We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 81 Hotels in Pisa
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 4 nights in this hotel recently and it was absolutely fabulous. Loved it so much, I must have taken more pictures in a hotel, then Pisa itself. It felt like traveling back in time while we stayed there. Hotel even has one of those old telephone booths in a lobby and I think phone even had signal! Building itself is very grand, all furniture looks authentic antiques. Nothing seemed to have been changed from original. In one of reviews before booking this hotel I read that it has not been ruined by restoration and it could not be more truth. There are some cracks, there are some places with pain pealing and all this just gives it more charm.

Besides the absolute beautiful charm of hotel and it's most authentic atmosphere, it had flat screen TV, clean towers and bedding. Hotel maybe old, but it was really clean, which impressed us. Not all rooms have bathrooms I believe, but we made sure we booked room with one and while it was very small, it was perfectly suitable for our needs. Room itself, was very spacious with a nice view.

Location is perfect, it is walking distance from Pisa towel and all restaurants and it is almost same distance to train station where you can take train to Florence or anywhere else. Taxi ride from airport was 10 euros.

Absolutely recommend stay in this hotel and if you do, do wonder around it a bit. It has lots of interesting features. For example 4th floor terrace is amazing chill zone, add a bottle of wine from the hotel which is only 9 euros and it is perfect :) This hotel is not just lobby and rooms, walk around it, explore it. It does have museum atmosphere to it in some places, especially authentic kitchen at a back of breakfast room and there was other features that just made us go aw.

Room Tip: make sure you check if you are booking ensuite, not all rooms have bathrooms in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    244
    115
    69
    50
See reviews for
102
304
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel begining of October after a quick transfer from the airport, Very easy and quick check in, We were booked into room 304 which over looked Arno river on the 3rd floor the room was large and clean, Large wooden art-deco furniture we had a nice on-suite bathroom, you have to remember that this hotel is over 100 years old and was re-decorated in the 1950's, it has great history, So you are not going to get a up to date hotel,There was a good choice for breakfast which was tasty
It is in a great location very near to all the restaurants and only about 10 minute walk away from the leaning tower of Pisa,
The only down side it does get very noisy at night from the traffic and students drinking in local bars,
I would recommend this hotel to couples.

Room Tip: I would use the bus to get to and from the airport it only takes about 15 Minutes, About 3 minute w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapeltown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good location for central Pisa. Walking distance for everything which matters including Pisa central railway station.
Two double rooms on the 4th floor had separate bathrooms -en suite were available when booking, but this was a budget trip.
Breakfast included, Adequate.
A very helpful reception desk.
Evening drinks in the lounge were good value before venturing out in search of somewhere to eat.
An early flight on the day of departure was catered for by a snack breakfast available in the lobby from 4am (!) and a booked taxi arrived as requested.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I spent 4 days in this hotel. It is a big hotel. our room is on the 4th floor next to the roof terrace. There is no view from the window but it is quite at night. The room is old so there are quite a lot of cracks on the wall. The shower is a bit rubbish but the bathroom is clean. Breakfast wasn't too bad. There are plenty of choice. I like the variety of fresh fruit. The member of staff at the reception and the breakfast room were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has great location. It is easy to walk to the Pisa Tower. Also it is about 15 minutes walk to the train station. 15 minutes to the airport by bus. We bought the bus tickets at a tobacco shop next to the hotel and the bus stop is just opposite the hotel. So convenient! Will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Centrally located by the river side an absolutely magnificent building built in the 11th century and only a short walk from the Leaning Tower and the main tourist spots. In its day I'm sure that this would have been one of the best hotels in town but now has lost a little of it's grandeur but I think that is part of it's attraction. Having just spent three nights in a state of the art modern 5 star hotel in Geneva we wanted a typical old traditional Italian hotel full of character and we found it and at a quarter of the price. Our room, which was huge, was clean, nice and warm with a view over the river. One of the staff spoke good English and all were very friendly and helpful recommending places to visit and restaurants where we could have dinner. There was a good choice for breakfast which was tasty and fulfilling. The only drawback was the parking. We had to use a public car park and whilst it was only a couple of hundred yards away we had to go over the river and round the block because of the one-way system. Without doubt it is an extremely interesting historic hotel with a very comfortable feel to it and very good value. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a special place! This is a truly grand hotel, from old times. Maybe some people find it a little bit too old, but if you like architecture and culture, you sure will like this hotel. Fantastic early 20th century decorating, old telephones straight out of Downton Abbey still in function, antic furnitures, art deco-decorated glass doors etc. Our room had a view over the Arno river, splendid. Location is very good as well, lots of restaurants and pubs just around the corner. Although it nowadays isn´t as vivid as before, its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a real treat to stay in this hotel for us as we love old world elegance. But there are downsides - extremely creaky bed, tiny showers, TV and air con not working properly. Highlight was having drinks on the roof terrace and wandering around all the rooms of the hotel especially the writing room on the first floor. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.