We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bologna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Bologna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great situation for shopping one block away, room was good size but noisy at night as we where over the street, good breakfast , very pleasant and helpful staff if you have the time visit Luca 40mn by train 6EU return.

Room Tip: Try a room at the rear much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. All our windows are double panned and the front street is a limited traffic area, with no bus traffic during night hours and only residents access. Oneway to Lucca by train is 26 minutes, to be correct, the round-ticket 6,60 Euros. Walking distance from our Hotel to the trainstation is only 5-6 minutes. Best conditions for short-trips to other nearby cities. Hope to see you soon again in our hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    675
    190
    59
    31
See reviews for
284
738
122
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Booked this hotel online based on description and ease of access (free shuttle to/from airport and train station). Was pleasantly surprised at how nice it was in amenities, staff, and the provided morning breakfast. Room was very nice, bed very comfortable (and we're fussy about that), a nice short walk over the river to join the tourist masses in the Piazza and Leaning Tower (passing through the Corso italiano shopping area on the way). Near some nice restaurants (5 minutes max)

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are preferable, although the windows are all double paned and we had no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are glad to see you had a great with us. For our following readers please let me specify only one thing: We offer free shuttle service for all (room)-bookings made directly with us. For all other bookings the shuttle is available for 5,00 Euro per Person and from 07.00 am until 09.00 pm. Have a good time! Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I doubt if there is a better hotel than this in Pisa in its class. I booked based on high tripadvisor, booking.com and hotels.com reviews and it lived upto the expectations. The hotel is rated 4-stars and deserves it. The hotel has a classy old-style feel to it. The location is not bad (€9.30 from airport by taxi and 15min walk to the tower). Pisa itself is very small and you could easily walk from one end of the town to another easily. We got a family room with a lovely balcony (nearly a suite) for just €105 per night. Bathrooms were very clean and well equipped with toiletries. Included in the price was airport transfer (we could not avail this on inward trip as flight landed at 9pm and last shuttle was at 8:30 pm), breakfast, mineral water from the minibar (which hotel gives any minibar item free?) and free wifi. The reception is well manned at all times and has complimentary home made cakes and mineral water. We had the opportunity to be served by three different receptionists and all of them very polite, helpful, cheerful and keen on making your holiday great. (One of the suggested a nearby restuarant La Republic Marinare for breakfast and that was really great too). Breakfast was not bad but though you cannot call it best-in-class. Cappucino at the breakfast was great. I have given sleep quality 4-stars despite having a great experience as I suspect the hotel (and the town itself) has lot of mosquitoes. I saw mosquito repellent in the rooms though we never had to use it. We did not use the swimming pool and I am not sure if there is one either.

Room Tip: Book Early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your very nice review. "Best in class" maybe is setting the barrier too high, but we are trying our best to be on the top, or at least very near. Please note that shuttle service is free of charge for all direct bookings. Mosquitos are indeed a problem in Pisa and most parts of Tuscany. We offer free electronic repellents in the rooms and with air-condition usually there are no problems. Hope to see you soon again in Pisa. Have a good time. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This could be a very good hotel, but unfortunately there are a number of significant issues. We had a long day travelling by train to this hotel from Parma arriving at 5.30 pm we were informed that our room was not ready and there would be at least a 30 min wait. When I queried this with reception When asked about our stay; the reason given was not satisfactory they were too busy.!!! You can imagine my abject horror. Even more so when they offered a complimentary drink but only coffee or water, we could have got those from our room had it been ready!!

The hotel is conveniently placed close to heart of most sights and well within walking distance of many, the hotel is nice and cool during the very hot weather which is pleasing. Breakfast is good part from the coffee which is at best only warm and we note this has been an ongoing situation at the hotel and subject to many similar comments in the past. The. Breakfast room is very cramped but, otherwise a good varied selection of food

Yes, we would consider staying at this hotel in the future, despite the arrogance of certain staff members who really should not be at front of desk if they are unwilling to help. Once again we note similar comments have been made a number of times before.

Could be a great hotel, a pity.

O

Room Tip: Great during hot weather - cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your opinion here in this forum. Please accept our deep apologises for the inconvenience and waiting for check-in upon arrival. We discussed this with our staff, analysed the situation and improved our operation processes. I guess staff did not react with arrogance, but they did not have enough capabilities to provide alternative solutions. Please be sure that this will not happen again in future. If there is anything we can do for you in future, don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The moment you walk in the door you can tell that this hotel deserves its four stars, the decor of the lobby and lounge area is classic and effective. The rooms are large, with a minibar and good bathrooms. The location is perfect, everything is in walking distance, the train station as well as the Duomo and the tower of Pisa itself! Tucked away in a nice lane away from all the tourist noises makes it perfect for a family holiday. All the staff were very helpful, Valentyne St. and Luco Giacomelli are two names to ask for! They made our trip to Florence/Lucca on the train flawlessly easy. Would definitely stay again next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I wouldn't stay here again. The room was tiny, dark and claustrophobic. I agree about disengaged staff, but that didn't bother me too much. Breakfast was an absolute farce, overcrowded and disorganised.... and not great food. This is a 2/3 star hotel

Room Tip: Dont get an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibragg Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My first trip to Pisa and I decided to stay at the Bologna. Its a 4 star hotel in the Italian tradition. In other countries it would be a borderline 3/4 star but at the same time the hotel has a lot of local character. Rooms are large with aricon, minibar and good bathrooms. Location is just a 10 minute walk from the Tower of Pisa and a 1 minute walk from the main shopping street. We had a room at the back which was a little noisy due to some sort of generator in the back yard but in all fairness we left the window open as it was a lice balmy night. Staff are very nice, welcoming and helpful especially at the reception. Breakfast was good but the scrambled egg was a strange yellowy/orange colour so I stayed away. At least they had fresh hard boiled eggs. Otherwise the selection was good and fresh. the orange juice had a strange taste so that definitely needs upgrading. Price was fair and parking available at a fair price. I would definitely go again.

Room Tip: In summer make sure you get an aircon room as back rooms tned to be noisy with the window left open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.