We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pisa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guelph Tower (Torre Guelfa)

Guelph Tower (Torre Guelfa)
Lungarno Simonelli | Piazza Tersanaia, Pisa, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 43 Attractions in Pisa
Type: Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Vicenza, Veneto, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pisa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Visiting Pisa was one of the places on our bucket list while living in Italy. It is a beautiful site, worth seeing, but be prepared for a very touristy atmosphere. I do not see us returning but it was worth a one time trip.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    11
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
344 reviews 344 reviews
176 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Great historic site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

If you are in Pisa, the tower is the main highlight. The duomo and baptistry are also interesting. It is about a 40 minute walk from the train station. Along the way is a great street of coffee shops and clothing and souvenir shops. Unfortunately many shops are closed on Sunday.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baumholder, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Prettier than I thought, but very touristy. The local restaurants where nice, the locals very nice and helpful. I do have to admit when later going to Rome the quality of food was better. I went to a gelato shop...the best in the world.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Leaning tower of pisa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a wonderful site absolutely beautiful ,well worth a visit .
We spent a good hour and a half around the site ,could have done with more time ,but we had to go the coach would not wait.
We will book to go up the tower next time we go .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the Leaning Tower, seems to be derelict”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Guelph Tower is situated on the north side of the river to the west of the city. It is a different tower than the Leaning Tower (the pictures for this place are wrong). I found a website which stated that it was supposed to be open on Fri, Sat and Sun from 3pm to 7pm but when I got there at 3pm on a Friday there was nobody there and the grills were on the door. I stayed and wandered around until 4pm then left. The area looks very run down and it doesn't look like it has been in use for some time. It was a shame as I was hoping for a nice panoramic view of the city.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guelph Tower (Torre Guelfa) also viewed

 

Been to Guelph Tower (Torre Guelfa)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guelph Tower (Torre Guelfa), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.