We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but dishonest clerks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amalfitana

Hotel Amalfitana
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amalfitana to your Saves list
Hotel Amalfitana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 44, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Moscow, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average hotel but dishonest clerks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Arrived there late at night.The guy from Romania at the desk stated $55 euros per night and I told him there is $40 on their website but he refused to accept this,so I had to pay him for one night
Left next morning.... Small rooms,too cold in the winter
Next morning told him that I am leaving so he called the manager who offered me to stay at their advertised 40 euro price for a week but I found cheaper 35 just around the corner at Hotel Cecille....quality is about the same

Room Tip: Small rooms,small showers,no views,stay away unless desperate to sleep anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
15
42
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay Area
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived at the hotel about 10:30 at night and were trying to get our bearings. We asked the clerk how to get to the leaning tower. When we found out that it was 2-3 blocks straight down the road, we immediately headed there. What a treat to see the tower and cathedral all lit up at night and almost empty of tourists. Back at the hotel, our room was clean, but the beautiful marble floors also carry sound and a crying baby woke us up on and off all night. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast, although not extensive or fancy, was cheap, quick and all we needed before we headed down the road. This was not a destination for us, so it suited our needs very well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Not a very nice hotel look very old, the bed not too comfortable, breakfeast not a lot a choice except free coffee. The room not so beautuful and the shower very small. I will not return for another night

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A good hotel if you are only going to sleep there and use the hotel to go around Pisa and other places in Tuscany. Rooms are small but clean and air conditioner effective. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast is not bad for its price. You may want to try it and try elsewhere. The place is crawling with cafés. It is located a few minutes away from main attractions in Pisa. The leaning tower is a few minutes walk up the street. Bus stop from airport and to train station is barely 250 meters away. You can get better quality by paying more. Orthopedic mattress was superb for my liking. Would be willing to use it again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

There's nothing actually wrong with the place. It is clean and functional and very close to centre. But it looks a bit tired and despite location is not good value. But in high season it maybe that it compares well with other offerings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very basic hotel located very close to the sightseeing area of Pisa and lots of restaurants. Also it is located at a 15 minutes’ drive from Pisa airport. You will get a bed, bathroom, free wireless, airconditioning and an optional breakfast, so a good place to stay for one night. The hotel staff is friendlier and more helpful than I have experienced in several 4 star hotels before. Good job! Everything appeared to be clean as well. The negative? I had a very tough night in a depressing room with almost no sleep at all. There was barely any fresh air and no view at all (window was above a roof and there was a constant smell of cooked food) and lots of mosquitos (there was a mosquito net installed but it was broken so useless). I think that lying on the floor would have been softer than lying on the bed. The TV has a 10 inch display (didn’t even know that they exist that small). The room was also quite dark. I realize I made a big mistake choosing a 2 star hotel, as I am used to 4 star hotels and willing to pay for it. I guess if you are willing to except low standards for a low price then this hotel might be OK given the excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We chose this Hotel on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The location is great, close enough to the railway station to walk, and only a stroll from the Duomo and the Torre Pendente. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. A great choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amalfitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfitana

Address: Via Roma, 44, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amalfitana 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amalfitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfitana Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amalfitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.