We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda to your Saves list
Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Santa Croce, 11, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We would defiantly recommend this hotel, the hotel court yard looks perfect- very idealic and picturesque, the staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel was so interesting, it is an old convent so full of character. You can stay in a modern characterless hotel any day- but this is something special.
Brilliant location- short walk from the cities main attractions. All in all, we would love to go back there in the future.

Room Tip: our room's windows faced the court yard which was perfect as it was so peaceful looking out, som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    147
    68
    29
    23
See reviews for
35
181
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel was absolutely perfect. I cannot fault it at all. Set in an old monastery, the rooms are all converted monks cells, with the very basics you'll need such as shower, wardrobe, TV and phone. It's not very fancy at all, but once you go down to the lobby you've got wifi, drinks machine, etc. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, and were awesome at guiding us the way to the very best places in the area. Breakfast in the courtyard is something I'll never forget, it's so peaceful and beautiful. They also have a restaurant at night, the food is cheap but it's not the greatest, still we really enjoyed ourselves. The leaning tower of pisa is about 15 to 20 minutes walk away from the hotel, and on the way you pass the river. Great location and if I ever go back to pisa, this will be the ONLY place I stay at.

Room Tip: All rooms will be effected by the Church bells on sunday but it's so beautiful you can't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect place to travel around Tuscany, within four days we travelled to Rome, Florence and Lucca, all with ease as the staff called us taxis and printed out train times for us...could not fault the staff! The rooms were basic but perfect for those on a budget and had a nice atmosphere. Definitely recommend to anyone who isn't fussy about luxury but wants a good location, friendly atmosphere and a bit of a adventure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

what a find, a hotel set in a monestary the rooms are the monks cells,but have everything you need,there is a lovely courtyard and the breakfast room is attached to this,you can have breakfast in there or outside on the terrace,its a wonderfull interesting place to stay and its only 10 minutes from the airport

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel Santa Croce is a great base to see Pisa, Florence and the surrounding areas. It's basic and cheap, but staying in an old monastery was a great experience and not to be missed.

There is a nice continental breakfast available each morning, with a range of croissants, cheeses and hams and is served by the courtyard. Also a nice area to sit with a relaxing beer at the end of a busy day!

Church bells chime every morning and are nice to wake up to. The hotel is a 15 minute walk into the centre of Pisa, most of which is along a river. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful when we asked for information about trains and directions.

Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard (I was in room 118)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This is the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in, it's not the Ritz, far from it, it's extremely basic, but it's a charming old building that really captured my imagination. There's amazing muriels above all the doors, church bells chime every morning, there's an orchard out the back and the receptionist is lovely. It's a beautiful Italian gem, 10 minutes walk from the tower. You just walk along the river side which is a very enjoyable walk. We stayed in January and we had this old monastery to ourselves, it was amazing! I would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had a very pleasant stay in this hotel. Nice location, nice breakfast, good place to start a stroll into town. I was in a business trip for three days in this hotel and I surely recommend it, nothing annoying to say.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda

Address: Piazza Santa Croce, 11, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce In Fossabanda Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santa Croce in Fossabanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.