We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT SETTING, LOVELY GARDEN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais dell'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“PERFECT SETTING, LOVELY GARDEN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel was in a perfect location to walk around PIsa. The breakfast was fine but the service was poor - we had to chase up a cup of coffee, ask for spoons etc. The garden was a delight and more could be made of it. The room was cool and airy - a relief as it was very hot and although small it met our needs. The garden and location give it the 5 *s but in any other city it would not be that grade. Would stay again if we visited Pisa again. Pleasant end to a holiday when flying back from Pisa to the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    136
    94
    53
    38
See reviews for
57
293
46
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely weekend whistle stop visit to Pisa and Florence. The hotel was beautiful, very quaint and everything you would expect of an old building in an old Italian city. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful; the room was very clean (although note to hotel maintenance, our towel rail was about to fall off the wall) but this doesn't detract from the rest of the room and shouldn't put you off. Other reviews have said that the room was small, which it is, but this isn't a negative; you're staying in a very old building and they make it very comfortable and it's beautifully decorated.
Now for the reason for my headline remark.. We decided to eat in the restaurant and booked a table for 8pm. We were holidaying with our friends, so arranged to meet out in the garden for drinks before hand at 7.. We waited for about fifteen minutes for one of the staff to give us a drinks menu or ask us if we wanted a drink.. Eventually I went up to the bar area and asked for the menu.. After taking it back to the table and choosing, she then came to take our drinks order.. We enjoyed our drink and then went into the restaurant for dinner. Service started well here with our drinks order and food order being taken (please remember this is the same waitress - it's only a small hotel) and the starter arriving quickly.. Our first course then took a while to arrive, mine was lovely, but my partners seemed to have sat under a hot lamp for a while.. Then that was it..... There was no service asking us if we wanted more drinks or if we wanted to see the menu or asking if we were planning to have a second course... All very amateurish for a four star hotel.. I'd like to have hoped this was a one off, but we decided to try the service again on the second night for drinks after returning from our evening meal ( out in Pisa this time) and again had the same slow service..what a shame for them, they lost out on revenue and possibly returning guests.. Overall it's a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city, in a beautiful country which I definitely plan to return to...... Would I stay in this hotel again though? I'd love to say yes immediately and probably would have had it not been for the restaurant; that said; I did like the hotel and it is near to the sites. I just wouldn't use the restaurant again..... What a shame...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockholt, Sevenoaks, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed this romantic very Italian hotel. It is a few minutes walk to the Tower, 10 minute taxi ride or Bus trip from the Airport. Perfect for a romantic get away!

Service was good and food nice, the terrace outside is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having booked and read many peoples experiences about this hotel, I was a bit concerned as quite a few recent reports were poor. We personally thought otherwise. We have been to other five star hotels and yes, the rooms are a little smaller, but this is Italy and the room was beautiful. There wasnt a tea and coffee tray in the room, which is unusual for a five star, but did have water and coke for free in the minibar, so a plus and a minus. The food at breakfast was great, lovely choice and very attentive service. The garden had a spa and plenty of chairs and loungers and was in a great setting. The hotel is just minutes walk from the Leaning Tower so another plus. The staff were all very helpful and polite. Its just small things like a slightly broken shower head, slightly grubby grout around the bath etc that makes this a 4 star. If it was a 4 star I would give it 5, but as a 5 star, I give it a 4. Honestly, we had a lovely stay. Everyone has their own views and I was apprehensive, but for its style, setting and location alone, go for it.

Room Tip: We were on the main street, but they have shutters, and the road has so little traffic, there really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is NOT a 5 star property. The rooms are small and the beds are hard. There was no one to help us with our luggage when we arrived. The staff are "not allowed" to recommend restaurants and seemed unhelpful with other guests....the man in front of us was trying to find out if there was a bus to Sienna but the person on reception did not know and was not inclined to go on line to find out. The rooms was lovely and cool and the breakfast was very good. This is a good 3 star or an average 4 star at best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel last July. The hotel building and garden look very nice, but inside the hotel was empty and dusty. The room was small and non-comfortable, dirty and dark. The towels n bathrooms were grey color. The breakfast was awful and service was poor. The dinner in hotel restaurant was terrible expensive for nothing. The hotel seems like 3* hotel with perfect location in Pisa but the price is very high and unreal for such service level. You could reach the downtime very easily but the hotel doesn't have any parking and you have to find the place by yourselves (it was very difficult). The problem was to reach the hotel entrance in district with limited traffic by car. Finally they charged our credit card twice and didn't return back the payment up to now.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,885 reviews
0.9 mi away
Abitalia Tower Plaza
Abitalia Tower Plaza
#13 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#29 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Address: Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Relais dell'Orologio 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located really close to the leaning Tower of Pisa, the age-old Relais dell’Orologio is the ideal place to visit the City, its monuments, the University, its museums, its squares, its markets, its shops, its artisan workshops by foot and to move about its province towards Lucca and Versilia. For a romantic getaway, for a honeymoon, to experience art, culture and the humanity of the place, in other words to appreciate Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Relais dell'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Dell Orologio
Relais Dell Orologio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.