We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seamless luxury and” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Seamless luxury and”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are coming to Pisa just to look at the legendary leaning tower think again. Do yourself and your co-travellers a favour and stop a night or two at the Bologna Hotel Pisa. Located down the narrow and inconspicuous Via Mazzini , it is an 8 minute easy walk from the Pisa railway station.
To take a taxi means it has to do a long loop around Pisa to cope with one way only streets.
You can walk in the same time. Even my cab driver was embarrassed by the cost for a simple straight line journey and said so. The Hotel is beautifully and Italian tastefully fitted out. Adequate room sizes includes bathrooms and shower cubicles. Very inexpensive on my advance purchase.
Local restaurants are happily and correctly recommended from Reception. Just do it.
By the way the tower is actually spectacular as is the shopping for Madame.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    675
    190
    59
    31
See reviews for
284
738
122
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was at the hotel for one night and it was absolutely fine. I had booked a single room and it was fairly small and tucked into a building behind the main building, next to car park. Had I been staying for longer this might have been disappointing. It's about 10 minutes walk from the railway station. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was OK but very busy so it wasn't a very relaxed experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was ok.
The service is very good, the staff speaks perfect English (not so common in Italy).
The room was quite small and simple but clean and cosy. The hotel itself is old and could need some renovation.
Although we booked a double room there was only one device allowed to use the hotel wifi per room and that was quite inconvenient, since we both had smartphones and tablets.
We liked the breakfast, the choice was fresh and tasty. Everything worth seeing is in a walking distance.
I do recommend this hotel for couples for short stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The hotel is about 10 mins walk from the main train station and 15-20 mins from the Leaning Tower. All things I wanted to see were easily walkable. It is just to the east of the main shopping street in Pisa and has small restaurants dotted around the side streets adjacent. Hotel staff are friendly and the room was simple but clean and tidy. The breakfast was included and was fantastic. All up, a good experience and I would definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

...and one night is really all you need in Pisa. To be honest, even that's pushing it.

Despite checking in at the normal time, we still managed to have possibly the worst room in place (Italy seems to have a problem with people using discount websites, so it seems you consistently end up with a "courtyard room", inevitably facing a wall, ensuring it is small and dark). Nonetheless, it was clean, pleasant, and functional. It had a stand-in shower, which after days of baths, was appreciated! We actually woke up in the morning being cold, so I can't fault the quality of the air-conditioning either! :) Staff were cordial and prompt, if somewhat indifferent. In the morning, the hotel provided handouts with overviews of news in UK, US, and France: being a Brit living in the US, I really appreciated this! Location was great: about 10 minutes' walk from the train station, and 15 minutes from the Tower of Pisa.

Breakfast was absolutely mediocre at best. Self-serve from the diluted orange juice (cordial) to your tea and coffee. Fruit was fresh; not sure about the baked goods (if they weren't stale, they were overcooked). However, it was edible, if you're okay having your cereal with warm milk (c'mon, you might like it...though probably not, if I'm honest). There wasn't much seating, but we found a place quickly (unlike some others who arrived later than us), so personally can't complain.

Wi-fi was free and functional but limited to two devices. (I increasingly have a problem with hotels not providing free wi-fi to as many devices as I wish. Seriously, hotels: I'm easily impressed, as long as I have a glass of wine and wi-fi: good breakfast is optional...)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed over for one night before heading to a Villa in Southern Italy. We were two families, one with a teenager and two smaller ones and the other with a young daughter and twin babies. The teenager got her own room and we were given a family room which had two single beds in an L shaped extension to the room all at a regular hotel room rate (for this class). We usually end up paying for adjoining rooms. The layout while very cosy gave the feeling that kids were in a separate room (although visible from the bed). The staff were extremely helpful and while it felt informal / family run the room was well equipped. Location was great, a quiet back street - a healthy walk to the tower and the main attractions and surrounded by too many eating options to mention. Wifi worked well and bed and shower. The rooms may have felt a little small for a long stay but for a short weekend break - perfect. I should also add that we had considerable dialogue about room options with such a complex group ahead of arrival and the team were extremely helpful even pointing out that the suite while more expensive gave us no real advantage in terms of space. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate but we did not eat lunch or dinner there.

Room Tip: If you have small kids then opt for a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although this hotel is located very conveniently for the sights and the airport, we were very disappointed. Our room (described by the front desk as 'very nice') was depressing: tired with little natural light. We didn't find the staff very sincere either. Worst of all was the breakfast buffet. We had to queue for some time to get into the buffet as there wasn't enough seating for everyone. Eventually, we were offered trays to get our food and take it out onto the terrace instead - this entailed carrying our breakfast through the front lobby, via a car park and up a flight of stairs to a wasp infested terrace! However, given that the food was barely warm and the bread stale, we didn't hang around too long to eat it anyway. Not impressed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.