We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Hotel Minerva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Giuseppe Toniolo, 20, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great first impression”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we entered the hotel my husband and I were greeted by a young male who was very friendly and spoke excellent English. There is no elevator but the receptionist helped carry our bags. He also gave us a map explaining the local attractions and good places to eat. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    44
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
14
44
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campomarino, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Many hotels in Pisa close early and our original choice was one of those. We found this one at 12 AM. Clean but small rooms and uncomfortable beds. They did offer a continental breakfast however for the overall price that was still a stretch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What this hotel lacks in terms of class, it makes up in the friendliness of its extremely helpful staff.
I stayed for five nights here at a recent conference. I think it is probably a family-run business. Mother and son could not have been more helpful. It is fairly central and within easy walking distance to the centre of the old town, the station and the conference centre.
I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is probably the worst budget hotel I have ever stayed in. Check-in was an indifferent affair. The desk clerk was more interested in his computer emails than checking us in. There is a mouldy smell as soon as one enters the upstairs area. The room was shabby and unappealing. We asked for a taxi to be ordered for Pisa airport on Saturday night when we arrived, for the next day, Sunday, and were assured this would be done. It was a hair-raising half hour prior to our checkout the next day when we learned that Rita had not done this. More exasperating was that her excuse involved it being a Sunday, and cab drivers were hard to find. There was much rolling of the eyes and melodramatic sighs as we asked her to keep phoning different cab companies to fulfill this undertaking that she had promised to do the night before. All in all, I would never contemplate another stay here. The 100 dollars I paid could have been better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you like mouldy smells and shabbiness, they are probably all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just outside the historic centre but a pleasant five minute walk there. Room not huge but sufficient. Spotlessly clean. Bed comfortable. Staff friendly and very accommodating. Very good price. Nothing outstanding but I recommend it highly

Room Tip: Ask for one with view on the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I spent a week here (attending a conference), and was very satisfied. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the staff were outstandingly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was quite good (although I would have preferred fresh fruit, rather than the canned fruit they served). The location is great--it's an easy walk to the train station, to the river, and to most parts of the city. The bed was firm and comfortable, and the air conditioning was fine (it was very hot humid, during most of the week I was there).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelminervapisa, Proprietario at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Google Translation
Siamo lieti che sia stato bene nel nostro albergo e la ringraziamo per il giudizio così positivo.
Promesso,la prossima estate solo frutta fresca.Torni a trovarci!
Rita Paciello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Minerva for three nights. Double room of good size, very clean and comfortable. We asked for a room with balcony, with windows facing the garden and not the street. Although it was unavailable for the first night, we were able to transfer for the rest of the stay. The staff at the reception very friendly and helpful with absolutely every question we had.


The only thing that could be improved was breakfast. There was almost only sweet food, but I guess that's the Italian way, so it was not really an issue. The coffee was nice and freshly made for us every morning, which was great!

Would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelminervapisa, Proprietario at Hotel Minerva, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We are pleased that you have enjoyed time in our hotel.The warm welcome is spontaneus for kind guests!!!Thank you very much and we hope tosee you again.
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Toniolo, 20, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.