago, and thought it was nice, so I booked two rooms for three nights. The hotel is very convenient to the train station.

I'm not a fan of silk flowers, but the common areas are otherwise tastefully decorated. Our room was fine. We had a small patio, and the French doors to the patio and window in the bath let in lots of light. The room that our family friend and daughter shared was not too great. When you first entered the room there was a huge (~3 x 4 foot) stain on the hardwood floor. It definitely affected the attractiveness of the room. The one window was small, and overlooked the parking lot.

When the ladies took their showers, they discovered the reason the floor was ruined. The shower leaked profusely no matter how hard they tried to adjust the shower-head to make things better. This was stressful, and then after their showers, they had to spend quite a lot of time mopping up the floor. Obviously, because of the location of the ruined floor (just outside the bathroom), the shower has been broken for some time. They charged the same for both rooms, which seems quite unfair. When I mentioned that the shower leaks terribly, a staff member said, "Oh, we'll fix it", as if he was unaware.

Breakfast is served in a lovely courtyard. The coffee is great, and the breakfast is very good, with one exception: canned fruit. This is the only hotel in Italy during our 16 nights that didn't serve fresh fruit.

My next complaint is for TripAdvisor. They show various booking places with price comparisons for hotels, which is great. This hotel's web-site says breakfast is included. When we stayed here before, breakfast was included. But when we checked in, they asked if we were going to have breakfast, and told us there was a 7.50 euro fee. Sure enough, in very small print, at the bottom of my Booking.com receipt, it says there is a charge for breakfast.

I think to fairly compare the different booking sites, it should be apples to apples, not apples to oranges. If two of the sites show the price per room with breakfast, then the other site should also show the price with breakfast. Booking.com showed that parking was available, but said for a fee. It didn't say anywhere that I saw that there would be a fee for breakfast. For 4 people, for 3 nights, it is a 90 euro difference.

Room Tip: unless you like very flat pillows, ask for an extra pillow. two would be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    256
    45
    10
    10
See reviews for
74
333
23
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on recent trip to Tuscany. In total 4 nights. This is the best small hotel I have stayed at. Rooms are good size, very clean and both rooms used had air-conditioning. This is a must when you stay in Italy in July. Angela and her husband are so helpful and friendly and the next time I fly to Pisa I will definitely be booking into the Allessandro. The hotel is a short 5-10 minute drive from the airport. Close to the railway station in walking distance approximately 10 minutes stroll. Excellent breakfast. Terms bed and breakfast, no restaurant however Angela was able to recommend restaurants close by where food excellent. which were superb. Galileo and Osteria Bernardo (well worth the visit) Book this one with confidence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for one night to take in the famous Leaning Tower. You only need a half a day to do this really, so a hotel near the station was ideal. The station is very convenient for Pisa airport also, only a 5 minute trip.

The room was fine, comfortable and relaxing with free wifi and air conditioning. As others have said the wi-fi access procedure was a bit weird, but got there with a little help from reception supplying a password (perhaps this should be given out at check-in?)

But no complaints - staff very friendly, English-speaking and professional. We had a lovely breakfast in the hotel garden - really lovely for our last morning in Italy. Many thanks :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Less than 5 mins from the main railway station is this delightful hotel. Very friendly staff. Very nice breakfast of cereals, croissants, cakes, fresh fruit, cheese, salami, yogurts and an assortment of hot and cold beverages. Lovely little patio to enjoy breakfast too. We had a spacious triple bedded room which was very clean and comfortable. Modern, large shower room with plenty of fresh towels. Could have walked back to the station to catch the bus to the airport but the hotel offered a shuttle service @ €4.50 pp which was very convenient if a little pricey for the 5 min journey to drive 1.5 km but I don't know if the hotel set that price or the taxi company did. Either way it got us there in a jiffy right outside the departures entrance. One thing I would say was that the air conditioning unit in the bedroom would not go any lower than 19 degrees which for myself and my family was a little too warm to sleep well. But apart from that I would wholeheartedly recommend this cute hotel to all.

Room Tip: No tips just ask for what you need when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is our fourth review of this delightful hotel and the lovely Pio & Angela, read our past comments, nothing changes. Have now experienced Pisa in the bitterly cold weather in January and the hot, hot weather in July - a city to explore at any time of year - a wonderful base to explore the whole area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My sister and I stayed here four days.
The good things
* Close to train station.
* Clean and quiet (where we were).
* Front desk was extremely helpful with train schedules, and even suggestions on which days to go (some towns 'shut down' on Sunday).
* it seemed very quick to the Tower for us, because the path was along a major shopping street, and we love to shop. We came in the back side of the Tower (I think) and avoided the bulk of vendors selling wares in the Field of Miracles area.
* The hotel was close to a great pizza place and tons of 'cheap' shopping places (i.e., questionable if those 'Made in Italy' tags can be believed)....if you like that sort of thing!
* Breakfast was overall good - fresh coffee/espresso; juices, ham, salami, cheeses, fresh hard rolls, etc. Only complaint was canned fruit - but it was better than no fruit at all.
* Mini bar had good beverages at a reasonable price, and good wine was available at the front desk.
* Taxi is about 11 euro to the airport.

The not-so-good
* In the heat of July, the a/c was not really effective, and the hotel management would turn it off while we were gone (we left it on) so we always came back to a very warm room. The device was set into the entry area, and so a wall blocked the air from fully circulating. Also, the thermostat only let us set the a/c to a certain point. I'll admit to being spoiled by my a/c at home, but I needed it a couple more degrees cool to sleep really well. Besides, if it had ever reached the set temp, it would have cycled off (I am assuming - I've seen similar machines in Italy and they cycle on and off).
* Our last night, the a/c seemed to quit altogether. Nothing but warm air blowing in the morning.

Overall, I'd say average to very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

From the minute we arrived we felt welcomed, Angela couldn't have been friendlier and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and a decent size, particularly the bathroom which are often very small. It had air-con and Wi-Fi which was no problem to access with a user name and passcode from reception. Breakfast was perfectly adequate with the usual selection you'd expect and there was an outside area to eat in. It is very convenient for the station, the only downside is the area looks a bit run-down but the hotel is fine. We were given a map and recommendations of where to eat and able to leave luggage after checking out. Very reasonable rates for the standard and enjoyed staying here very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.