We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good airport stopover hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 81 Hotels in Pisa
Bristol, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good airport stopover hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stopped here for one night on our way back from Siena with a flight the next day. So it was a sort of airport hotel. It's perfect for that. It is very efficient, friendly in an anonymous sort of way and the car they provide to the airport (ten minute drive) is excellent. Breakfast is good and the air-con works well. The room was fine and everything seemed to work as it should. It's a twenty minute walk across the river to the Leaning Tower (but try to find your way through the University quarter…it's lovely too). For a one night stopover with good access to the airport and the Duomo complex it's fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    675
    190
    59
    31
See reviews for
284
738
122
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed one night in June at this lovely hotel. Took advantage of free shuttle to and from airport. Bathroom was modern and quite large by European standards. Staff could not have been nicer. Location is great, close to train station and just a nice walk from the tower. Found the Taste of Tuscany in the lobby bar to be a nice touch. Would stay here anytime I am in Pisa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We were only here for one night and it was a pleasant stay. The hotel is conveniently located to all the main attractions a 15 minute walk to the tower at most.

The breakfast is good and plentiful however it did seem a little hectic. The room was ok for one night. Complimentary water in the mini bar was nice and slippers in the wardrobe.

Even with these nice touches it is still an expensive stay but I guess they can charge what they like being in the location they are.

They also provide a shuttle service which is 5€ per person to the airport. Not bad but this should be provided complimentary.

Average stay at over inflated prices.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed here in the middle of July 2014. My travel party consisted of three adults and a toddler. We only stayed one night as we were flying home out of Pisa after being in Italy for two weeks. We arrived in Pisa via train and took the short walk (less than 10 minutes) from Pisa Centrale to the hotel. The hotel's location proved to be quite convenient mid-point between the central train station and the Leaning Tower (only about a 15-20 minute walk away). Our room wasn't ready when we arrived and we were given some restaurant recommendations from the staff to have lunch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall the customer service was great!

We were booked in a quadruple room which was extremely spacious and consisted of 2 twins and a large queen (two twins pushed together). The room was quite large and featured two bathrooms. The first bathroom had a toilet and shower. The second only had a shower. There was a hot pot for making tea and coffee in the room as well as a minibar. There was free wifi in the room and it worked great. The room did have air conditioning but, due to some construction work on the street in front of the hotel it didn't work consistently due to a power surge. Thankfully by the time we went to bed that night it was up and running on a consistent basis. The room was very tidy as was the rest of the hotel.

My one complaint would be the noise level coming from other rooms and the street. As I previously mentioned there was road construction going on in front of the hotel that didn't wrap up until almost 8 or 9 pm. In addition throughout the night the room above us was extremely noisy. We weren't quite sure if they were stomping their feet or dropping a bowling ball on the floor. This lasted for a good 2 hours (ending around approximately 1:30am). None the less it managed to wake up all three adults (thankfully the toddler slept right through it).

Being that we had an early fight out of Pisa we did not have the opportunity to take advantage of the breakfast offered at the hotel. However, the gentleman working at the front desk offered us coffee while we waited for our cab which, we gladly accepted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Nice and tidy hotel just south of river but wellplaced for all of Pisa. About 15 min slow walk to duomo-tower.
rooms are quiet, clean and modern.
If you book direct with them and cut out brokers, they provide free shuttle to station or airport. They offer price match also. Staff all helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here with my husband and 2 friends for 3 nights. Booked direct with hotel so took advantage of the free pick up and return shuttle from airport. Staff, location, room, breakfast and location all great. Close to railway station and went to Lucca for the day, highly recommend!
Pisa has a lovely atmosphere, there are plenty of good authentic restaurants to try, we had 3,excellent evening dinners at 3 tops restaurants (as seen on trip advisor of course). Shops, bars and cafés are lovely! Italians are so nice! Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Picked up by hotel shuttle from airport, great service! Hotel good central location and near restaurants and shops, 20 minute wander to the main attractions! Hotel staff very helpful, good breakfast. Only thing I would say is that our room was a bit on the dark side with just a small window, but it was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.