We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for one night plus free pastries and water in reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect for one night plus free pastries and water in reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night to visit the attractions in Pisa. The location was excellent and we could walk from here to the square that houses all Pisa's main attractions. The room although small was clean and comfortable and the price was very good and included breakfast.
One nice touch was providing pastries and free cold water in reception for all guests.
There were also free newspapers and a spacious lounge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    675
    190
    59
    31
See reviews for
284
738
122
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Although the hotel is not all bad it suffers in a number of areas. Firstly, I would like to say that the hotel is comfortable and reasonably well positioned for the station and airport. However, it lets itself down in a number of areas that could easily be rectified if there was the corporate wish to do so.
My first gripe was that the room was not ready for us despite going away for 2 hours to give them time to prepare it. When we returned we had another 10 minute wait.
Secondly, the free wi-fi did not work in the room we were allocated. So, I had to move my bags to another room on another floor to get it to work.
The room allocated at the front of he hotel is extremely noisy with traffic up to about 11pm and then again from about 7 am onwards.
Thirdly, despite advertising a free shuttle bus from and to the airport and railway station, it turns out that the bus is only available free of charge if you book directly through them and not via assay jet or ' Booking.com' or some other agency. They charge a further €5 per person per trip thus running dual standards for their guests.
Although this sounds like a lot of whingeing, and it probably is, the hotel was ok. I have stayed in better for similar or less money.

Room Tip: I suggest a room on the top floor preferably at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your experience in this forum.
It is clearly stated on our own website (in text, foto and video-tutorial) that shuttle-service is free of charge only for direct bookings. There are also sufficient reviews from previous guests reporting the same fact on Tripadvisor. It is in our own interest to show 100% transparency and give clear advises, so we repeat: Who wants to save money reads the advises and then decides where to make his reservation.

If we made you waiting too long for check-in, please accept my sincere apologises. As I don´t see your full name and check-in-date (and hour), I am note able to give a clear and honest response about the reasons of this issue. But please be sure that this is not our service standard. We are sorry for this.

If there is anything we can do for your in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to help.

Best regards
Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our sixth visit to the Hotel for myself and my daughter We would not stay anywhere else in Pisa. Excellent bedroom, very spacious and clean. Bathroom well stocked with Toiletries. Staff are very pleasant and helpful.Plenty of choice at Breakfast. The Hotel is well situated for the Leaning Tower, shopping and the Railway station.The Terrace is lovely to sit and relax.
A good base for either touring by car or train.
Airport shuttle bus a real bonus. We look forward to our next visit in 2014.

Sharon and Rachael

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We only stayed at the hotel for one night but we found the room to be a good size with a good size bathroom and large shower, the room was very clean with free toiletries. There were also tea and coffee making facilities. The view from room was not spectacular but as we were only there for one night it did not bother us. There is a lovely terrace where you can sit and have a drink or read a book. Breakfast was plentiful and we would recommend this hotel if staying in Pisa. We also used the hotel shuttle bus to the airport. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your very nice review. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us and you appreciated our breakfast and other services. I would like to specify one information for following readers: Our shuttle service is free of charge only if you made your room booking directly with us, for all other bookings the shuttle service is still available at a very reasonable and fair rate of 5,00 Euro per Person. We invite you to use the chance to save money. We hope to welcome you soon again at Hotel Bologna and wish you a very good time.
Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here recently for one night on the way to another destination. The room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful with both directions and with the use of the free shuttle to/from airport and train. The breakfast was good, with a fair amount of options. I am not quite sure about the location, there may be better options. I only used this as a home base to quickly stop and see the tower and a few other things and although walking distance it is about a 15 minute walk if not more. For the very reasonable price I thought this hotel was well worth it and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for your kind feedback. We are happy to see you had a great time with us. Indeed, the shuttle service is free of charge for all (room)-bookings made directly with us. For all other bookings the shuttle service is available for 5,00 Euros per person. Please take advantage of this opportunity to save money. "Not sure about the Location"?... Well... We are in the heart of the historical Pisa, all points of interests are in walking distance, if trainstation, shopping, restaurants, bars or museums. It is all only a stone throw away. We had even very sportive guests which walked from the airport to the hotel. Well, to be honest this is a little bit too ambitious, but the real distance is only 3 kilometers, so still close enough for those who are in transit or in hurry. If there is something we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is complicated to find so I recommend approaching from the river end of the street, examine the map before you go! To access the hotel you have to drive into a traffic restricted zone but the hotel is well organised - you sign a declaration and the fines are quashed and there is parking available. The hotel is well equipped with good roomy rooms, comfortable beds and certainly in the room we had excellent bathroom facilities. All staff were very helpful, wifi worked, small bar/lounge area was good in which to relax. Breakfast serve-yourself had good quality and a good selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, bread, pastries and bacon and egg! We had no complaints at all, and the location is about 15mins walk from the leaning tower with many restaurants and bars within easy walking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest,
thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your very nice feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. In fact we give a special permit for the resident area, for following readers: It is your responsibility to communicate us the number of your plate during the check-in, please not before and not after. The hotel is easy to access if you search as orientation the "Ponte di Mezzo", the middle bridge of Pisa, between Lungarno Galileo Galilei and Lungarno Gambacorti.
We would be very happy to welcome you soon again and wish you a good time. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shutesbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was comfortable, quiet and clean. The staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was plentiful. The location is decent. The staff was especially helpful in accommodating the drop off of my bicycle from the rental company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our Hotel and for your nice review. We are happy to see you had a great time with us. We hope to welcome you soon again in Pisa. There are a lot of miles waiting for you and the bicycle. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.