We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As long as you're there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo Pisa

Duomo Pisa
Piazza del Duomo, 56100 Pisa, Italy
050 560 547
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$68*
and up
Pisa and Lucca Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #2 of 43 Attractions in Pisa
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pisa's Romanesque cathedral (1063-1350) is part of a complex that includes the famous Leaning Tower.
Ockenheim, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“As long as you're there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've said a similar thing in my other reviews of the area. If this cathedral were anywhere else, by itself, it wouldn't be as impressive. However, with the backdrop including the leaning tower and baptistry, it makes quite the trio.

I was impressed with the inside of the church, especially the carved pulpit on the left side of the sanctuary.

Entrance to the cathedral is free, but you do need to go to the ticket office and get a ticket to get in. (That way they can track how many people are visiting.) With the rest of the plaza, it's worth a look inside.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    374
    62
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's free to visit inside the Duomo, but you still need to get an entrance ticket from the office behind the building. The outside of the building is pretty stunning especially the facade where the main doors are located. Inside the cathdral is a daunting space with a wonderful fresco in the dome above the alter. The pulpit is also noteworthy. Well worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Cool Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

As we were waiting for our trip up the tower we went to see the Cathedral which was a cool experience on two levels, firstly for the welcome shelter from the midday sun (which even in Sept was too hot to stay in for long), but this is also a very beautiful building in and of itself.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontedera, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pisa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Duomo from Pisa is located at Piazza dei Miracoli. Here is Landing Tower and The baptistery.
I belive the tiket to visit inside duomo is 7 euro.
In nearbie is a Mc`Donalds and places for suvenirs.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Modest grandeur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you had a chance to see Florence or Milan Duomo you will understand why I udes modest in order to try to explain how I felt visiting this Duomo. It was my second visit, and I had a chance to enjoy in each detail I didint see the first time. Everything with this church is splendid, perfect and spiritual (inside or just watching it from outside). The only difference compered to some other churches is that it was made not to impress you, by the arrogance and wealth, but to enter to your soul by emotion. At least I had this feeling looking at the facade, doors, pulpits, mosaics, tombs. If you have time maybe you could just sit there for a while absorbing and enjoing. The entrance is free of charge but you have to take ticket at the ticket office, or you can get a ticket with any other attraction you plan to visit at Campo dei Miracoli.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo Pisa also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Duomo Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.