We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good one night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We booked the Bologna hotel after reading positive reviews on Tripadvisor and finding a really cheap rate through a third party. At only $130, and just for one night, we weren't going to be too fussy! An easy walk straight from Pisa station, we arrived early to ask if we could leave luggage, but were checked in anyway, even though it was only 11.30 am it wasn't a problem.
The hotel is an easy 15 minute walk to the Leaning Tower and the area felt very safe.
Wi-fi didn't reach past the lobby, but the access codes were in the bedrooms.
The included breakfast was fine (cereals, pastries etc) but it was a bit of a flustered situation with everyone trying to get at the food to take back to their table. Definitely wasn't an easy or enjoyable breakfast, but the food itself was quite fine.
The rates seem to vary quite a lot for this hotel, we looked at booking an extra night before we had arrived and rates were listed at $280. Had I paid that for a night I would have been extremely disappointed, but at the prepaid rate we had, we were satisfied. Would recommend as somewhere convenient to stay, is also just around the corner from the Uffizi gallery which we loved visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. For the following readers, I would like to clarify one of your indications: The rate of 280 (Euros, not $) are the rack-rates. Rack-rates are maximum rates per room we have to publicize by law. This rates cannot be exceeded during the year, and in very rare occasions (trade-fair, holiday) rack-rates will be applied. Standard-Rates on average are around 50% lower! Please note also that we offer best-price-policy and that shuttle service is free of charge if the (room)-reservation is made directly with us. For any further question, please feel free to contact us. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    692
    187
    62
    28
See reviews for
270
703
117
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and me booked this hotel after reading the good reviews on the site. It is actually the first time that these reviews let us down. Usually the reviews are spot on. We book hotels frequently and we have always been happy with the hotel choices we have made based on the tripadvisor reviews. However this has been the first time that we have been hugely disapointed with a hotel. Awful experience. The hotel was awfully dated and didnt have an apropiate bar but used the breakfast room as a sort of a bar which did not look inviting at all. The rooms were dated and not nice. We booked a room with a bath but on our arrival we were given a room with a shower and had to change rooms the next day after a lot of complaining and hassle. The hotel didnt even have a decent hall-reception area expected of a four stars hotel but a sort of sitting room really dated and small.The reception staff were not friendly at all. I have been in italy quite a few times and always found that reception staff smile at you and say bone jorno or something of the sort everytime but not this lot. We also had neigbourghs on the next room who played music really loud at 7 oclock in the morning every day and the hotel did nothing about it.We stayed in this hotel for three nights but tried to spend as much time as possible out of the hotel as it was really not nice. We were amazed that this hotel is four stars as we have been in three stars wich were a lot nicer than this one. Location is acceptable and you do get a free shuttle service from the airport- these are the only positive things we can say about it.

