We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky Small Print” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 76 Hotels in Pisa
Bansko, Bulgaria
1 review
“Tricky Small Print”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

When we arrived at the hotel it turned out that the small print in the Amoma booking had said that the room is with a shared bathroom. I had not realised that such hotels still exist in that category.

The hotel itself was old and neither well maintained nor clean.

The frontdesk was not very welcoming.

The breakfast service on the other hand was smiling and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    261
    127
    73
    55
See reviews for
113
325
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'm not particularly picky about economy lodging at vacation sites; being in a good location near the sites we're visiting and having the basics we need are most important. This hotel is in a great location within walking distance to nearly everything. However, keep in mind that Pisa can be walked end-to-end, from nearly any location, in just a few minutes. Therefore, nearly any centrally located hotel near the river will put you within walking distance of the train station and the historic sites, just as this place does. Aside from that, the place has history and character. Wide marble staircases, old wood doors, and antiques give the place charm. The breakfast was okay--adequate--but not spectacular (coffee was the best part). The downsides: we didn't have hot water most of the time. We had no warm water at night and only had hot water on one morning among the two we were there. Internet was down and not available from the rooms or main lobby area. However, funny enough, they had "emergency" access that we were able to access/use if we sat in a very specific chair in the lobby (not kidding). Customer service was above average, and the price was right, but I think any modern hotel should be able to provide hot water and internet service.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 2 days back. This hotel is great location. Just 10 minute walk from central station. Pisa tower is also 10 minutes walk away and its nice walk to get there. Restaurants and bars are just round the corner. Hotel is not to bad can do with little tidy up but nothing major. Staff were very friendly. Definitely stay here again.

From Florence we took the bus to central station (6 euro each) and from there got ticket from the self kiosk to Pisa (8 euro each). Train journey vary depending on the train you take. The fast train takes 45 minutes, other trains take up to 1hr 20mins.

Room Tip: It would be nice if you can get room at the front of the hotel since it would overlook the river and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

too expensive for the very bad conditions of the rooms.
you need an hotel because you need some comforts......
well, too noisy, too old, toilet in very bad and old conditions, no comfort at all, no kindness at the reception.
the location is very charming, not enough to sleep well and have a decent toilet.
I had a business meeting and that morning no electricity and no water .......

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

I stayed for one night in this hotel and wished I could stay longer. It is a very charming hotel that is very proud of its long establishment and has a wonderful ambience set by its accompanying historic décor. Although its old doors and marble floors can sometimes be a bit noisy, this did not affect the quality of my sleep and in fact added to the charm of the place. The building has an fascinating layout and there are many interesting pieces of artwork and furniture dotted around the public areas.

Although many aspects of the hotel are old fashioned, the services and facilities on offer are very modern and are well integrated with its Victorian to 1920’s identity. The building is well heated, the bathroom was en suite and the hotel is equipped with free wifi for guests.

The service provided by the staff was outstanding. They are polite, knowledgeable, multilingual and always welcomed us with a smile. They provided us with a local map and their assistance really helped us to make the most of our time in the city. In particular I found one lady who works at reception very helpful. She worked really hard to resolve a problem we had with connecting our devices to the Wifi.

The hotel is also very centrally located and is beautifully set on the river. It is a short walk or bus journey from Pisa Centrale train station and also a short bus or taxi ride from Pisa Airport. You can also walk a quick and very beautiful route to the Leaning tower and to local restaurants and shops.

This hotel very welcoming and well suited to cater for a range of guests including couples, families, solo guests and, like ourselves, groups of friends. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would use it again if I come to back to Pisa in the future.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Il-Fgura, null, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Minutes away by walk from the a Leaning Tower, shops and restaurants. Parking space also available. The hotel is nice and clean. Has a lift. Family friendly. Beds are exceptionally comfortable, after a tiring day traveling we woke up very refreshed the following morning.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

We booked a room for three people and were plesantly surprised with this hotel. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was generous with lots of hot water.
We stayed in January on the third floor and didn't notice any road noise, as mentioned by other reviewers.
The breakfast was generous too. There were a good variety of food on the menu. Try the hot chocolate!
This is a very old, traditional style hotel with lots of beautifully maintained public areas. If the hotel sounds like bargain, that's because it is! Great price, less than one kilometre from the train station and the Leaning Tower! From here, you can stroll everywhere!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.