We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 83 hotels in Pisa
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here recently for one night on the way to another destination. The room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful with both directions and with the use of the free shuttle to/from airport and train. The breakfast was good, with a fair amount of options. I am not quite sure about the location, there may be better options. I only used this as a home base to quickly stop and see the tower and a few other things and although walking distance it is about a 15 minute walk if not more. For the very reasonable price I thought this hotel was well worth it and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for your kind feedback. We are happy to see you had a great time with us. Indeed, the shuttle service is free of charge for all (room)-bookings made directly with us. For all other bookings the shuttle service is available for 5,00 Euros per person. Please take advantage of this opportunity to save money. "Not sure about the Location"?... Well... We are in the heart of the historical Pisa, all points of interests are in walking distance, if trainstation, shopping, restaurants, bars or museums. It is all only a stone throw away. We had even very sportive guests which walked from the airport to the hotel. Well, to be honest this is a little bit too ambitious, but the real distance is only 3 kilometers, so still close enough for those who are in transit or in hurry. If there is something we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    674
    692
    187
    62
    28
See reviews for
270
703
117
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is complicated to find so I recommend approaching from the river end of the street, examine the map before you go! To access the hotel you have to drive into a traffic restricted zone but the hotel is well organised - you sign a declaration and the fines are quashed and there is parking available. The hotel is well equipped with good roomy rooms, comfortable beds and certainly in the room we had excellent bathroom facilities. All staff were very helpful, wifi worked, small bar/lounge area was good in which to relax. Breakfast serve-yourself had good quality and a good selection of meats, cheeses, fruits, bread, pastries and bacon and egg! We had no complaints at all, and the location is about 15mins walk from the leaning tower with many restaurants and bars within easy walking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest,
thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your very nice feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. In fact we give a special permit for the resident area, for following readers: It is your responsibility to communicate us the number of your plate during the check-in, please not before and not after. The hotel is easy to access if you search as orientation the "Ponte di Mezzo", the middle bridge of Pisa, between Lungarno Galileo Galilei and Lungarno Gambacorti.
We would be very happy to welcome you soon again and wish you a good time. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shutesbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room was comfortable, quiet and clean. The staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was plentiful. The location is decent. The staff was especially helpful in accommodating the drop off of my bicycle from the rental company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our Hotel and for your nice review. We are happy to see you had a great time with us. We hope to welcome you soon again in Pisa. There are a lot of miles waiting for you and the bicycle. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great situation for shopping one block away, room was good size but noisy at night as we where over the street, good breakfast , very pleasant and helpful staff if you have the time visit Luca 40mn by train 6EU return.

Room Tip: Try a room at the rear much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. All our windows are double panned and the front street is a limited traffic area, with no bus traffic during night hours and only residents access. Oneway to Lucca by train is 26 minutes, to be correct, the round-ticket 6,60 Euros. Walking distance from our Hotel to the trainstation is only 5-6 minutes. Best conditions for short-trips to other nearby cities. Hope to see you soon again in our hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked this hotel online based on description and ease of access (free shuttle to/from airport and train station). Was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was in amenities, staff, and the provided morning breakfast. Room was very nice, bed very comfortable (and we're fussy about that), a nice short walk over the river to join the tourist masses in the Piazza and Leaning Tower (passing through the Corso italiano shopping area on the way). Near some nice restaurants (5 minutes max)

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are preferable, although the windows are all double paned and we had no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are glad to see you had a great with us. For our following readers please let me specify only one thing: We offer free shuttle service for all (room)-bookings made directly with us. For all other bookings the shuttle is available for 5,00 Euro per Person and from 07.00 am until 09.00 pm. Have a good time! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I doubt if there is a better hotel than this in Pisa in its class. I booked based on high tripadvisor, booking.com and hotels.com reviews and it lived upto the expectations. The hotel is rated 4-stars and deserves it. The hotel has a classy old-style feel to it. The location is not bad (€9.30 from airport by taxi and 15min walk to the tower). Pisa itself is very small and you could easily walk from one end of the town to another easily. We got a family room with a lovely balcony (nearly a suite) for just €105 per night. Bathrooms were very clean and well equipped with toiletries. Included in the price was airport transfer (we could not avail this on inward trip as flight landed at 9pm and last shuttle was at 8:30 pm), breakfast, mineral water from the minibar (which hotel gives any minibar item free?) and free wifi. The reception is well manned at all times and has complimentary home made cakes and mineral water. We had the opportunity to be served by three different receptionists and all of them very polite, helpful, cheerful and keen on making your holiday great. (One of the suggested a nearby restuarant La Republic Marinare for breakfast and that was really great too). Breakfast was not bad but though you cannot call it best-in-class. Cappucino at the breakfast was great. I have given sleep quality 4-stars despite having a great experience as I suspect the hotel (and the town itself) has lot of mosquitoes. I saw mosquito repellent in the rooms though we never had to use it. We did not use the swimming pool and I am not sure if there is one either.

Room Tip: Book Early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your very nice review. "Best in class" maybe is setting the barrier too high, but we are trying our best to be on the top, or at least very near. Please note that shuttle service is free of charge for all direct bookings. Mosquitos are indeed a problem in Pisa and most parts of Tuscany. We offer free electronic repellents in the rooms and with air-condition usually there are no problems. Hope to see you soon again in Pisa. Have a good time. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This could be a very good hotel, but unfortunately there are a number of significant issues. We had a long day travelling by train to this hotel from Parma arriving at 5.30 pm we were informed that our room was not ready and there would be at least a 30 min wait. When I queried this with reception When asked about our stay; the reason given was not satisfactory they were too busy.!!! You can imagine my abject horror. Even more so when they offered a complimentary drink but only coffee or water, we could have got those from our room had it been ready!!

The hotel is conveniently placed close to heart of most sights and well within walking distance of many, the hotel is nice and cool during the very hot weather which is pleasing. Breakfast is good part from the coffee which is at best only warm and we note this has been an ongoing situation at the hotel and subject to many similar comments in the past. The. Breakfast room is very cramped but, otherwise a good varied selection of food

Yes, we would consider staying at this hotel in the future, despite the arrogance of certain staff members who really should not be at front of desk if they are unwilling to help. Once again we note similar comments have been made a number of times before.

Could be a great hotel, a pity.

O

Room Tip: Great during hot weather - cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your opinion here in this forum. Please accept our deep apologises for the inconvenience and waiting for check-in upon arrival. We discussed this with our staff, analysed the situation and improved our operation processes. I guess staff did not react with arrogance, but they did not have enough capabilities to provide alternative solutions. Please be sure that this will not happen again in future. If there is anything we can do for you in future, don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.