We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the tower. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ariston to your Saves list
Hotel Ariston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via C. Maffi 42, Piazza Duomo, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location for the tower. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The shower wasn't closed off so the floors get quite wet. The room is simple but has all the things needed. From our window we could see the tower and people watch which was great!
I don't think they supply breakfast and it's quite far from the train station but they do have a stop right outside served by 2 buses.
A good place for staying the night and seeing Pisa

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    68
    68
    55
    38
See reviews for
47
111
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We paid £56 for a basic room with no air conditioning and stayed one night before we moved to Florence. Oh how I missed the air con! Aside from that if you expect an old fashioned hotel with more of a hostel/very tired feel to it, but right next to the tower, then you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Pay for air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went here last night to stay at the night
It is newr to the leaning tower of pisa but the proce changes to the guy at reception. At first they told us to choose a room with air condition or a room woth view for 90€(94€ for air conditioned). But later on the old guy Pierro gave us two rooms with view and air condition for 65€ each. But this is a safe place

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here only one night and from the outside this hotel is very amazing. It is right next to the square where there is the Tower. But inside it is not so nice and cosy. Our room (74) was extremly noisy. The breakfast was OK but they don't have a variaty of foods and drinks. If you want to have a healthy breakfast you have no chance for that here. Staff was also weird they were not so kind.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel this may. The location is absolutely breathtaking. Seeing the tower from our window was fantastic. You need to go knowing that the rooms are a little basic and the furniture is a little old fashioned, however this added to the rustic Italian charm for us! Lovely fluffy towels, clean room, flat screen tv (if you have spare time in such an amazing area) very helpful staff. The best hot chocolate I have ever tasted!
I would advise to pay a little more for a superior room as they have air con and have been renovated a little and request a city view when booking. I would highly recommend this hotel. I would also advise a trip Florence, it's only an hour on the train and the station is only a 20 min walk from the station.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is the closest hotel to the Leaning Tower; it is a stunning location.
The standard of room is poor, more like a cheap B&B than that which the location deserves.
One could expect the noise from outside to be loud, but unfortunately the internal noise was worse. Every door bangs, corridors echo, and your bedroom activities are are broadcast to the world!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Some say minimal is better… but in this case its not… we got a fantastic view of the leaning tower which is not even a 30 second walk. However, there is no option for a late check out as there is only the front of house gentleman working there past mid-day. Wifi is only available in the lobby. Most rooms dont have a view or balcony but for 10 Euro you get a balcony but only two rooms have views onto the leaning tower. The beds are old sponge, shower is tiny and you have let the shower run for about 10 mins before any sign of luke warm water , they don't even have ice to offer for bought drinks (lucky we had a lovely restaurant next door which kindly gave us some). The noise in the morning is not enjoyable as the noise only starts toning down in the evening at around 2 am and starts buzzing again at 7 am, even the cleaning staff are unaware of the noise they make among the cars, pedestrians and tourists. There was no A/C sow we had to sleep with the door open , which only opened with force. But to top off our one night spent at this establishment ( thank goodness), we found unidentified little creepy crawly insects sharing our spongy bed! needless to say , no thank you ever again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Ariston-Pisa, Direttore at Hotel Ariston, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
we are sorry to realize the hotel did not meet Your expectations. However, we kindly inform You of some considerations regarding Your review:
1 - chambermaids are on duty everyday till 13:00 so late check out is equal to an extra night since the room remains unavailable until the morning after. Guests are clearly informed regarding this matter not to have misunderstandings;
2 - WIFI is available only in the lobby/common areas, as stated and published: lack of WIFI in the rooms is not an issue, since Guests are informed in advance;
3 - most of our rooms have the view of the Leaning Tower, only very few rooms have also the balcony that is a complimentary additional benefit: the extra fee is only for the view;
4 - it may happen that warm water is temporarily slow to arrive because of a large use of shower at the same time: in a few minutes the whole system recovers and warm water flows again;
5 - on request, our refrigerators are efficient to cool mineral water and soft drinks available for Guests;
6 - the hotel is located 80 metres from the Leaning Tower, the entrance being along one of the main accesses to Piazza dei Miracoli and of course lots of people pass by in the street in front of the hotel towards the Tower: some live sounds are expression of the city "movida", together with the privilege of a room with direct view of the Leaning Tower; regarding cleaning staff, chamber maids start to work after 9 a.m. right not to disturb the Guests;
7 - A/C is available only during summer time, as heating system is available only during winter;
8 - all rooms are regularly inspected and a scheduled program of periodical deep cleaning is applied by the hotel: after an additional inspection by professional cleaning operators, all rooms are safe and clean.

We thank You for staying with us and for the feedback with our true apologizes for not meeting Your preferences: we are always at disposal to improve our service consequently to Guest's report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via C. Maffi 42, Piazza Duomo, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ariston 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariston Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ariston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.