We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I give this hotel four stars because it was exactly what we were looking for, for our one night stay in Pisa. We came in on the train from Florence to basically see the leaning tower and then rent a car the next morning and head out into Tuscany. The hotel was simple and in a good location where we were able to walk to and from the leaning tower as well as walk into the centre of town for dinner and home again. Felt very safe everywhere we walked. The hotel also had a simple happy hour with snacks and drinks which was a nice touch. Breakfast had a decent selection. No complaints!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    687
    191
    60
    31
See reviews for
292
746
124
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed here on a two night break with my husband for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. The hotel is fantastic, on landing at the airport we called the hotel and they came and picked us up in the hotel shuttle bus within 10mins, on arriving the staff were very welcoming, Our room wasn't ready on arrival but we were able to leave our luggage in a secure location. The rooms are very spacious and clean they have free wifi, few toiletries and a reasonably priced mini bar. Breakfast was a buffet style breakfast with plenty of food to choose from. The hotel is about a 15min walk from the Leaning Tower, but a nice walk along the river. There are plenty of restaurants within a short walking distance. We would definitely recommend this hotel, it was great value for money and a fantastic stay. Thank you Hotel Bologna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here as a party of six (3 couples) From the moment we entered the hotel we were greeted with a smile and everything went like clockwork,
The reason for our visit was to coincide with the Six Nations Rugby International, but as we have been to Rome twice before we wanted to see the culture in a different city, The hotel is approx 20 minutes walk to the Tower of Pisa (all on the flat no hills). This is across the river where we found some lovely restaurants and pizzerias. Less than 10 minutes from the train station which is so easy to navigate and the fast track ticket machines are idiot proof so that made it easy for me to purchase tickets without having to queue.
On the next street up there are lots of shops for those who like to have some retail therapy.
Our room was overlooking a courtyard that accommodated several cars but we didn't here one door slam in the three nights we were there and the room was very quiet and clean.
The en suite was basic but adequate we had no problem there. I believe ours was smaller than the others in our party
The other four in our party had rooms overlooking the street and said they could hear a bus now and then but that was no problem as they weren't that often and not at night time.
Breakfast was nice and relaxing anything you asked for, if it was available there was no problem and the waiters would prepare it for you, as some have said in the past that at busy times you have to share a table with strangers. Personally I would prefer this to what could be an alternative that may be to have to queue and wait outside until there is a table vacant.
I cannot comment on the evening meal in the restaurant as we ate out each night.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to everyone and if I return to Pisa this is where I would stay again

Room Tip: Ask at reception for your preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent two nights there in a double room in a building adjacent to the main one. The room was big and spotless! They even had a pillow menu! We asked at the reception and they called the maid right away to get us the two pillows we requested. They were very comfortable...
We had no problems with noises. Maybe it depends on where your room is! We were able to rest and were not disturbed by any noises.
I also wanted to point out that it was warm. I'm often cold in Italy since many places (including restaurants and bars) don't have central heating. But we were never cold during our stay, neither in the room nor on the common areas.
As other people commented, breakfast was great. Plenty of things to choose from! Also, there is soy milk available at the bar and there are gluten-free products. I thought that was a very nice touch.
The staff was always friendly and efficient.
Would definitely stay there again if I ever go back to Pisa! This time I'd book directly in their website. I used another browser since I assumed it would be cheaper but I guess it wasn't. There was a sign in the hotel saying that they guarantee the lowest rates and, if you find anything cheaper online, they'll give you the same offer minus 5€ (I think that's what it said!) Since we didn't book through their website we would have had to pay for the airport shuttle so we took the train instead. Which was fine since it takes 5 min from Pisa airport to Pisa Centrale and then it's only a 15 min walk (maximum) to the hotel. Also close to all the touristic areas.

Room Tip: From what I've read, it's better to ask for a room in the adjacent building, like the one we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Valued guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your nice feedback. In fact it is cheaper to book directly with us and our 5,00 Euros promise is always valid, if you prove contrary. Also shuttle-service is free for room bookings made directly with us. The questions with the adjacent building depends on the personal preferences of clients. 50% prefer to stay in the adjacent building, because it seems to be more intimate and quite, other 50% prefer to stay in the main building for whatever reason. Room quality is more or less the same in all areas. I personally slept in both areas and cannot perceive any difference. We would be glad to welcome soon again and wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

4 star hotel in a narrow street that leads to the Arno and is only 5 minutes walk from Pisa's Central train station. In the other direction it takes you no more than 15 minutes to walk to the Campo dei Miracoli. where the world famous Leaning Tower is located alongside the cathedral (Duomo) and Baptistry. On my first night's stay I was given a double room in a building behind the main hotel. It was generally a quiet room though in the early morning I could hear water along pipes and suspected a water tank may have been near. However, the room was clean, warm and a good size. Again, nice sized bathroom in the double but on my second visit I had a single room and found the bathroom/shower space to be adequate. Free access to wi-fi and computers in the lobby and reading room means you can research surroundings and make plans/bookings. The staff on reception were friendly and efficient and when asked about travelling to other destinations by train they had printed travel timetables readily available. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but does recommend other places to eat for an evening meal. The Bagus restaurant was a good recommendation, but not cheap. However, don't despair the hotel does provide a very good breakfast of cereals, breads, fruits, meats, cheeses pastries and drinks. The only hot food provided was bacon and scambled eggs so if you a person who wants a full English breakfast then you'd be disappointed. For me personally there was plenty of choice. Tip: if you book your room with the hotel direct then you can request free hotel transfer from the airport - otherwise it is 5 euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your kind feedback. There is nothing I could add, very detailed review. If we can do anything in future, we would be happy to serve you. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My room was very small and dark. It smelt stale and i could smell smoke from the neighbouring room. But worst of all it was dirty. The bed cover felt unwashed and shabby. The leaflets in the room were also filthy. Shower room was too small and the hard wooden floors made sure you could hear everyone in the neighbouring rooms aswell. I stayed in February but the radiator did nt work. I chose this hotel because it was well situated and the communal areas were very nicely decorated, however i would seriously advise another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbil, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The breakfasts were amazing - a great variety of cereals, pastries, eggs and bacon and so on. The poached prunes were to die for. The staff made caffe latte on request. Nothing was too much trouble. Water in the mini bar was free. The lounge had a computer which seemed to be always free to use. We had a triple room which was huge and overlooked the street. Shuttle was provided to the airport at very reasonable rate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your review here in this forum. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. Please note that Shuttle Service could have been free of charge if the reservation would have been done directly with us. Please use the chance to save money. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.