We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Classically Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo Pisa

Duomo Pisa
Piazza del Duomo, 56100 Pisa, Italy
050 560 547
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$73*
and up
Pisa Half-Day Trip from Florence Including...
Ranked #4 of 112 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pisa's Romanesque cathedral (1063-1350) is part of a complex that includes the famous Leaning Tower.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Simply Classically Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A very traditional Duomo interior, beautifully created, amazing detail. Take your time and enjoy it. Only thing I would add is that you cannot take photos inside so get some good postcards at the stalls outside.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,099
    528
    102
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ockenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
231 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“As long as you're there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've said a similar thing in my other reviews of the area. If this cathedral were anywhere else, by itself, it wouldn't be as impressive. However, with the backdrop including the leaning tower and baptistry, it makes quite the trio.

I was impressed with the inside of the church, especially the carved pulpit on the left side of the sanctuary.

Entrance to the cathedral is free, but you do need to go to the ticket office and get a ticket to get in. (That way they can track how many people are visiting.) With the rest of the plaza, it's worth a look inside.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's free to visit inside the Duomo, but you still need to get an entrance ticket from the office behind the building. The outside of the building is pretty stunning especially the facade where the main doors are located. Inside the cathdral is a daunting space with a wonderful fresco in the dome above the alter. The pulpit is also noteworthy. Well worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Cool Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As we were waiting for our trip up the tower we went to see the Cathedral which was a cool experience on two levels, firstly for the welcome shelter from the midday sun (which even in Sept was too hot to stay in for long), but this is also a very beautiful building in and of itself.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontedera, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pisa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Duomo from Pisa is located at Piazza dei Miracoli. Here is Landing Tower and The baptistery.
I belive the tiket to visit inside duomo is 7 euro.
In nearbie is a Mc`Donalds and places for suvenirs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo Pisa also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Duomo Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.