We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, but not a good place to sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amalfitana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amalfitana to your Saves list
Hotel Amalfitana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 44, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Budapest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good location, but not a good place to sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Located in the heart of Pisa, just a few steps form the Leaning Tower. The staff is nice and helpful.
Our room itself was OK for a two star hotel, but:
- the AC was old and useless, so we had to open the window during the night and listen to some noisy machine all night long that was right next to our window, it was impossible to sleep
- when we flushed the toilet, it gave some terrible noises for like 10 minutes or even more
- erratic water pressure in the shower

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
22
58
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Never been to Italy before made my resevation though booking.com , this hotel was great value for the money , nice staff cosy rooms and near all the main turist things just 200 meter of the hotel , if we gonna come back to Pisa againg we will by 100% stay here at this hotel again ...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on 25 June. Tuscany was in the grip of a heatwave - high 30s. The air-conditioning was old and useless. This meant that we had a very uncomfortable stay. I can honestly say it was the worst night I have ever spent in a hotel. I ended up lying on the floor - the tiles were cool.

If the air con had been decent, this would have been an OK hotel. Decent location, quiet street, large bed, clean room. Down side was a very grumpy receptionist and erratic water pressure.

If you want to stay in Pisa late autumn, winter or early spring, this hotel should be fine.

All in all, I felt that the price was too high for such lack of comfort. I found this hotel in "Time Out", so I expected better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Small hotel very close to the Leaning Tower (4-5min walk), intimate, clean. A 2 star hotel that summons all qualities that it should. Quiet rooms (until 7am when the scooters start to run), cement floors and high ceiling. I would prefer an included breakfast but you can still serve it for a fee of 3euros. Nice helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Amalfitana is tucked away on Via Roma just a five minute stroll from the Piazza del Duomo, which is after all why we are here: to see the Torre pendente di Pisa in the beautiful Cathedral Square.
Not much from the outside, sandwiched between an Indian restaurant and a locals bar, the facade is grossly misleading, for this 14th century converted monastery retains many of its charming internal features.
The family owners are friendly and as helpful as possible, but a total lack of English means its difficult for non-Italian speakers to ask directions, call taxis or hire cars.
But that is only a slight drawback.
The position is what counts and the main medieval streets with bustling shops and restaurants are a few hundred metres away.
A rudimentary breakfast is available in the tiny lobby, along with coffee and a limited selection of alcohol. No matter, two really nice locals cafes are seconds away and are good value too. A glass of decent vino blanco just 1.5 euros?
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with cable tv showing a zillion Italian programmes.
And at just 50 euros a night a veritable bargain.

Room Tip: Choose a double but with single occupancy for a spacy stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perranwell Station, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

The staff were welcoming and very helpful, the location is good...Inside it is just beautiful, very nice hotel, located in the city centre!...I will be back! Rooms are quite and clean and very confortable...!!! Good price, too!Enormous bed which was very comfy and good sized bathroom. The location was perfect for me!Would highly recommend this hotel.
Very much enjoyed staying in this Hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

The friendliness of the family who runs this hotel was one of the nicest part of staying here. The room was better than fine, but nothing too exciting. The air conditioning was not particularly strong, which made sleeping difficult (also, they turn it off for the whole hotel when the maids are cleaning), but the room was spacious and otherwise very comfortable. For one person, they gave me a double bed, which was a nice bonus. The location could not have been better - very close to the Campo dei Miracoli and about a 15 minute walk from the train station. There was breakfast included in the price of the room, which included a croissant, a package of little toast/crackers with jam and a cappuccino (or another beverage if you want). Not much, but still better than nothing!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#15 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#16 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfitana

Address: Via Roma, 44, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amalfitana 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amalfitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfitana Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amalfitana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.