We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Pisa
Competa, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Royal Victoria for three nights and had a great holiday there. The room was spacious and with a great view (as part of a free upgrade). Staff and service were excellent. Those of you staying in a room at the hotel's front on a Saturday night should be prepared for a somewhat sleepless night - very noisy revellers walking down the banks of the Arno were replaced at around 3pm by, of all things, skateboarders making an awful racket.

Room Tip: See above regarding the Saturday night noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    263
    129
    73
    56
See reviews for
113
329
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This's oral is in a fantastic location, right on the river in the town centre.

We had to move rooms as there was no hot water, and the whole hotel is old, dated and falling apart. The beds are creaky, the paint work chipped everywhere, the lift is a death trap, breakfast is the same daily... No hot food.

Staff are pleasant enough and they dealt with our hot water issue quickly.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a fascinating hotel on a budget price. The building and it's rooms are intriguing and large. The staff are very helpful and breakfast was basic, but good. It's only a 10 minute walk from the train station and overlooks the Arno. I loved it!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko, Bulgaria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived at the hotel it turned out that the small print in the Amoma booking had said that the room is with a shared bathroom. I had not realised that such hotels still exist in that category.

The hotel itself was old and neither well maintained nor clean.

The frontdesk was not very welcoming.

The breakfast service on the other hand was smiling and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I'm not particularly picky about economy lodging at vacation sites; being in a good location near the sites we're visiting and having the basics we need are most important. This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to nearly everything. However, keep in mind that Pisa can be walked end-to-end, from nearly any location, in just a few minutes. Therefore, nearly any centrally located hotel near the river will put you within walking distance of the train station and the historic sites, just as this place does. Aside from that, the place has history and character. Wide marble staircases, old wood doors, and antiques give the place charm. The breakfast was okay--adequate--but not spectacular (coffee was the best part). The downsides: we didn't have hot water most of the time. We had no warm water at night and only had hot water on one morning among the two we were there. Internet was down and not available from the rooms or main lobby area. However, funny enough, they had "emergency" access that we were able to access/use if we sat in a very specific chair in the lobby (not kidding). Customer service was above average, and the price was right, but I think any modern hotel should be able to provide hot water and internet service.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Stayed here 2 days back. This hotel is great location. Just 10 minute walk from central station. Pisa tower is also 10 minutes walk away and its nice walk to get there. Restaurants and bars are just round the corner. Hotel is not to bad can do with little tidy up but nothing major. Staff were very friendly. Definitely stay here again.

From Florence we took the bus to central station (6 euro each) and from there got ticket from the self kiosk to Pisa (8 euro each). Train journey vary depending on the train you take. The fast train takes 45 minutes, other trains take up to 1hr 20mins.

Room Tip: It would be nice if you can get room at the front of the hotel since it would overlook the river and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

too expensive for the very bad conditions of the rooms.
you need an hotel because you need some comforts......
well, too noisy, too old, toilet in very bad and old conditions, no comfort at all, no kindness at the reception.
the location is very charming, not enough to sleep well and have a decent toilet.
I had a business meeting and that morning no electricity and no water .......

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.