We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay there again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Save Saved
You added Bologna Hotel Pisa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Would stay there again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We spent two nights there in a double room in a building adjacent to the main one. The room was big and spotless! They even had a pillow menu! We asked at the reception and they called the maid right away to get us the two pillows we requested. They were very comfortable...
We had no problems with noises. Maybe it depends on where your room is! We were able to rest and were not disturbed by any noises.
I also wanted to point out that it was warm. I'm often cold in Italy since many places (including restaurants and bars) don't have central heating. But we were never cold during our stay, neither in the room nor on the common areas.
As other people commented, breakfast was great. Plenty of things to choose from! Also, there is soy milk available at the bar and there are gluten-free products. I thought that was a very nice touch.
The staff was always friendly and efficient.
Would definitely stay there again if I ever go back to Pisa! This time I'd book directly in their website. I used another browser since I assumed it would be cheaper but I guess it wasn't. There was a sign in the hotel saying that they guarantee the lowest rates and, if you find anything cheaper online, they'll give you the same offer minus 5€ (I think that's what it said!) Since we didn't book through their website we would have had to pay for the airport shuttle so we took the train instead. Which was fine since it takes 5 min from Pisa airport to Pisa Centrale and then it's only a 15 min walk (maximum) to the hotel. Also close to all the touristic areas.

Room Tip: From what I've read, it's better to ask for a room in the adjacent building, like the one we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Valued guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your nice feedback. In fact it is cheaper to book directly with us and our 5,00 Euros promise is always valid, if you prove contrary. Also shuttle-service is free for room bookings made directly with us. The questions with the adjacent building depends on the personal preferences of clients. 50% prefer to stay in the adjacent building, because it seems to be more intimate and quite, other 50% prefer to stay in the main building for whatever reason. Room quality is more or less the same in all areas. I personally slept in both areas and cannot perceive any difference. We would be glad to welcome soon again and wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    675
    692
    187
    63
    28
See reviews for
270
704
117
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

4 star hotel in a narrow street that leads to the Arno and is only 5 minutes walk from Pisa's Central train station. In the other direction it takes you no more than 15 minutes to walk to the Campo dei Miracoli. where the world famous Leaning Tower is located alongside the cathedral (Duomo) and Baptistry. On my first night's stay I was given a double room in a building behind the main hotel. It was generally a quiet room though in the early morning I could hear water along pipes and suspected a water tank may have been near. However, the room was clean, warm and a good size. Again, nice sized bathroom in the double but on my second visit I had a single room and found the bathroom/shower space to be adequate. Free access to wi-fi and computers in the lobby and reading room means you can research surroundings and make plans/bookings. The staff on reception were friendly and efficient and when asked about travelling to other destinations by train they had printed travel timetables readily available. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but does recommend other places to eat for an evening meal. The Bagus restaurant was a good recommendation, but not cheap. However, don't despair the hotel does provide a very good breakfast of cereals, breads, fruits, meats, cheeses pastries and drinks. The only hot food provided was bacon and scambled eggs so if you a person who wants a full English breakfast then you'd be disappointed. For me personally there was plenty of choice. Tip: if you book your room with the hotel direct then you can request free hotel transfer from the airport - otherwise it is 5 euros.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your kind feedback. There is nothing I could add, very detailed review. If we can do anything in future, we would be happy to serve you. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My room was very small and dark. It smelt stale and i could smell smoke from the neighbouring room. But worst of all it was dirty. The bed cover felt unwashed and shabby. The leaflets in the room were also filthy. Shower room was too small and the hard wooden floors made sure you could hear everyone in the neighbouring rooms aswell. I stayed in February but the radiator did nt work. I chose this hotel because it was well situated and the communal areas were very nicely decorated, however i would seriously advise another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbil, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The breakfasts were amazing - a great variety of cereals, pastries, eggs and bacon and so on. The poached prunes were to die for. The staff made caffe latte on request. Nothing was too much trouble. Water in the mini bar was free. The lounge had a computer which seemed to be always free to use. We had a triple room which was huge and overlooked the street. Shuttle was provided to the airport at very reasonable rate.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your review here in this forum. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. Please note that Shuttle Service could have been free of charge if the reservation would have been done directly with us. Please use the chance to save money. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we stayed for seven days, the staff was friendly, the breakfast was great, the free shuttle very conveniant, the room good, but two things let it down, it appeared almost every morning they had to find a place for you usually sitting alongside strangers. but the thing that let it down the most was, the room we were in was very noisy, being woke by slamming doors or ladies wearing heels and wheeled suitcases echoed across the seemingly hollow floor, the walls appeared to be made of stud partitioning and even though next door spoke in hushed tones, you could still hear them. such a shame but i suppose you cant do a lot with the design now. but maybe some carpet runners as all the floors were timber would help.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, maybe out the back we were told it may have been quieter, also the shuttle is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying with and for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor. Unfortunately buildings in Italy, especially historical buildings in medieval towns like ours, don´t have the same construction substance than modern buildings in northern-europe. But we will take into account your suggestion about the carpet runners. For the following readers: Please note that shuttle service is only free if you booked your room directly with us. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volgograd, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We with a family were in this hotel two nights. The hotel corresponds to the 4 stars. Very much breakfasts in this hotel were pleasant. Number was small, but pure. Pisa the small city, we everywhere went on foot. The taxi to the airport costs 5 euro from the person. From the station reached hotel on foot in 10 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Very important: Please note that airport-shuttle is free of charge if you book directly with us. It costs 5,00 Euros per person if you book through third-party channels. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in early October for 2 nights. We really liked the hotel. Very good surroundings, very helpful staff and excellent breakfast. The hotel also provided free pickup and drop off to the airpot
very nice garden.and close to the tower too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. For the following readers I would like to specify that shuttle service is only free of charge if you made your (room)-booking directly with us. For third-party-channel bookings, the shuttle service is available for 5,00 Euros per person. Hope to welcome you soon again. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bologna Hotel Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.