We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our holiday in Italy. We travelled from the airport by cab, which took about 10 minutes and cost less then 10 euros for 3 people and luggage. The hotel is located on the other side of the river from Pisa's main attractions, but don't let this put you off. It is only about a 20 minute stroll to the tower etc. booking in was quick and the staff spoke excellent English and provided a map and good restaurant recommendations. Our room was a decent size with a king size bed and a single for a child. It was clean and tidy with air con. We were at the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor looking out into the street. I was a bit concerned about noise, but quite frankly didn't hear anything. The bed was very comfortable and we all had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was Buffett style with a good choice of hot and cold foods. We used the hotels airport shuttle service to return to the hotel, which cost 5 euros per person and was easy to book.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    671
    689
    186
    62
    28
See reviews for
270
697
117
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights (2 adults 2 kids) in a family room during August.

The major plus of this hotel is the location - about 20 mins walk from the Leaning Tower but right next to the river and within walking distance of lovely piazzas etc.

Family room was a double bedroom plus a little adjoining room with 2 singles - perfectly adequate given that we were out most of the day. Short stay was fine.

Breakfast is fine too - good selection. And the staff very friendly and happy to deal with queries.

I have given a 5 rating but remember this isn't a 5 star hotel. I wouldn't call it luxurious but it was clean and tidy with friendly staff, air-con and a decent breakfast in a super location in the heart of the city.

Recommended. I booked via hotel.com and got a good deal.

Room Tip: Family room was fine. View wasn't great (aircon unit) but didn't matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night in July 2013. I was in the area and had decided rather than braving Pisa in the middle of the day on a day trip I'd spend a night here so I could explore in the evening and morning.

The hotel is an easy walk from the station and I arrived before my room was ready. I left my bags in the hotels storage but found the service pretty indifferent and had to ask when I could return and get in the room etc.

The single room was cosy but had enough space to unpack and spread out a bit. The breakfast was reasonably good as far as hotel buffets go. All in all a comfortable night,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Hotel Bologna is a jewel of a Hotel near the Arno River, super location, fabulous breakfast on a lovely terrace(or breakfast room inside) and free shuttle to and from airport and train station!! The staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful!! Will surely stay again next year as rooms are delightful also. Bravo, bravo!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed in the hotel on arrival in Tuscany before setting off into the wilderness to find the rented apartment. The Hotel was extremely easy to find from the airport, and although the parking is a bit random it seems to work. The room was good, although I don't agree with the previous reviewer on the effectiveness of the a/c, however, it was a challenging time.
Breakfast was fine, great recommendation for dinner, just around the corner.
I would plan to stay too long in Pisa as it doesn't take long to cover the sights.
Would definitely stay there again if visiting Pisa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago but not as impressed as previously.
Plus side is:
Convenience to the train station and airport with free transfers if you book the room direct with the hotel and fairly cheap if you have booked through a hotel agency site. Very friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast with a reasonable selection and bacon and egg if required. Nice 20 minute walk to the tower through small streets and over the river, passing some restaurants. Quiet if you get the right room. They will do their best to allow you to check in early if the room is available.
Down side is:
We had asked for a quiet twin room but were allocated a room overlooking the noisy extract fans. They offered us a couple of other rooms and we chose the quietest one but the twin beds we had asked for were only 2ft 6in beds and not very comfortable. The air conditioning didn't work properly and it was very hot in the night. I think the type of room varies considerably as on my last stay I had a lovely comfortable room so quite dissapointed this time, especially as I had e-mailed the hotel seperately. Due to this we chose to stay elsewhere on our return

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were forced to spend one night in Pisa as we had been unable to find a car to hire until the following day and this hotel made the whole experience a pleasant one. The room was small but pleasant and the hotel was clean with frescoed wall., The hotel offered a neat efficient breakfast service. There is a shuttle service though it was not offered at the time we required it. Service was polite and friendly. We would stay here again if we ever need to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.