We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Pisa
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Picked up by hotel shuttle from airport, great service! Hotel good central location and near restaurants and shops, 20 minute wander to the main attractions! Hotel staff very helpful, good breakfast. Only thing I would say is that our room was a bit on the dark side with just a small window, but it was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    738
    201
    62
    32
See reviews for
315
784
137
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay. Excellent location for seeing the sights of Pisa (20 minute walk from the tower). Room a little dated but very clean and comfortable. Very helpful reception staff and an excellent breakfast. We booked directly with the hotel so had a free shuttle to and from the airport which was very handy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We arrived at Hotel Bologna in the early afternoon and stayed for only one night on our way out of Pisa on an early morning flight. This hotel is only a 10 minute drive to the airport and its quite convenient. We parked our car in their lot, with a 10Euro charge. You leave your keys at the front desk since it is a very small lot. They very kindly re-arranged our car on the edge of the parking lot for our early morning departure.

Our room was really great. We booked a triple and we were put in what appeared to be a very newly renovated suite. The suite was very nice, well-appointed and comfortable. Wifi was free and easy to access.

For us, the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful! She gave us clear driving directions and walking directions to see the sights and recommended a very nice casual, dining restaurant, which suited our needs perfectly. The front desk also arranged for a take-away breakfast since we checked out early. Very nice!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed for three nights on a short city break as two couples. The hotel is well located about half a kilometre, 15 minute walk from the train station, and fifteen minutes the other way to the tower. We spent very little time at the hotel other than breakfast which had a great selection of cereals, meats, cheeses, yoghurts etc. and was more than adequate for our needs. We arrived late due to flights so missed the hotels free shuttle service to the hotel from the airport but utilised this on the way back which is a great added service. If you need to get a taxi from the airport it cost us 10 euros, and took 10 minutes to arrive so a great location for an airport hotel.

Our rooms were great, although the bed was a little too firm for my particular taste they were clean and well decorated with en-suite facilities, well stocked and reasonably priced mini bar and serviced every day. There is free wifi so its easy to keep in touch with the world and I would stay here again if we go back to Pisa.

We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful so I was a bit surprised by some of the the other reviews. Clean well presented hotel in a quiet back street but near enough to bars and restaurants to enjoy your evening time in Pisa. Nearby discovered a great restaurant, the Hostaria Le Repubbliche Marinare, great food and well worth a visit of an evening and a two minute walk away.

We visited Florence on the train for a day out. Cost is 16 euros each return, trains every half hour and don't forget to validate your tickets in the machine on the platforms before travelling - to avoid being fined (we weren't by the way as we remembered to do it).

Room Tip: We overlooked the street, not the best view, but it was quiet and shaded which suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was in Pisa on business and first stayed at a new hotel that was upsale but not different that something you would find in a trendy hotel in New York , San Francisco, etc. When the business was completed, we moved to the Bologna and loved every minute. It was just a couple of weeks before Christmas, and the lobby was beautifully decorated. Our room was quite spacious and our bathroom was obviously newly remodeled. We were in walking distance to the heart of Pisa--but even the tower was not that far away. My cousin was with me--we met in Pisa to enjoy the Christmas shoppping--she currently lives in Germany. These two Texas girls had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The room was spacious but we had booked a family room. The place was quite clean but a bit dusty round the edges. The hotel is very handy for the town and if you book directly with them there's a free shuttle service available. Most of the reception staff were a bit disinterested. Breakfast was a poor standard; crammed in next to other guests and found maggots in the orange juice and when I pointed this out to staff they just replaced one glass of the juice with another.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at Bologna Hotel Pisa for one night while seeing the Pisa sites. We arrived by train from Rome around noon and walked the 10 minutes to the hotel and checked in. We dropped our luggage and headed for the Piazza and Leaning Tower. There is a bridge over the river nearby and it's a straight walk to the tower, which after the river you can start to see. It is crazy how much that thing is leaning (see my review on the Tower!). We did a leisurely walk to the Tower and it took us 15-20 minutes. The route was basically straight and the sidewalks were good. There were several restaurants near the hotel and we stopped and ate on the way back.

I was very happy with the room during our short stay. The hotel was clean and charming, the staff all very friendly and helpful. Our room was big; having the main area with large bed, desk, TV- we also had another area with 2 single beds (great for the luggage). The large windows opened up to a beautiful garden area. The A/C kept us cool and we slept great without any disturbances from inside or out. The bathroom was the roomiest we had in Italy. Overall a very good value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back- we had a beautiful garden view with palm trees. The front is right on a road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.