We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“It is average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Three stars as it is a three star hotel and it certainly feels like one. My parter booked it as a romantic getaway as that is what the pictures and reviews suggested. Sadly, it is not the case. Our room was very bare, had lots of dust on various objects and it felt so dusty that I had to keep the window open, despite winter. Lamp shades were stained, the view of the broken wall opposite the room was sad and so were the plastic flowers in the corner of the room. To be fair, tha staff was lovely, breakfast was decent and the location, right next to the train station is good. It is an OK hotel and if you need a quick stopover, it might be handy. Just do not expect a luxurious villa/old romantic mansion and you will be fine. I just need something cleaner and prettier for the price I am paying.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    295
    60
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
384
26
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel was ideal for us. Staff were really friendly and looked after our bags after checkout (we had a later flight). Decent breakfast selection. Hotel and rooms were fairly modern and clean. We walked from the airport to this hotel in about 10-15 minutes. Train station is under 5 minutes walk away. The leaning tower is about 20-25 minutes walk away. Our only issue was that the double bed was 2 singles pushed together on a slippy floor, so I nearly fell down the gap a couple of times. It's a minor issue however and I'd happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frampton Cotterell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a fantastic find this little hotel was.
When I booked the hotel it was number 4 in Pisa, now number 1 and well deserved.
Rooms spacious, staff very friendly, breakfast excellent.
The hotel and rooms were very clean.
Great experience you won't be disappointed!!!!!
what more can I say.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

By far the friendliest hotel staff we've meet on our trip around Italy, clean hotel with a homey feel, room and toilet are spacey, clean, well equipped and everything is functional. Make this hotel your only pick if you are visiting Pisa

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is our first time at this hotel and it was a brilliant experience all the staff were very friendly but a special note has to be made to Angela and Pio they exceeded expectations the room was spacious clean the bed was comfortable the breakfast was just right to get you going for the day the location was good close to airport ,train station its a great hotel for visiting the city by walking and also a good base for going further afield if you go to Pisa this should be the first hotel you look at to book

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This if the first time we have stayed with Angela and Pio in the winter, our previous visits have been in July - they have a wonderful hotel at any time of year. Our only complaint - we only stayed for 9 nights. Once again our thanks to a lovely couple and their excellent, friendly staff, we look forward to returning. xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qc
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A lovely discovery in Pisa center - near the airport (5 min by car) and the train station (10 min by foot).
For the price (we paid 60 eur for 2 people, including breakfast, Wifi in the room), it's a deal! We stayed at 4* hotels in Florence and Rome that were very poor compared to this luxury 3 *.

Rooms and bathroom are very large, well furnished, well equiped. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: If possible, don't take the 101, or 102... room. They are on the side of the street, and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.