We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That's a relatively good deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Pisa
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“That's a relatively good deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is small hotel with extremely friendly staff; it is locate close to the train station where you are likely to arrive either by train or bus from the airport or from any other Italian city. This location is convenient since it avoids you walking a lot with the luggage or having to take a taxi. Pisa is a rather small town and it takes 15-20 minutes to walk to the Duomo and the Tower. Indeed this is a nice walk. The rooms are big and rather remodeled. However, the big bed is made of two mattresses which makes this a bit uncomfortable when moving from one side to the other. The bathroom is clean although in our room it was extremely difficult to regulate the temperature of the shower; the tap was kind of blocked. Internet is free although connecting to the network is a bit involves as you have to go through a social network such as facebook or twitter; this I did not like. Finally, breakfast is reasonable, coffee is very good, this is Italy!

Room Tip: Check first the type of bed and make sure the temperature regulator in the shower works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    284
    55
    11
    11
See reviews for
77
366
24
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights early November 12' . Hotel spotlessly clean, spacious rooms and lovely bathroom. Hotel staff extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Good location for station and for getting about generally. Would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Spent 1 night here great location was able to walk from airport in about 15mins. Our room108 was a nice size and had balcony. Bathroom was very spacious. Buffet style breakfast staff friendly and helpful with directions. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights, our room was spacious and spotless. Staff are really lovely, especially the blonde lady on reception and at breakfast ( which is the usual array, buffet style, but with good freshly- made- to- order coffee). It's close to the station, but it has to be said that the road the hotel is in, and those between it and the station ( ie to the south) are decidedly shabby.On the other hand, it is very handy if you want to travel to Lucca, Florence etc by train. Bus station is only a short walk away, and to get across the river to the Field of Miracles is a very pleasant stroll up the main shopping streets. Pisa doesn't have the style of Florence,Venice or Rome, it seems to need some TLC in places, but there are loads of cheap flights and is a good base for a short break. Would stay in this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night with a group of 14 upon our arrival in Italy. The hotel is conveniently located near the train station and the airport and still just a short walk away from the major sites of Pisa. Most of our rooms weren't ready when we arrived but the front desk allowed us to put our luggage in one room and we had a place to freshen up a bit before venturing out into the city. They also gave us a great recommendation for a nearby restaurant for lunch for our group! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated and breakfast was decent with excellent cappuccino! The shower was a bit challenging to keep from getting water all over the floor but bathrooms were great otherwise!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not far from the station, this hotel has large modern spacious rooms in an old mansion style house. The bathroom was also large and spotlessly clean.Try breakfast outside on the terrace if weather permits. The food was good and the staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We flew into Pisa and stayed one night prior to traveling to Cinque Terre in June. The Hotel Alessandro della Spina was perfect for us. We arrived rather late, but the man at the desk was warm and friendly. He checked us in quickly, and helped direct us to a nearby cafe for a late snack.

The hotel is older (like most everything in Italy!), but perfectly clean and very, very comfortable. One of the reasons we picked this hotel was because it had air conditioning, and we were glad we had the option.

The breakfast buffet had a lot of variety, and was quite lovely and tasty. Also - if the weather is nice, you can sit outside on the very pretty patio. It is a wonderful way to start the day!

The hotel was also extremely convenient to the train station, which was helpful. Although we only stayed one night, I could easily recommend it for more than that. It was also quite a good value.

We didn't visit the leaning tower on this trip, but have been there before and its actually quite worthwhile! Definitely go to the ticket counter when you first arrive so you can get the next available ticket to walk up the tower. On busy days it can be an hour or two before a ticket is available. There are other things to see while you wait like the Baptistery, Il Duomo and a really interesting "cemetary". It is inside of an old partially restored building with some beautiful sarcophogi...our 12 year old daughter absolutely loved touring around and seeing the various images and stories portrayed on them.

All in all, Pisa is worth a short visit and this hotel is a great option while you are there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.