We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay was ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Francesco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Francesco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Francesco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria, 129, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One night stay was ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great price, location 1 minute walk to tower. Pisa is quite small so easy walk to most areas.
Staff were helpful and pleasant. Plenty of shops and food places close by. There were 3 adults in one room 3 single beds were provided which was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    42
    30
    12
See reviews for
19
70
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. The hotel is located minutes away from the leaning tower and restaurants. It's clean, staff are friendly and it's all for a great price. There's somewhere to leave your luggage if you have a late flight.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned home from a weekend in Pisa, the city is beautiful, sadly the same can not be said about our hotel. our room was on the second floor (directly opposite the lift, room 201) first impressions were that the room needed a coat of paint, plaster flaking off the walls, lights in bathroom were damaged and plug for shaving in bathroom did not work. the towels were also thin and rough. however, we overlooked this as we were not expecting 5 star quality. when we returned from our night out, we were made aware of a couple in the next room, you could hear what they were saying clearly, and also heard the majority of their intimate encounter!! The WiFi did not work, so we were unable to use our mobiles. On our last day (Tuesday, 6th November) we were awoken at 7am by workmen drilling and hammering in the next room. when we checked out,at 11am we asked if we could leave our luggage in a secure area, as our flight was not untill 10pm, we were told no, as the hotel is closing as it was the end of the season. this meant we had to carry two large suitcases around Pisa for the rest of the day. only positive experience was the location, situated 100 metres from the tower. there are also some lovely restaurants nearby. overall, Beautiful city, Poor hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed one night at the Francesco in mid September - my room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the room looked on to the street so there was some noise from pedestrians and motor scooters - both in the evening and early morning. The hotel's web page is misleading in that it states breakfast is available, not so, although there some good places nearby. Wi-fi only worked in the lobby.
Despite these negatives, I found the reception staff very helpful even going so far as to find me a hairdryer when I reported the one in my room was faulty. The hotel's location was ideal for a solo traveller. It is very close to the duomo and leaning tower and the area felt quite safe to walk in alone at night. The price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were statying many hotels in Italy in our trip this month (october 2012). this was the most special one we stayed. Great welcome and Great smile alway from the receptionist. My wife and 2 and half year old were too happy ! we stayed in the 3rd floor with a spacious room. Location is Fab - just 50 steps to the Tower to see that in day and night.. lovely restaurants for eating and drinking with in few steps..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great place! The location of the hotel couldnt have been better - literally 2 minutes away from the tower. There were some fabulous restaurants nearby, one we went to time and time again.

The rooms were clean, spacious and exactly what we needed. We were on the 4th floor and we were the only room up there. It was lovely and quiet and we werent bothered by anyone at all.

The receptioninsts were excellent - i left my mobile in a cab and they did everything they could to help me retrieve it by calling all the companies and asking around. Perfectly lovely and really helpful.

Would def stay here again and would def recommend it :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

good place to stay for tower breakfast can be bought locally.. walking distance to tower under 5mins clean room quiet for central location. staff were very helpful with places to eat and evening drink

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francesco

Address: Via Santa Maria, 129, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francesco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francesco Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.