We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest grandeur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Duomo Pisa

Duomo Pisa
Piazza del Duomo, 56100 Pisa, Italy
050 560 547
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$67*
and up
Pisa and Lucca Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #2 of 43 Attractions in Pisa
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pisa's Romanesque cathedral (1063-1350) is part of a complex that includes the famous Leaning Tower.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Modest grandeur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you had a chance to see Florence or Milan Duomo you will understand why I udes modest in order to try to explain how I felt visiting this Duomo. It was my second visit, and I had a chance to enjoy in each detail I didint see the first time. Everything with this church is splendid, perfect and spiritual (inside or just watching it from outside). The only difference compered to some other churches is that it was made not to impress you, by the arrogance and wealth, but to enter to your soul by emotion. At least I had this feeling looking at the facade, doors, pulpits, mosaics, tombs. If you have time maybe you could just sit there for a while absorbing and enjoing. The entrance is free of charge but you have to take ticket at the ticket office, or you can get a ticket with any other attraction you plan to visit at Campo dei Miracoli.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    377
    63
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

you have to get a free ticket to enter but if you go up the tower, or do another monument, your ticket is enough. no point in missing the duomo and it is nice inside.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Pisa is a different place, where u take 100 of pix and buy souvenirs from various shops there and the weather can helps, it depends on the month that you're going in. Like, I went end of October but the weather was amazing and called as well. Pisa tower is totally breathtaking. Just go and enjoy and remember me.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comerio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Day Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Pisa is your typical touristy day trip. Not worth spending the hotel costs here, but worth the day trip. Take a picture of your friend or family member holding up the tower, take the tour offered, have pizza in Pisa, and walk the streets. At the end of day move on, there are better places to visit. I stayed in Genova and came here for a day trip. All I can say, "been there done that" .

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Do Not Miss It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have been to Pisa several times in the past 12 years and have been to the Duomo every time; it is the only thing that makes going to Pisa worthwhile. The Duomo is located right next to the Leaning Tower on the Piazza dei Miracoli. Most of the time the Duomo is uncrowded, as opposed to the rest of the Piazza dei Miracoli, which has become a zoo. After we fought our way through the madding crowd, my wife and I enjoyed sitting in the solitude of the lovely cathedral and contemplating the genius of Galileo, who led the way for so many scientific discoveries of the Renaissance. His discovery of the physics of the pendulum was made as he sat in the very same Duomo in Pisa pondering why the lamps seemed to sway with their own God-given rhythm.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duomo Pisa also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Duomo Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duomo Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.