We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once upon a time, all hotels were like this!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 81 Hotels in Pisa
Chapeltown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once upon a time, all hotels were like this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good location for central Pisa. Walking distance for everything which matters including Pisa central railway station.
Two double rooms on the 4th floor had separate bathrooms -en suite were available when booking, but this was a budget trip.
Breakfast included, Adequate.
A very helpful reception desk.
Evening drinks in the lounge were good value before venturing out in search of somewhere to eat.
An early flight on the day of departure was catered for by a snack breakfast available in the lobby from 4am (!) and a booked taxi arrived as requested.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    243
    115
    68
    50
See reviews for
102
303
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I spent 4 days in this hotel. It is a big hotel. our room is on the 4th floor next to the roof terrace. There is no view from the window but it is quite at night. The room is old so there are quite a lot of cracks on the wall. The shower is a bit rubbish but the bathroom is clean. Breakfast wasn't too bad. There are plenty of choice. I like the variety of fresh fruit. The member of staff at the reception and the breakfast room were very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself has great location. It is easy to walk to the Pisa Tower. Also it is about 15 minutes walk to the train station. 15 minutes to the airport by bus. We bought the bus tickets at a tobacco shop next to the hotel and the bus stop is just opposite the hotel. So convenient! Will recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Centrally located by the river side an absolutely magnificent building built in the 11th century and only a short walk from the Leaning Tower and the main tourist spots. In its day I'm sure that this would have been one of the best hotels in town but now has lost a little of it's grandeur but I think that is part of it's attraction. Having just spent three nights in a state of the art modern 5 star hotel in Geneva we wanted a typical old traditional Italian hotel full of character and we found it and at a quarter of the price. Our room, which was huge, was clean, nice and warm with a view over the river. One of the staff spoke good English and all were very friendly and helpful recommending places to visit and restaurants where we could have dinner. There was a good choice for breakfast which was tasty and fulfilling. The only drawback was the parking. We had to use a public car park and whilst it was only a couple of hundred yards away we had to go over the river and round the block because of the one-way system. Without doubt it is an extremely interesting historic hotel with a very comfortable feel to it and very good value. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a special place! This is a truly grand hotel, from old times. Maybe some people find it a little bit too old, but if you like architecture and culture, you sure will like this hotel. Fantastic early 20th century decorating, old telephones straight out of Downton Abbey still in function, antic furnitures, art deco-decorated glass doors etc. Our room had a view over the Arno river, splendid. Location is very good as well, lots of restaurants and pubs just around the corner. Although it nowadays isn´t as vivid as before, its well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a real treat to stay in this hotel for us as we love old world elegance. But there are downsides - extremely creaky bed, tiny showers, TV and air con not working properly. Highlight was having drinks on the roof terrace and wandering around all the rooms of the hotel especially the writing room on the first floor. Would stay again.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this Hotel due to it's location and ease of access from a late arrival at Pisa Airport.
Taxi transfer at 11.30 pm.
Nice en-suite room to front of hotel, but very noisy. The Hotel is located next to the square and bridge that the young (16-25) gather on a weekend night, as well as the local cinema being 50 yards away.
The noise is a major issue until 2-3 am. Adding to the problems, the Local Street market sets up outside from 6am on a Sunday morning.This also causes an issue as a Taxi cannot get anywhere near the hotel.
Breakfast was adequate ,clean,hotel staff very helpful. The Hotel is an old building so you have to allow for this when reviewing it's condition.

Room Tip: If you are booking this Hotel do not book a room at the front on a weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales. U.K.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I received quite a shock on arriving at the Royal Victoria Hotel for our 2 week holiday. Our room had been double booked and there was no other room available for us - although we had paid 2 months in advance! To say that we were not happy is an understatement as we had been up all the previous night.

In all fairness, the hotel management arranged a room for us at another hotel, and also arranged - and paid for - a taxi to take us there.

The following day, we returned to the Royal Victoria Hotel where they explained that they had kept us an ensuite room in a quieter part of the hotel.
The room was spotlessly clean and all the fittings, including the air conditioning, worked correctly. Please bear in mind that this is an old building and it is obvious that ongoing maintenance and improvements are progressing slowly through this historic property.

During the course of our stay, we found that without exception, all of the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel can certainly be very proud of it's staff.

Our room was cleaned thoroughly on a daily basis. All of the towels were changed daily, and the bed linen every 3rd day. We had plenty of hot water at all times.

Breakfast was sufficiently adequate with a good selection of juices, coffees, cereal, rolls, fruits, cold meats and cheeses

The hotel itself is extremely interesting and well worth talking to the staff about it's features and curiosities. We were even shown some of the old guest books with famous signatures. There are many historical photographs on each floor of the hotel.

We found the guests' roof terrace to be a quiet, relaxing environment that we frequently visited for a late evening drink or an extra morning coffee.

As I had shown an interest in the history of Pisa, and the hotel itself, the management invited me to see Pisa from the private tower at the top of the hotel. From here I was able to view all of Pisa, including the famous Tower and Cathedral. I could also see a long stretch of the River Arno along with it's bridges and fortifications.

The location of the hotel is midway between the railway station and the main Pisan tourist sites. A 10 minute walk to either. A train from Pisa to Lucca (well worth a visit), takes approximately 30 minutes, whereas a trip to Florence is only 1 hour by train.

Contrary to what one poster has mentioned earlier, we found Pisa to be full of archealogical and historical interests and would recommend it to anyone.

Towards the end of our stay, the management assured us that they had already started overhauling their booking systems and were also in contact with the various booking agencies involved.

Well done Royal Victoria Hotel - you certainly made up for our shaky start and certainly helped make our holiday a very enjoyable success.

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view at the front of the hotel are more susceptible to noise in the evenings, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.