We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
kent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Centrally located hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Lovely Hotel,about 10 minutes from Pisa airport,5-10 minute walk to Pisa train station and 10-15 minute walk to the leaning tower of Pisa,room very comfortable and clean, flat screen T.V, shower room with hair dryer,our room 018 overlooked courtyard/parking area,nice and quiet, breakfast had a good selection,scrambled eggs,boiled eggs,bacon,selection of cereals and meats,cheeses etc etc,very nice,this Hotel was great value money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    752
    203
    63
    33
See reviews for
319
796
137
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We had a 3 night stay. Very nice friendly hotel close to the airport. great service. Not a new hotel but the bathrooms in the rooms were very clean, nice and modern. Bed perfect for a good night sleep.Breakfast was good.we had a room faceing the street so was some noise in the mornings but overall not to bad.located about 10 minutes walk from the railway station, 4 min walk to the main shoping street and a taxi ride from the airport (about 10 mins) hotel has a shuttle service (7 euro each person)but it only costs about 8-10 Euro with a taxi. We were recommend the resturant close by but it was full the first night so we booked the second. Well worth a visit nice atmosfer and great food very freindly stave. We had a real nice evning there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found pretty good deal on www.booking.com and decided to stay at this hotel for 1 night.
I'll start my review with what I liked the best:

LOCATION
As Pisa is not THAT big, the hotel is walking distance from everything important in the town - from the train station as well as from the Leaning Tower. They even provide shuttle bus to/from the airport, but that costs 5 euros, while city bus tickets costs only 1,40 euros and the bus stops right in front of the hotel.

WIFI
Works perfectly. No more comments needed.

BREAKFAST
Amazing. Variety of choices from Italian prosciutto and different kinds of ham, yoghurts, fresh fruit, egg omelets, fresh juices. Breakfast was something what we really liked. For 6 euros, they will even bring it to your room.

STAFF
That's the thing we liked the least during our stay. The receptionist didn't seem very friendly. They were not rude either, but still - you expect some attitude from receptionist at 4* hotel.

ROOM
Nice and simple. The AC was little bit too loud, though. The walls are nicely painted and the minibar has everything you could ask for. Bathroom could be bigger. What we really didn't like was the view out of our window - as it was facing the inner side of the hotel - the only thing we could see was other walls, therefore there was no day light at all, but since we only spent 1 night, it didn't really upset us


So... ....I'd recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to have a nice stay in Pisa. The hotel has some ups and downs, but what doesn't. And if you find a good deal, you should definitely go for it.

Room Tip: For a good view - definitely not 113.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was really looking forward to this stay. I chose it for a long weekend with my boyfriend. It had good reviews on Trip Advisor and was listed in my Lonely Planet guide and usually, Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet do not let me down. Sadly, they did this time.

It's website says luxury 4* hotel but I do not feel it met up to my expectations when compared to other 4* hotels we've stayed in.

To start with the positives - they do pick you up from the airport and drop you back and they do this for free if you book with them. Breakfast is reasonable - a good spread of your typical continental spread - best to ask for a real coffee and not take the American coffee that you can help yourself too at the buffet. They also do food samples in the breakfast room. The breakfast room and reception area is beautifully decorated and I quite liked the wall art in the car park. The cleaner was very friendly and did the best job she could in our room. The location is also ideal as it sits nicely in between the train station (if you fancy venturing to places like Florence and Lucca) and a nice walk to the Piazza dei Miracoli to see the leaning tower, cemetery, cathedral and baptistery.

Sadly, the negative aspects out weigh the positives for me, While the reception area could be argued to meet 4*, I really don't think the decor of the rooms could. They were dated with garish walls and furniture in my opinion. The bathroom was very small. The room heating units above our heads, when used, created a musty damp atmosphere. The walls were very thin - you could hear neighbours even when they were talking in a low voice and the floors were tiled so you could hear suitcases rolling past your door quite loudly through the thin walls when guests were leaving early which wasn't ideal.

The receptionists weren't very friendly or helpful. They could only provide the name of one restaurant even though there were plenty around when we got out and about and they didn't seem to know the area particularly well (although they do have maps to hand and train times if required). I'm used to staff at 4* hotels always having plenty of knowledge and recommendations but they didn't meet expectations here.

The luggage area is also not very secure. It's just a room by reception where any guest can walk in and out and take what they like - I would recommend a ticketed system and that the hotel keep it locked so that guests luggage is safer.

I asked to see a manager a few times to discuss my concerns but each time, I was told he'd be in later or the following day and he never appeared.

For these reasons, I don't feel the place is good value for money at all. If you can get a cheap deal, aren't bothered about customer service and just want to rest your head for the night, this place is in the perfect location but it wasn't good for my objectives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good location. Walking distance to the train station and the tourist stuff. The hotel room was so hot we couldn't stay in the room and we got very little sleep. We asked if the heating could be turned off in the room but this was not possible , it was on a timer. Also the hotel was very noisy. We complained again the next morning and we were told it would be reported to management . We have not heard anything from the hotel since our stay on the 28 th December. Breakfast was average . I won't be staying here again

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We only stayed in Pisa one night but we're very happy with our hotel choice. The staff were friendly, our room was clean and the breakfast was lovely! It's well located as Pisa is small and you can walk around quite quickly. The only issue we had was with the Wifi dropping out a lot but all in all an enjoyable experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Easy to get to by taxi from airport as the shuttle bus was not running due to our late night arrival. The front entrance was well lit and inviting. Lovely reception area, with very elegant feel and furnishings. We were warmly greeted on arrival and check in was very smooth. The information was clear, helpful. and courteous. There were also little pastries to take to our room as a late evening snack. Double room was a good big size and as we were travelling from Australia we could fit our luggage bags in without falling over them. The air conditioning worked well and the room was spotless. Having tea and coffee making facilities in the room was a bonus for us, especially with our late arrival. The room also had a king bed, slippers included and 6 strong coat hooks on the wall. The lighting options for reading in the room were excellent and the best we have encountered in our constant travelling. Wifi worked well and free bottled water was supplied in our room.
Breakfast was an extensive buffet delight and set in a beautiful room with paintings on the walls. Selections varied from pastries, cakes, breads to meats, fresh fruits, egg dishes, and pancakes. Service was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel's location is ideal and well within walking distance to the Leaning Tower. We felt safe and confident wandering through the streets, crossing the river and taking the shopping streets to the tower.
A fantastic stopover on our way to Lucca and I only wish I had stayed longer to enjoy the stylish opulence of the hotel, it's surrounding location, location, location and the relaxing rooftop garden area with its comfortable cane seating. Thank you for looking after us so very well. I would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are possibly quieter in the daytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.