We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Repubblica Marinara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Repubblica Marinara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Matteucci, angolo Via Romboli, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel was nice and clean, but felt like it was aimed at business travellers rather than holiday makers. We had to go back down to reception in order to get information about the wifi, breakfast and route into the centre rather than being provided with it at check in. The wifi was ok, air con took us a while to figure out and the room was stuffy when we arrived rather than being cool and welcoming
Room was nice and large with lovely bathroom though no view. The walk from the hotel from the centre and the square with the leaning tower doesn't take too long and takes you through the nice historic part of the city.
Would make a nice base for exploring the area by car (there isn't too much in Pisa itself)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    118
    94
    39
    13
See reviews for
53
122
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent value for money. Good sized room and well appointed bathroom, we especially appreciated the complimentary water. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Instructions for the AC/TV/Laundry etc would have been useful to avoid the need to keep asking the reception staff, even though they were never put out. We had fresh linen each day without asking and the standard of cleanliness was first class.
We would certainly place this Hotel at the top of our choices for this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We flew into Pisa to start our tour of the North of Italy and stayed at the Repubblica Marinara for one night. We decided to walk into Pisa centre for the evening and found it a pleasant walk, about 45 minutes, plus another 15minutes to get to the tower. The hotel room was excellent for the price, complimentary water in the fridge and friendly staff. I had no worries about leaving the hire car in the free car park attached to the hotel and there were plenty of spaces, despite it being the middle of July. There was no safe in the room which I would normally want for a 4* but this didn't prevent us from enjoying our stay. The breakfast was the best of any hotel we stayed on this trip, including a hot option of bacon and eggs and a good selection of pastries. If I were returning and staying in Pisa for longer I might choose a hotel closer to the centre as the walk, whilst fine for us on the one evening, might become a bit tiresome after a few days. If I were returning for one or two nights I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Honnef, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice and tidy hotel just about 2 km outside city centre and near to Pisa Airport. Hotel lies next to a frequent street. But with windows closed and AC on you hear neither traffic nor jets.The reception was very helpful helping us with the bus lines. Breakfast very good and more than enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglo Russian
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pisa is a small city even now, and this hotel lies about half a mile outside the old city walls. We were happy to walk the mile to the city centre, but the buses are frequent if you don't want the excercise. The tower is about two miles from the hotel.

The hotel is clean and reasonably modern. The rooms are in good condition, and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are well appointed. The A/C worked well.

Breakfast was excellent, however with little change from day to day. Hot: scrambled eggs, bacon, toast and coffee (which is served fresh from the bar, as well as from jugs for self service). Cold (or warm): Ham, cheese, yoghurts, croissants (plain and chocolate), breads, cereals, and cakes or tarts. Oddly no trace of any fruit or vegetables!

Staff were always pleasant and helpful. Reception is willing to keep left luggage, for those with late flights.

Administration is the one area that needs attention: we had booked a tripple room, but were given a double with no child bed. When we returned to reception, we were at first told that we had booked a double and had not advised them that we had a child. It took a matter of moments to show that the paperwork we had presented them with said the reverse. We were then told there were no tripple rooms available, before it was discovered that there was one free after all. Despite booking for seven nights, again clealy shown on the paperwork, our room wasn't made up after the sixth night, and we were asked why we hadn't checked out by noon. Again, speedly resolved, but unnecessary.

In Pisa beware of Romanian pickpockets: groups of women carrying cardboard (which they unfold to distract you as they move in). Shouting loudly at them seems to do the trick.

Buses go from the centre to Tirrenia, where if you search the map you'll find a small free sandy beach. Return tickets are about £2.50. You can catch regular trains to Florence, for about £12.00 return. I don't know if anyone other than tourists actually buy tickets for trains or buses: we saw no checks of any sort, and locals didn't show, or punch, tickets.

Room Tip: We heard no traffic noise in the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is a diificult call four star, clean, a mile or so from the city. Restaurant a bit of a downer. What a surprise, Pisa is a lovely city town. So accessible and surrounded by so many treasures, with excellent public transport services. Lucca is a treasure a walled city 3.30 euro train journey away, Livorno 2.75 euro bus trip Pisa marina even closer. Must to does are picnic in Lucca and also the leaning tower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was ok, nothing special and not terrible.
The check-in was very efficient-no trouble there.
The reception was very helpful in getting us to Pisa.
We complained several times that the AC wasn't working and it still wasn't fixed. We had to open the window because it was cooler outside. All the mosquitoes in the neighborhood came in and dined on us. We were itching for weeks afterward. The second night we opened the door into the hallway so the AC there would seep in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Repubblica Marinara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Repubblica Marinara

Address: Via Carlo Matteucci, angolo Via Romboli, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Repubblica Marinara 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Repubblica Marinara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Repubblica Marinara Hotel
Repubblica Marinara Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Repubblica Marinara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.