We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located for the tourists attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais dell'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well located for the tourists attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel occupies an old traditional building so our room was a bit on the small side but very comfortable, an excellent bed and mattress. Location is excellent for the main Pisa sights and restaurants and bars. Our room overlooked the courtyard with views to the hills, very nice. Breakfast was typical Italian, with a choice of cereals, fruit, cheese ham, yogurt, bacon scrambled egg bread and cakes. the staff were very friendly and helpful. Only minor niggle was that the hotel does not switch the air conditioning on until it gets hot in the summer. We are from the UK and anything over 20c is hot. If the window was closed at night the room was hot and stuffy.

Room Tip: Best views are form rooms overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRelaisd, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

We would like to apologize for the delay in responding to your nice words and thank you for taking the time to write your comments.

We are happy to see you enjoy our Hotel and the city of Pisa. We are really very sorry for the inconvient in regards of the air-conditioning. Most unfortunately we had the possibility to switch on two day ago, due to restriction by the City Hall.

In any case, we hope to have the possibility to welcoming you again in the future and we will try to surprise you.

Our best regards.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    121
    83
    44
    31
See reviews for
52
258
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

A small character hotel with circa 20 bedrooms rooms set within five minute walk of main tourist attractions. Service is very good and the hotel has a pleasant garden at the back and living room on the top floor with good views of the city. The hotel is homely but rooms are small, though do have character. The hotel is quiet but noise can carry in the early hours from neighbouring rooms. Breakfast is very good with even wine on offer but hot food is limited to bacon and scrambled egg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRelaisd, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Pisa and thank you for your recent visit and your review on TripAdvior.
We are glad to see you appreciate the property and thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Every opinion of our Guests is important for us and we will try to arrive to the higher level of expectations. I was delighted to read you enjoyed our terrace/garden and the service at breakfast.I was sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations with our rooms. Naturally the Relais is an old CasaTorre of the 13th century and we have not the possibility to enlarge the spaces.

However, I do hope to have the chance to welcome you again at the Relais dell'Orologio and please consider me at your disposal.

Best regards.

Carlo Soldani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is in the old part of town so it is very historical which comes with advantages and of course some disadvantages. Rooms are small and were very warm, we come from Australia so we are used to heat but these rooms were stuffy. Bathroom good, small shower with only 2 of the 4 lights working but for such an old building the wiring must be difficult to repair. Hotel proudly says it has wireless internet in the rooms but we found wireless was only accessible in the hotel lobby or restaurant - no room access. Probably the best of a not so good choice of hotels in an ancient town. Close to leaning tower of Pisa.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Indeed, so why only a rating of 3.
For several reasons. Compared to some top hotels I've been to, I cannot give more. I've been in several hotels in Pisa and the Relais dell'Orologio remains still the best one. The style is ancient Tuscan villa style and gives you the feeling you are in something special. Nevertheless, the rooms are basic but very clean. The bathroom is minimal toilet, shower and little tub in one square meter. The door of the shower doesn't shut completely wetting the floor all over. (And this is the case in almost all rooms. As I've been there many times, I have done most of the rooms).
Breakfast is traditional Italian, meaning the choice is quite limited. One has the Tuscan ham and salami, 2 or 3 choices of chees, jam, some choice of bread, scrumbled eggs, youghurt and some sweet stuff. When the weather is fine, you can have your breakfast outside but when it is raining you have to fight for a table inside. Sometimes sharing a table with another couple.
Wifi is not working well as others have mentioned.
Staff has always been very helpfull. Only when at checkout it when there is a large group, it can get out of hand.
Nevertheless I can recommend the Realais as the others that I tried were not up to their level.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed at the Relais dell'Oroglio last week for 5 nights whilst travelling around Tuscany. I have to admit I was concerned after booking and reading the negative reviews on here but I can honestly say we had the most enjoyable stay and didn't experience any of the complaints that other reviewers had left. The staff we amazing, so friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough to help us with travel arrangements etc (and our Italian!). The hotel Director was around the hotel everyday and at all times of the day and evening making sure everything ran smoothly and the hotel was kept immaculate. The breakfast was lovely, fresh and plentiful every day. We had room 310 on the top floor of the hotel overlooking the garden with a juliet balcony (plenty of fresh air). The room was cleaned immaculately everyday. The wi-fi worked (although was a little slow after a storm one night) but the hotel is so old and the walls are so thick you wouldn't expect a mega fast speed (we know this from living in an old victorian house) but it wasn't a major concern to us. The hotel's location is great for everything in Pisa - train station 10-12 minute walk away, Leaning Tower only 5 mins and shop 5 mins away. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the garden and have juliet balconies with shutters. Nice wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Pisa is a tiny place granted. lots of history and old buildings, ok. hotel is definitely not 5 stars and patrons should be made aware. wifi does not exists or works. breakfast is kept to a bare minimum. staff at reception look at you when they have the time. i asked the concierge to book me a table at a local osteria. he never did and never told me. we got there and bounced back! by mistake we went into another one just opposite and we ate deliciously. still...not good.

Room Tip: Try upgrading to larger rooms. forget wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel is situated only about 5 mins walk to the leaning tower. However, it doesnt fit the 5 star hotel as it has posted in website and right on their front door. The room needs some update and maintain, we had a few light bulbs that was out in our room. The light by the entrance wasnt able to turn off at night. The good things about this place is the location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Address: Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Relais dell'Orologio 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located really close to the leaning Tower of Pisa, the age-old Relais dell’Orologio is the ideal place to visit the City, its monuments, the University, its museums, its squares, its markets, its shops, its artisan workshops by foot and to move about its province towards Lucca and Versilia. For a romantic getaway, for a honeymoon, to experience art, culture and the humanity of the place, in other words to appreciate Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais dell'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Dell Orologio
Relais Dell Orologio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.