Room Tip: make sure you call the hotel and confirm that your room has a bath as you booked on their website if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Valued guest, usually we appreciate every feedback, good ones as well - on bad days - bad ones. But honestly in this case I am quite disappointed. You received free airport shuttle service, free cakes and muffins at check-in, free water from the minibar, free Internet access and free tasting of typically tuscan products on our hotel bar and you didn´t like anything at all? Hard to believe. The booking-engine on our websites indicates "private bathroom", not bath-tub. We have 5 rooms with bath-tub, the rest are with showers, for obvious reason we don´t provide them in the booking-engine, but you can request them. If, and only if available, we will assign a room with tub. All our staff have excellent language skills and on average speak 3 languages. They also greet every client with Buongiorno, not "bone jorno", and are happy to help, as far as they don´t get hassled and insulted for false cases. The pictures on our website are a 100% corresponding impression of our lounge area, bar and breakfast area. No Photoshop, no tricks. Also Tripadvisor and other social networks provide enough "User Generated Content" giving a very clear and transparent impression of our hotel ambient, made and provided by guests, not by our Marketing Department. Offending, insulting and defaming is not the solution. Best regards. Luca Gherardi - Hotel Bologna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Up a fairly dark alley way is the superb Holel Bologna, close to the railway station one way and the river the other, this hotel has really made an effort to impress. Very nice in all ways but what I really liked as a vegan was the massive selection for breakfast. Rooms great, tv, mini bar, and with friendly staff it is a little slice of luxury to stay here. Very happy stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your very nice feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us and you had a good time in Pisa. Our staff is following this forum and surely will be happy to see your compliments. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We prearranged our collection from the Airport with the hotel, a phone call to them and ten minutes later their shuttle arrived, the driver off loaded the cases and put them in reception for us, the cost was 5 euros per person. First impressions were very favourable, clean, well lit and courteous receptionist. We were allocated our room on the second floor, Room 208 in our case, accessed by lift or stairway, with cases the lift was chosen! The room overlooked the street where the entranced is located, the street is narrow and one way only. The room was very clean, with two singles fastened together which were very comfortable, wardrobe, with two integral drawers and a safe. modern slimline digital TV, kettle with tea/coffee making facilities. A fridge is well stocked with all the necessary drink, two small bottles of water were provided free of charge. The décor was very pleasant with hand painted design over the bed, the air conditioning worked efficiently, and was required even in early October. The flooring was of wood design, and very comfortable underfoot, slippers were provided FOC. There was a 4 inch step up to the en suite which was extremely well appointed, modern wash hand basin mounted on a wooded table, toilet, bidet and a good sized shower cubicle which was effective. The room was accessed with a credit card type key .Free WIFI can be obtained in the bedroom and the lounge which contains a computer, the lounge has some nice leather furniture which was very comfortable.
Breakfasts were ample with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheeses, breads, fruit juices, tea or coffee, cooked bacon and scrambled egg. Tables were paired in the majority of cases, so most of the time one would be seated alongside another couple. Breakfasts were served between 0700 and 1030.
The hotel is located 600 yards or so from the Railway Station, and 150 yards south of the River Arno, which is crossed by a number of bridges, with immediate access to the 'old town'. The Leaning Tower, Cathedral and Camposanto etc are a15 minute walk away down Via Santa Maria. In total we stayed at the hotel for four nights, and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hard to put a finger on it, but we were disappointed with our one night at the Bologna, particularly after the rave reviews it received. Top whack room price, OK breakfast, front desk staff not living up to the claims of friendliness and helpfulness. Bell and airport shuttle staff were very good. We had a good sized room, with smallish shower en suite but all a bit sterile. We did not use the little garden but can see that it would be a nice spot for a drink in the summer. Well positioned near bust restaurant areas and 12 - 15 minutes walk from the tower

Room Tip: We were in 107 which is a triple so good if travelling with a child
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is ideally placed to get to shopping areas, tourist sites and public transport to and from airport/rail station. There is a shuttle also if you need it. We were told there was a cost for the shuttle, but others on the site have said this is a free service, check with reception as this may have changed. The room was at the rear of the hotel on the first floor. It was rustic looking but spacious and met our needs. It was very quiet. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and recommended a lovely restaurant nearby. The breakfast was superb. All in all a 5 star experience. Stayed for two nights before travelling onto Florence for a wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night together with 3 friends. The car park beside the hotel was a bit on the tight side but we managed. As we entered the hotel from the back we thought it looked quaint and thought the added extra of fresh pastries and water was a nice touch. The staff are very professional too. Our room was a good size and clean, the view was nothing to write home about- it was a WALL but we didn't mind. There is an option of changing your pillow from a 'pillow menu which we took advantage of.

There is a small lounge area and a computer for internet access within the reception area. The hotel is well located, we easily walked to the tower and other attractions.

The breakfast was very good, there was a good selection of pastries, breads, fruit (lovely), yoghurt, cereals, meats, cheeses etc and very good coffee! (Breakfast was included in the price).

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.