We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, classic decor, very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great view, classic decor, very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for one night and were pleased. The hotel is very well located - 15 minutes walk to the leaning tower and a short distance from good restaurants. Our room (206) had a very nice view of the Arno river and was decorated with old school furniture which I personally love though there will be some noise in the morning as the river is by the street. The people in reception were very friendly and helpful. We were suddenly in need of immediate scanning and printing and a lady named Sylvia saw us through the entire process and in very good spirit.
Where we think they can improve is their internet service - which is free but rather complicated as you need to have a phone so the internet password can be texted to you. The breakfast can also be better.
Overall very good experience. Will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    251
    119
    71
    50
See reviews for
104
311
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TX
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place just oozes character. While a often a description used to compensate for deficiencies the Victoria is actually a decent place to stay. Its a somewhat dated, somewhat down at the heels Grand Hotel that probably hit its prime somewhere in the late 19th or early 20th century. But for a building, parts of which are 1,000 years old, its doing pretty well - maybe because its been run by the same family for almost 200 of those years.

Our room as quite large - an impression reinforced by the I'd guess 5 meter ceilings. It was furnished with antiques. The bed was quite comfortable, climate control was adquate there was all the hot water I wanted and it was clean. The provided breakfast was quite satisfactory. The free wifi wasn[t real fast. Staff was superb. Conveniently located about halfway between the tourist attractions and the train station in the middle of a shopping / restaurant district.

Room Tip: Front (Riverview) room had noticeable road noise at 3rd floor level - who knew there was a road betw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I stayed for a long weekend at the end of September. The location is great. I got the LAM Rossa bus straight from the airport to a bus stop by the river. The hotel is right on the river and just across the bridge from the main shops and short walk from the train station. And just a 15 min casual walk to the Tower of Pisa.
I booked a twin room with own bathroom facilities. The shower was small but suitable and the room was lovely and clean. The beds were a bit old and could have done with new mattresses . But the room was charming with painted ceiling.
The whole hotel was beautiful. It was a little bit run down, but that just seemed to help it's charm. Worth just spending a little bit of time exploring and seeing what sort of painted ceilings there are and visiting the roof terrace.
The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast. Plenty of fresh fruit, hams and cheeses.
Would I stay here again? Yes I would. It's a very charming and inexpensive place to stay for a long weekend break.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

Some might say that the rooms need upgrading. In my opinion, if it is that sterile corporate feel you're after, go some place else. RHV is as quirky as they come. Excellent staff. Fantastic view of the rooftops over Pisa, spacious terrazza and their breakfast is plentiful.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Due to a flight delay (thanks Ryanair) we arrived in Pisa at 0230 (instead of 1100). We had advised our booked hotel (Gorkiy) that this was the case and were told there would be no one to let us in past midnight. They 'kindly' suggested the Royal Victoria. Once we landed I phoned and they could not have been more helpful. Our 8 and 3 year old daughters were given beds with us and they prepped things at late notice to make our stay comfortable. A really love characterful hotel with excellent service and a good breakfast selection too. Very close to the Tower and the centre of town too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel recently and it was absolutely fabulous. Loved it so much, I must have taken more pictures in a hotel, then Pisa itself. It felt like traveling back in time while we stayed there. Hotel even has one of those old telephone booths in a lobby and I think phone even had signal! Building itself is very grand, all furniture looks authentic antiques. Nothing seemed to have been changed from original. In one of reviews before booking this hotel I read that it has not been ruined by restoration and it could not be more truth. There are some cracks, there are some places with pain pealing and all this just gives it more charm.

Besides the absolute beautiful charm of hotel and it's most authentic atmosphere, it had flat screen TV, clean towers and bedding. Hotel maybe old, but it was really clean, which impressed us. Not all rooms have bathrooms I believe, but we made sure we booked room with one and while it was very small, it was perfectly suitable for our needs. Room itself, was very spacious with a nice view.

Location is perfect, it is walking distance from Pisa towel and all restaurants and it is almost same distance to train station where you can take train to Florence or anywhere else. Taxi ride from airport was 10 euros.

Absolutely recommend stay in this hotel and if you do, do wonder around it a bit. It has lots of interesting features. For example 4th floor terrace is amazing chill zone, add a bottle of wine from the hotel which is only 9 euros and it is perfect :) This hotel is not just lobby and rooms, walk around it, explore it. It does have museum atmosphere to it in some places, especially authentic kitchen at a back of breakfast room and there was other features that just made us go aw.

Room Tip: make sure you check if you are booking ensuite, not all rooms have bathrooms in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel begining of October after a quick transfer from the airport, Very easy and quick check in, We were booked into room 304 which over looked Arno river on the 3rd floor the room was large and clean, Large wooden art-deco furniture we had a nice on-suite bathroom, you have to remember that this hotel is over 100 years old and was re-decorated in the 1950's, it has great history, So you are not going to get a up to date hotel,There was a good choice for breakfast which was tasty
It is in a great location very near to all the restaurants and only about 10 minute walk away from the leaning tower of Pisa,
The only down side it does get very noisy at night from the traffic and students drinking in local bars,
I would recommend this hotel to couples.

Room Tip: I would use the bus to get to and from the airport it only takes about 15 Minutes, About 3 minute w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.