We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived Up To The Reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 hotels in Pisa
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Lived Up To The Reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed only one night on our arrival into Italy. Pleasant reception staff members who spoke English both at check-in and then departure. We caught a taxi from the airport for about E11. The hotel is in a reasonable location and is within easy walking distances both to the Tower (15-20 minutes) and to the Train Station (10 minutes). Breakfast was of a good standard with plenty of choice.
The standard room was clean, fairly modern and the overall ambiance of the hotel is definitely 4 stars. We had a back room and the noise level overnight was not an issue.
Pisa city is well worth more than a half day stop.

Room Tip: A back room off the street facing the courtyard should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    660
    182
    59
    29
See reviews for
281
717
121
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lovely clean hotel in a good position. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Rooms clean and what you would expect for this star rating. I would stay again! A bonus is being near the train station as well as shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. I had been there 2 years ago and really loved the helpful, friendly staff and they were still wonderful. It's easy to walk to the tower and cathedral area. We loved the double paned windows which afforded peace and quiet in a noisy city. The breakfast was large and varied and we took a wicker tray outside to the terrace and enjoyed our meal in the air. It's very easy to take side trips so we spent a lovely day in beautiful Siena. The price is right for all the amenities and VERY helpful, VERY pleasant staff......something not found everywhere and worth it's weight in gold!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are coming to Pisa just to look at the legendary leaning tower think again. Do yourself and your co-travellers a favour and stop a night or two at the Bologna Hotel Pisa. Located down the narrow and inconspicuous Via Mazzini , it is an 8 minute easy walk from the Pisa railway station.
To take a taxi means it has to do a long loop around Pisa to cope with one way only streets.
You can walk in the same time. Even my cab driver was embarrassed by the cost for a simple straight line journey and said so. The Hotel is beautifully and Italian tastefully fitted out. Adequate room sizes includes bathrooms and shower cubicles. Very inexpensive on my advance purchase.
Local restaurants are happily and correctly recommended from Reception. Just do it.
By the way the tower is actually spectacular as is the shopping for Madame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was at the hotel for one night and it was absolutely fine. I had booked a single room and it was fairly small and tucked into a building behind the main building, next to car park. Had I been staying for longer this might have been disappointing. It's about 10 minutes walk from the railway station. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was OK but very busy so it wasn't a very relaxed experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was ok.
The service is very good, the staff speaks perfect English (not so common in Italy).
The room was quite small and simple but clean and cosy. The hotel itself is old and could need some renovation.
Although we booked a double room there was only one device allowed to use the hotel wifi per room and that was quite inconvenient, since we both had smartphones and tablets.
We liked the breakfast, the choice was fresh and tasty. Everything worth seeing is in a walking distance.
I do recommend this hotel for couples for short stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main train station and 15-20 mins from the Leaning Tower. All things I wanted to see were easily walkable. It is just to the east of the main shopping street in Pisa and has small restaurants dotted around the side streets adjacent. Hotel staff are friendly and the room was simple but clean and tidy. The breakfast was included and was fantastic. All up, a good experience and I would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.