We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Repubblica Marinara

Save Saved
You added Hotel Repubblica Marinara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Carlo Matteucci, angolo Via Romboli, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Bad Honnef, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice and tidy hotel just about 2 km outside city centre and near to Pisa Airport. Hotel lies next to a frequent street. But with windows closed and AC on you hear neither traffic nor jets.The reception was very helpful helping us with the bus lines. Breakfast very good and more than enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    114
    90
    39
    13
See reviews for
52
117
12
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anglo Russian
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Pisa is a small city even now, and this hotel lies about half a mile outside the old city walls. We were happy to walk the mile to the city centre, but the buses are frequent if you don't want the excercise. The tower is about two miles from the hotel.

The hotel is clean and reasonably modern. The rooms are in good condition, and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are well appointed. The A/C worked well.

Breakfast was excellent, however with little change from day to day. Hot: scrambled eggs, bacon, toast and coffee (which is served fresh from the bar, as well as from jugs for self service). Cold (or warm): Ham, cheese, yoghurts, croissants (plain and chocolate), breads, cereals, and cakes or tarts. Oddly no trace of any fruit or vegetables!

Staff were always pleasant and helpful. Reception is willing to keep left luggage, for those with late flights.

Administration is the one area that needs attention: we had booked a tripple room, but were given a double with no child bed. When we returned to reception, we were at first told that we had booked a double and had not advised them that we had a child. It took a matter of moments to show that the paperwork we had presented them with said the reverse. We were then told there were no tripple rooms available, before it was discovered that there was one free after all. Despite booking for seven nights, again clealy shown on the paperwork, our room wasn't made up after the sixth night, and we were asked why we hadn't checked out by noon. Again, speedly resolved, but unnecessary.

In Pisa beware of Romanian pickpockets: groups of women carrying cardboard (which they unfold to distract you as they move in). Shouting loudly at them seems to do the trick.

Buses go from the centre to Tirrenia, where if you search the map you'll find a small free sandy beach. Return tickets are about £2.50. You can catch regular trains to Florence, for about £12.00 return. I don't know if anyone other than tourists actually buy tickets for trains or buses: we saw no checks of any sort, and locals didn't show, or punch, tickets.

Room Tip: We heard no traffic noise in the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel is a diificult call four star, clean, a mile or so from the city. Restaurant a bit of a downer. What a surprise, Pisa is a lovely city town. So accessible and surrounded by so many treasures, with excellent public transport services. Lucca is a treasure a walled city 3.30 euro train journey away, Livorno 2.75 euro bus trip Pisa marina even closer. Must to does are picnic in Lucca and also the leaning tower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel was ok, nothing special and not terrible.
The check-in was very efficient-no trouble there.
The reception was very helpful in getting us to Pisa.
We complained several times that the AC wasn't working and it still wasn't fixed. We had to open the window because it was cooler outside. All the mosquitoes in the neighborhood came in and dined on us. We were itching for weeks afterward. The second night we opened the door into the hallway so the AC there would seep in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Apart fromthe shower running out of hot water in the morning and being unable to turn it cool/cold in the afternoon, the hotel was as you migyht expect for what I would say a typical 2-3 star.
I had breakfast which was a good choice and seemes to cater for all. It was nice to find a normal cup of tea and a round of thick white bread I could throw through the toaster leaving me to face the rest of the day sampling some nice Italian food.
Soap and shampoo was provided and the staff speak English. It's also only about half a mile from where I would say the interesting part of town starts and about a 30 minute walk from the tower, so not in the centre of the action but not too far away.
Air conditioning was quiet on low and that's all that was needed overnight.
Price wise, it was acceptable and I was happy with my stay there.
I didn't use the fitness centre or spa so can't comment.

Room Tip: The front is on the main road and the fire station is 600m away so when they get a call, many of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel was very convenient for conference at Palazzo dei Congressi. Hotel very clean. Rooms good size. Reception staff were helpful. Breakfast was fine. 30 minute walk to centre of Pisa, add another 10 to get to the Leaning Tower.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great hotel, convenient location, right on the blue line (bus route), very clean, large rooms, with free WiFi, great breakfast and nice bar area. Checked in early, dropped off our luggage, came back late that even and the luggage was in our room. Highly recommend this location and property. Check it out.

Room Tip: Quiet and family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Repubblica Marinara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Repubblica Marinara

Address: Via Carlo Matteucci, angolo Via Romboli, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Repubblica Marinara 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Repubblica Marinara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Repubblica Marinara Hotel
Repubblica Marinara Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Repubblica Marinara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.