We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Hotel in great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais dell'Orologio to your Saves list
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Pisa
Knockholt, Sevenoaks, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic Hotel in great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed this romantic very Italian hotel. It is a few minutes walk to the Tower, 10 minute taxi ride or Bus trip from the Airport. Perfect for a romantic get away!

Service was good and food nice, the terrace outside is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    127
    86
    45
    35
See reviews for
55
271
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having booked and read many peoples experiences about this hotel, I was a bit concerned as quite a few recent reports were poor. We personally thought otherwise. We have been to other five star hotels and yes, the rooms are a little smaller, but this is Italy and the room was beautiful. There wasnt a tea and coffee tray in the room, which is unusual for a five star, but did have water and coke for free in the minibar, so a plus and a minus. The food at breakfast was great, lovely choice and very attentive service. The garden had a spa and plenty of chairs and loungers and was in a great setting. The hotel is just minutes walk from the Leaning Tower so another plus. The staff were all very helpful and polite. Its just small things like a slightly broken shower head, slightly grubby grout around the bath etc that makes this a 4 star. If it was a 4 star I would give it 5, but as a 5 star, I give it a 4. Honestly, we had a lovely stay. Everyone has their own views and I was apprehensive, but for its style, setting and location alone, go for it.

Room Tip: We were on the main street, but they have shutters, and the road has so little traffic, there really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is NOT a 5 star property. The rooms are small and the beds are hard. There was no one to help us with our luggage when we arrived. The staff are "not allowed" to recommend restaurants and seemed unhelpful with other guests....the man in front of us was trying to find out if there was a bus to Sienna but the person on reception did not know and was not inclined to go on line to find out. The rooms was lovely and cool and the breakfast was very good. This is a good 3 star or an average 4 star at best.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel last July. The hotel building and garden look very nice, but inside the hotel was empty and dusty. The room was small and non-comfortable, dirty and dark. The towels n bathrooms were grey color. The breakfast was awful and service was poor. The dinner in hotel restaurant was terrible expensive for nothing. The hotel seems like 3* hotel with perfect location in Pisa but the price is very high and unreal for such service level. You could reach the downtime very easily but the hotel doesn't have any parking and you have to find the place by yourselves (it was very difficult). The problem was to reach the hotel entrance in district with limited traffic by car. Finally they charged our credit card twice and didn't return back the payment up to now.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Lovely old hotel centrally located. Staff were very friendly and helpful, rooms full of character. Lovely garden terrace. If you arriving by car be warned that GPS will not help as the little backstreet roads are a myriad of one way streets and pedestrian zones. We parked our car nearby and walked to the hotel and the helpful concierge then went with us to bring it to the secure garage parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location and staff welcome were 5* (although I believe there are only two 5* hotels in the city so not much to compare too), but there were a few gripes that made this hotel barely achieve 3*

Breakfast is in a lovely setting and staff very friendly and speak English without any issue. However, the food is not replaced or checked and flies and wasps cover the 'fresh' cheeses and meats which really puts you off, plus there is no toast or toasting facilities and the milk every morning was warm and frothy which is not good. Best option is have a piece of fruit and try one of the pastries which were ok.

The 'American Bar' on site is very expensive and although it is open 12 til 11 each day, I waited on two days for 20 minutes without service. JD and coke 10 Euros, but large measures at least.

Room is small but very Italian and traditional and the mini bar restocked every day with two waters and two cokes is a lovely touch. Very smart shower room too.

Outside area is smart and cosy with a jacuzzi and sun loungers (only 2) and this was great in the 35 degrees heatwave this week.

Pisa is lovely and quaint and plenty of restaurants and places to see nearby, but no-where near as much as Florence / Rome etc. Buses are only 1 Euro pp for up to 70 minutes city use and the train to Florence is only 14 Euros return pp with a 60 minutes journey.

MASSIVE complaint was that the air conditioning broke and we were left with the room temp rising to 28 degrees which in such a small space became unbearable. The problem was, the staff were either lying or didn't know what was wrong as they told us 5 times it was fixed but it remained off throughout the whole hotel for the last three days. Very disapointing. The staff were clearly distressed too, wearing suits etc in such hot weather and no air con.

I will say that as we complained so much we did get extra water delivered, the end of stay bill complimentry (only 28 Euros, and after we badgered the new receptionist), and a standalone Air con unit given to us for the last night which we appreciated but was just so noisy to sleep.

Therefore, assuming this problem doesn't happen again and you don't expect much for breakfast I would still recommend this hotel, for the right price.

Also, out of 130 odd TV channels, only 1 English speaking (Sky News) but it's pretty sad if that bothers you with the leaning tower 3 minutes away!!

Room Tip: Garden or street viewes are offered, either are very quiet and fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Relais dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Address: Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pisa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#7 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Relais dell'Orologio 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located really close to the leaning Tower of Pisa, the age-old Relais dell’Orologio is the ideal place to visit the City, its monuments, the University, its museums, its squares, its markets, its shops, its artisan workshops by foot and to move about its province towards Lucca and Versilia. For a romantic getaway, for a honeymoon, to experience art, culture and the humanity of the place, in other words to appreciate Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Relais dell'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Dell Orologio
Relais Dell Orologio Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.