We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm laying on my bed in room 104 now” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Capitol

Hotel Capitol
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Capitol to your Saves list
Hotel Capitol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Enrico Fermi, 13, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'm laying on my bed in room 104 now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

If you can sleep through literally anything.. you wont mind this hotel.. Came for the 2013 marathon. It has to have the thinnest walls ever... and i must be in the same room as previously written reviews as theyre not lying when they say everything shakes when the front entrance is slammed!... i thought the bathroom windows were dropping out!...As my husband was running the marathon today iv stayed in our room abit later than previous.. I decided to make the bed myself, lifting the matress to tuck blanket back under.the bed base is erm....not the nicest of things iv ever seen .. Soooo tempted to pull the sheet off and look at the matress after seeing the base but didnt as wouldnt be laying on here now... A few minutes later my hand began to itch and swell.. Id been bitten by something! Theres also the same sort of swelling on my left temple on my face. Very sore now and swollen. Wasnt going to say anything to the owner as really think.. Well.. You really do get what you pay for... But... The reason and only reason im laying on this bed here is simply because im now terrified as two cockroaches came up the plug hole in the bathroom floor and ran across the bathroom into and under the door caseing to the bedroom while im sat on the lav taking a pee!!
Going home tomorrow, im exhausted, bitten, and now mithered im going to die from these vile bite things i have on my person. ( bit of an exagguration but hey,, im a girl, flapping over bites and cockroaches) LOL
Cockroaches in December??!! Its freezing here!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    34
    17
    16
See reviews for
28
26
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Capitol for two nights. The location was in walking distance from the train station am the Leaning Tower (both about a 10 minute walk). The lobby was very nice, but the rooms are sparse. It is a three star, but unlike other three stars I have stayed in Europe, it did not have a safe in the room, or refrigerator. It did have a nice hair dryer but the shower was ever so small! There was air conditioning and the bus to the airport was a block away.

A couple of negative notes, the breakfast was very wanting with processed packaged muffins and cakes. The staff spoke little to no English, but I do not mark down for that as I am a guest in their country! The staff was friendly and accommodating when they were at the counter - which wasn't often!

We were grateful that they allowed us to store our luggage and use the lobby as we had a very late flight.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Front Desk staff did not speak English, it was very hard to communicate.
Neighborhood did not feel safe, so we tried to cancel the room, but they would not let me.
We decided not to stay anyhow.
Would NOT recommend.

Room Tip: Choose another property, or better yet, make the drive to Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good hotel if you want to spend a couple of days in Pisa. Very central, just a few minutes walk from the tower. Nice restaurants in the area. The breakfast area is very small, but the hotel has not many rooms anyway.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We hadn't heard great reviews about this hotel and were expecting the worst.

The hotel looked pretty shabby form the outside. More like a block of flats. First impressions weren't too bad but after a while we realised that the room was pretty basic to be honest. Our shower was broken and the hair drier also broke too sending electric sparks out. The heating was clunky and we couldn't control it. It was just general heating for the whole building which meant our room was freezing in the evening and boiling in the morning.

Breakfast was not good. Very limited choice, paper plates, tiny room etc.

Only some of the staff spoke English, however they were all really helpful and accommodating, booking taxi's for us and whatnot.

Location wise though, it was great. Just a 10/15 minute walk from the train station, close to the airport and just down the road from the tower. If you're only looking for a basic place to rest your head then it would do.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room as the lift only fits one person and a case and if you have two bags the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel had good parts - clean rooms (but seemed to have resident midges as i got bitten so much i ended up in pisa accident & emergency dept having antihistamine injections to soothe the huge blisters that resulted!) Staff were v. sympathetic and gave me a plug in insect repellant, but i also heard another guest say they had got bitten overnight too, so dont know if the rooms need fumigating! The walls were also paper thin and got woke up numerous times (i'm a heavy sleeper too) so had to invest in ear plugs! The location is good, the breakfast ok by continental standards, would definately not stop there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitol

Address: Via Enrico Fermi, 13, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.