We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Francesco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Francesco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Francesco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria, 129, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, Poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We have just returned home from a weekend in Pisa, the city is beautiful, sadly the same can not be said about our hotel. our room was on the second floor (directly opposite the lift, room 201) first impressions were that the room needed a coat of paint, plaster flaking off the walls, lights in bathroom were damaged and plug for shaving in bathroom did not work. the towels were also thin and rough. however, we overlooked this as we were not expecting 5 star quality. when we returned from our night out, we were made aware of a couple in the next room, you could hear what they were saying clearly, and also heard the majority of their intimate encounter!! The WiFi did not work, so we were unable to use our mobiles. On our last day (Tuesday, 6th November) we were awoken at 7am by workmen drilling and hammering in the next room. when we checked out,at 11am we asked if we could leave our luggage in a secure area, as our flight was not untill 10pm, we were told no, as the hotel is closing as it was the end of the season. this meant we had to carry two large suitcases around Pisa for the rest of the day. only positive experience was the location, situated 100 metres from the tower. there are also some lovely restaurants nearby. overall, Beautiful city, Poor hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    57
    42
    30
    14
See reviews for
19
70
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed one night at the Francesco in mid September - my room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunately the room looked on to the street so there was some noise from pedestrians and motor scooters - both in the evening and early morning. The hotel's web page is misleading in that it states breakfast is available, not so, although there some good places nearby. Wi-fi only worked in the lobby.
Despite these negatives, I found the reception staff very helpful even going so far as to find me a hairdryer when I reported the one in my room was faulty. The hotel's location was ideal for a solo traveller. It is very close to the duomo and leaning tower and the area felt quite safe to walk in alone at night. The price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were statying many hotels in Italy in our trip this month (october 2012). this was the most special one we stayed. Great welcome and Great smile alway from the receptionist. My wife and 2 and half year old were too happy ! we stayed in the 3rd floor with a spacious room. Location is Fab - just 50 steps to the Tower to see that in day and night.. lovely restaurants for eating and drinking with in few steps..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great place! The location of the hotel couldnt have been better - literally 2 minutes away from the tower. There were some fabulous restaurants nearby, one we went to time and time again.

The rooms were clean, spacious and exactly what we needed. We were on the 4th floor and we were the only room up there. It was lovely and quiet and we werent bothered by anyone at all.

The receptioninsts were excellent - i left my mobile in a cab and they did everything they could to help me retrieve it by calling all the companies and asking around. Perfectly lovely and really helpful.

Would def stay here again and would def recommend it :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

good place to stay for tower breakfast can be bought locally.. walking distance to tower under 5mins clean room quiet for central location. staff were very helpful with places to eat and evening drink

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The location is really the only big advantage this hotel has (but there are a lot of other hotels in the same area). Thankfully, the room is clean, and the cleaning lady is very friendly, and the area isn't dangerous. But, that's about it.

Negatives: Receptionists were nice but not overly friendly, and when we and other guests complained that the wifi wasn't working only 1 of the 3 receptionists we met actually tried to fix it. The other 2 just simply said to sit in the lobby and use it there since it was only working in the lobby. The screen on our window was broken, so our room constantly had mosquitos in it. The shower was not sealed tight enough to keep the floor dry. The towels were thin and rough. And although there is a tv in the room, it only has a handful of channels (looks like more because each channel is broadcasted on 2 stations- 1 in HD). Although the wifi is free, it was only working on the last day of our trip- the other 3 days we had to sit in the lobby to use it and get eaten by even more mosquitos.

Positives: Our room wasn't noisy but maybe it's because it was located in the back of the hotel on the 3rd floor. Everything was clean. Receptionists spoke English. The hotel is located extremely close to the tower (so you can go visit early in the morning or late at night when it's less crowded), there are numerous restaurants and cafes on the same street as well as some souvenir shops.

Would I stay here again? Only if I couldn't find another hotel in this area for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne, Dorset
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I can't knock this little hotel at all - it did what we wanted - cheap, clean and near the Leaning Tower and convenient for restaurants before flying home the next day after a trip to Florence and Rome.

Don't expect posh - it's not - but it's a very short flat walk to the very touristy Tower area which is what I wanted for my elderly Mum. Nice staff and not too far for a taxi ride to the airport. No complaints x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francesco

Address: Via Santa Maria, 129, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francesco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francesco Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Francesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.