We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night and it was brilliant. Although the location of this hotel seemed a bit seedy it was in fact in an area with a few good restaurants near by, close to the station (less than 10 min walk with cases) and convenient for shopping and the tower. The staff were superb helping us with walking maps and restaurant recommendation. The room itself was clean and spacious. We had a really nice breakfast on the terrace outside. The only traffic noise we heard was during the morning rush hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony1Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of this hotel seemed a bit seedy to us.(but convenient to shopping, tower, and airport.) However, the staff was superb - helping us with walking maps and transportation to the airport. The room itself was clean and spacious, and the bathroom was fabulous by Italian standards!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunedin34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and I can say without hesitation it was brilliant in any way.
It is situated 500m to the train station, about 20min walk to the Tower going through the Centre of the Town and very close to the airport. ( cost going to the Hotel by taxi was 10 Euro, going to the Airport 7.50 Euro ) The place is clean, quite and the owners are very polite and helpful. You can see they care a lot. there are a few good restaurants near by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is very close to the train station. It did not feel like a dodgy area. The room was fairly large, and spotlessly clean. The sound insulation in the room left a lot to be desired, so you can hear a lot of noise from the street and the hallway. We had a big gap under the door into the room, so you could hear people talking int the hallway like they were inside the room, and there was light leaking in under the door in the night. The shower cabinet was very wobbly, and it flooded the floor. Their internet connectivity was good, but they require you to give some apps permissions to link to your social media accounts. Friendly staff, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frode N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is off the beaten track, but close to the train station and airport. The staff was excellent.
The room was average in size and the bathroom was large and clean. From the location of the hotel you can take a liesurely walk to the leaning tower in less than 30 minutes. The walk take you through the shopping district including the central market. I would recommend this hotel if you plan to spend one or two nights in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Exceptionally friendly staff, we were there for three nights and they gave us recommendations for three excellent restaurants. Located off the main road the hotel was relaxing place to stay. The centre of Pisa is easy walking distance away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is charming. It it spotlessly clean and the owners couldn't do enough for us. Our room was quite small with a large bathroom. Shower was good and everything kept clean and shining. Our only poor mark is for the hand towels - they were more like table napkins and not at all absorbent! Hair drying was a challenge, especially with long hair! Suggest the hotel considers changing these for proper towels! Location was not bad - near to the station but a 15 min walk from the historic area. The area around the hotel was a bit run down but we did find one nice restaurant about 3-4 minutes walk away. Would certainly recommend the hotel to others for a short break in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Pisabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 2,105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#7 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#19 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing