We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alessandro della Spina to your Saves list
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was top of trip advisor's list and also for location and close proximity to airport/railway station.

We agree with all other reviews on trip advisor and can see why it is at the top of the list. We had a lovely room with a large ensuite. Beautifully clean and we had a good night sleep, very quiet with shutters at the windows.

The owners made us very very welcome even though we were only there for one night. We hadt breakfast outside in the sun which again was excellent.

The owners gave us advice and directions for the next part of our journey and looked after our cases whilst we visited the sights of Pisa.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again if we return to Pisa. We are so glad we did not travel straight to Florence from the airport particularly as we had a late evening flight. We arrived within 10 minutes by taxi from the airport and felt very refreshed the next morning ready for the next leg of our short break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    296
    60
    12
    11
See reviews for
79
385
26
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Ideally placed very close to the bus and train station from the airport, yet just a short walk from the centre of town. The hotel is smart, well fitted and very well run. We had a lovely room with excellent en-suite, and a first rate breakfast. The staff were charming, helpful and very obliging. We were able to leave our luggage until the afternoon. I would recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very close to the train station. We chose it for the location. The room was basic with a nice bathroom and the room was very clean.. The room was a good size. The owners were awesome - couldn't do enough for you - helpful, friendly - just really really nice. The breakfast was lovely. The leaning tower of pisa was 30 minute walk and the airport was a 30 minute walk. Amazingly enough we walked to the airport to catch our plane. The breakfast area was great - had a nice outside area to eat as well as inside. Would recommend this hotel. Although the area that it is in is a little old we never felt unsafe. We definitely had no complaints and would stay there again. Enjoyed Pisa. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during our trip to Pisa. Lovely spacious room, very clean, very friendly staff. Breakfast was fairly basic (pastries, cereal, juices, breads etc) but very nice and we enjoyed sitting outside to enjoy each morning.

Would recommend this hotel.

Given our choice again however we wouldn't stay in Pisa, which as a place we thought was very grubby and run down. We were surprised and disappointed and after a day tip to Florence, wished we were staying there instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Slightly put off as the quickest walking route from the station has a slightly seedy air (we chose a better route after that) but the hotel itself is nice and the area wasn't as bad as first impressions in the dark.
There isn't a restaurant but the staff were really helpful and able to recommend a nearby local place that was excellent, really busy with locals and cheap (will review it too if I can find the card). They were also good about giving directions etc.
The room was spacious with a decent shower and sofa and the public areas were nice too, with a bit of character.
The coffee was the worst in our whole trip - no flavour at all - a bit like starbucks - but the rest of the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

What a wonderful way to start our trip through Tuscany! We came in very late at night at the Pisa airport, and arrived very quickly by taxi at the hotel...could be the driver was going about 90mph through Pisa, but none-the-less, we were there very quickly!

Our room was small, but comfortable and quiet. The bathroom was huge, clean and had all the necessary amenities.

The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and delicious... the Cappuccino was incredible! The service was incredibly friendly and welcoming. After breakfast, the gentleman at the desk was extremely helpful in giving us directions to see the leaning tower (a bit of a walk -- 20 minutes or so) and was nice enough to give us tips on buying our train ticket to Florence (i.e., don't bother splurging for a 1st class ticket)...the train station is a short 5 minute easy walk.

Even though we were at the hotel for a very short time, we would highly recommend it to any traveler to Pisa!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Alessandro della Spinna for one night and it was very nice. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful - giving us a map and encouraging us to go on the free walking tour of the city. The hotel is located very close to the train station.

We had the breakfast and it was simple but nice. The only thing that was annoying was the wifi which required us to log in via facebook or twitter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alessandro della Spina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.