We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Relais dell'Orologio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First thing that happened was that we didn't receive the room category we booked at hotels.com. When we complained in the reception, we were told that there must have been some kind of mix up at hotels.com since the hotel only had standard rooms and suites. The receptionist then offered us an empty suite as compensation (after photocopying our booking to be able to complain to hotels.com).

This was just the first sign of the personels service mindedness. They gladly helped us with everything from recommending probably the best restaurant in Pisa to lending us umbrellas. I'm truly surprised of other comments regarding the staff, but perhaps we were lucky visiting a night when the ordinary staff's friendly cousines were on duty???

The standard of the suite was better than average, though not the most luxurious suite in the world. To us it was perfectly good. The standard rooms where a bit small, but would also have done for one or two nights.

A little weird thing was that the minibar only contained water and Coke. When we asked about it the explanation given was that it is a free minibar. Fair enough, but we would rather it had some more and being a paid minibar. But that was really a detail.

All in all I would give the hotel a four, but considering the staff's service mindedness I happily upgrade it to a five!

Room Tip: Suites is really two former rooms remade to one, meaning you get two of everything (like two bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisOrologioPisa, Direttore vendite at Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Many thank for your nice review.
Our staff always strives to do as much as possible to make Guesst happy and your words are the best rewards for our work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    113
    79
    44
    30
See reviews for
52
247
40
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

we booked a room at the hotel dell orologio for the 24th of march this year 2013 with a table booked in the so well advertsided restaurant,we were asked to pay in advance as most hotel do now, and we did. we arrived in the afternoon went upstairs and on our return back downstairs we were told by an arrogant member of staff at the reception that the restaurant was closed,and they could only offer us cold dishes or salads..or to use the restaurant next door.they did not apologized in any way wathsoever and if i may say they were rude too.
we couldnt believed that a 5 star hotel could operate without a restaurant or a fully prepared breakfast buffet....terrible experience it was for us.if only we knew were to make a formal complaint in italy we would...and the room was dirty too. never never again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RelaisOrologioPisa, Direttore vendite at Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Let me first apologize for the attitude of our receptionist: there is no excuse in case you have not felt welcomed and at home.
We are renovating the menu of our restaurant but we already offer at any time Tuscan cold dishes, salads, tasty hot pasta and primi.
Anyway Hotel Relais dell’Orologio is very close to many nice typical restaurants and our reception always suggest a good a alternative next door.
I personally check our rooms every day and I can guarantee you and all of our Guests that our cleaning standards are very high and we receive daily many praises for the cleanliness of our Hotel.
I really hope you can change your mind and give us a new chance to welcome you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Best thing we can say is the hotel's breakfast and location.

Indifference of the man who welcomed us at reception was exacerbated by giving very poor Internet support. Gave me wrong passwords several times and insisted that it was my computer and that it should be restarted. I challenged this and he went online and found a passcode that would work.

We had two small suitcases and could not find any space to put them in this overpriced "superior" room.

It was Sunday and their restaurant was closed; the snacks and drinks they served were priced more than a full course meal at a luxury hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

As stated in other reviews this hotel is in a wonderful, central location, it is beautifully decorated and furnished with charming Italian antique furniture...then there is the staff! Very different story!

We were disappointed as had booked a junior suite (via third party agent). On arrival were shown to our room which was definetely not a suite. When we contacted reception we were told the suite was already occupied and that we could transfer to it on our final night - for a fee!! After several phone calls and trips to reception we were then informed that this indeed was a junior suite. Their story had changed several times by then.

Service generally was slow and apathetic.

On check-out we advised reception we were waiting for a taxi and indicated where we would be sitting. Thinking our driver was 15 minutes late we approached reception to contact the taxi company. We were then told the driver had arrived 15 minutes earlier and had returned to his vehicle outside - they had "forgotten" to tell us. Very inefficient and disappointing. Would certainly not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent location, right in the heart of town center and a few steps from the tower. This is the only one issue which can justify a good category level.
Bad welcome at the reception, totally unpersonal, "The Club" SLH membership has been not even recognized, no luggage assistance.
Average room size and amenities with nice marble bathroom. Ridiculous 14 inches TV set.
Terrible restaurant. Very limited choice of untasty kind of snack bar pre cooked food. That's why that maybe we were the only one customers ... Average breakfast buffet.
Definitely it doesn't whorts 5 stars!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel was in a perfect location to walk around PIsa. The breakfast was fine but the service was poor - we had to chase up a cup of coffee, ask for spoons etc. The garden was a delight and more could be made of it. The room was cool and airy - a relief as it was very hot and although small it met our needs. The garden and location give it the 5 *s but in any other city it would not be that grade. Would stay again if we visited Pisa again. Pleasant end to a holiday when flying back from Pisa to the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely weekend whistle stop visit to Pisa and Florence. The hotel was beautiful, very quaint and everything you would expect of an old building in an old Italian city. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful; the room was very clean (although note to hotel maintenance, our towel rail was about to fall off the wall) but this doesn't detract from the rest of the room and shouldn't put you off. Other reviews have said that the room was small, which it is, but this isn't a negative; you're staying in a very old building and they make it very comfortable and it's beautifully decorated.
Now for the reason for my headline remark.. We decided to eat in the restaurant and booked a table for 8pm. We were holidaying with our friends, so arranged to meet out in the garden for drinks before hand at 7.. We waited for about fifteen minutes for one of the staff to give us a drinks menu or ask us if we wanted a drink.. Eventually I went up to the bar area and asked for the menu.. After taking it back to the table and choosing, she then came to take our drinks order.. We enjoyed our drink and then went into the restaurant for dinner. Service started well here with our drinks order and food order being taken (please remember this is the same waitress - it's only a small hotel) and the starter arriving quickly.. Our first course then took a while to arrive, mine was lovely, but my partners seemed to have sat under a hot lamp for a while.. Then that was it..... There was no service asking us if we wanted more drinks or if we wanted to see the menu or asking if we were planning to have a second course... All very amateurish for a four star hotel.. I'd like to have hoped this was a one off, but we decided to try the service again on the second night for drinks after returning from our evening meal ( out in Pisa this time) and again had the same slow service..what a shame for them, they lost out on revenue and possibly returning guests.. Overall it's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city, in a beautiful country which I definitely plan to return to...... Would I stay in this hotel again though? I'd love to say yes immediately and probably would have had it not been for the restaurant; that said; I did like the hotel and it is near to the sites. I just wouldn't use the restaurant again..... What a shame...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Address: Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Relais dell'Orologio 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located really close to the leaning Tower of Pisa, the age-old Relais dell’Orologio is the ideal place to visit the City, its monuments, the University, its museums, its squares, its markets, its shops, its artisan workshops by foot and to move about its province towards Lucca and Versilia. For a romantic getaway, for a honeymoon, to experience art, culture and the humanity of the place, in other words to appreciate Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Relais dell'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Dell Orologio
Relais Dell Orologio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.